We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
65
151
54
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
151
54
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews numerous restaurants golf course grocery store short walk ham yogurt lobby marina guadeloupe
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 303 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2018

We had a standard room at the back of the hotel with a tiny balcony but with an uninspiring view over rooftops. The room itself was adequate and very clean and comfortable enough. However there wasn't much space around the double bed and the mattress didn't quite cover the frame at the corners. On the first day I cut my shin quite badly on the exposed sharp corner when walking around it.

The Reception area was very clinical looking and the seating in the lobby very uncomfortable and inadequate. It appeared to have been designed for appearances rather than functionality! However, the staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke some English.

The breakfast buffet was good and the staff ensured that the hot dishes were constantly replenished. The pool area was pleasant but there was very little garden. Some rooms - possibly suites? were situated behind the pool and looked nice.

The location of the hotel is excellent with it being in a quiet area opposite the golf course. There is an arcade of small boutique type shops either side of the hotel. Also a bakery and a supermarket. The tourist information office is only a few minutes walk away from the hotel. The marina is only a short walk away where there are many cafés and restaurants to choose from.

The Wifi was down for practically the whole of our six night stay which was inconvenient. The first day we were able to get some reception in the lobby but not in the bedroom but after that we had to go to a cyber cafe by the marina and have a drink in order to use their wifi. The hotel kept saying it was going to be fixed but it never was and there was often an engineer working behind reception on a mass of wires. To be honest I think the whole of the area had a problem because when we asked at the nearby tourist info office they said theirs was down too.

Otherwise we were quite satisfied with the Bwa Chik. It's not a luxury hotel but is middle range and suited our needs.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne_Sand_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018

The room was typical of European lodging, small by US standards but sufficient space and adequate storage. The porch provided seating space and the exterior light was bright enough for comfortable reading in the evening. We had a pool view room and enjoyed sitting out before dinner. The location is great for walking into the city center or to the marina area which is ringed by numerous restaurants. There is a grocery store adjacent and many small shops along the street

Room tip: There is no elevator, the first floor room have a private patio, the upper floors have porches
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandycrabbe2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

This is a great hotel. Our room was spotless and was kept that way throughout our stay. Everything worked well, including the wifi and air conditioning. We received a warm welcome on our first night from Georges the barman who also manned reception in the evening and was a real character. The pool was beautiful, safe and very clean. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, including fresh fruit, croissants, toast, cheese, ham, yoghurt and freshly squeezed orange or grapefruit juice. The Bwa Chik is well located just a few meters away from the marina where there are plenty of restaurants and bars. I cannot fault this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

Stayed here for a few days in May. We had a room the the bed on mezzanine level and a view over the pool to the town and sea beyond. Room was clean and kept that way despite us covering the place with sand. Outdoor kitchen was good to have so we could make lunch. Breakfast was good with excellent sausages! Pool was clean and seemed hardly used. Location is near the beaches all of which were walkable for us. Lots of restaurants near by along with a supermarket and a fruit shop. Staff were friendly and helpful. No complaints from us.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

Very clean pool and hotel. Nice People working there. Good service.Simpel breakfast, but we bought ekstra food in the stores beside the hotel. 5 minutes to walk to the marina where we had dinner and lunch at several restaurants. Good Food!

Room tip: First floor so you can easy walk the lawn to enter the pool.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maritsa996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews