We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dull and Non Descript”
Review of La Metisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Metisse
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Francois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I stayed here with my husband recently and first of all, it is located outside of town in an area that has nothing much around it. The rooms are Ok, but dull. There are only 7 rooms and they are centered around a pool. If other guests are outside, there is no feeling of privacy at all. And only two of the rooms - I think #4 and #3 - have any shade at all. They serve breakfast but it is only croissants and bread. In a place like this, one would expect a piece of fruit, at least. As to service, the front desk is open only for about 2 - 3 hours in the morning and then again for 2-3 hours in the late afternoon and evening. Although we saw some service going to another couple that looked like nice drinks, etc., we were never offered anything like that. No english is spoken here at all and we struggled to make ourselves understood with our phrase book. There was some mix up and we had to change rooms but we never understood what the problem was because it seemed there was hardly anyone there. The town of St. Francois is pretty nice with a marina area, a nice downtown, and proximity to Pointe de Chateuax which should not be missed. The beaches there, the sunsets and the stars at night are gorgeous. There is a nice market daily down by the harbor, some nice restaurants, a golf course and a casino in the area, as well as ferries going to out islands. We just would not stay at LeMatisse again because there was just no personality. It seemed like a place for old people and we aren't that young!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMcLearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2009

In 2009, I stayed in both of the top two TA-rated hotels in St.Francois. And honestly, I did not expect the overall experience to be so different. La Metisse, while run by indisputably charming and ultimately interesting landlord Martine, is more of a private club with just 7 rooms, children are not welcome for the sake of the upscale guests. The rooms have all you might need, yet the bathrooms would use some renovation. One major minus for a Caribbean location - no seaview; another general minus - a resort in close neighbourhood, playing loud music till late night. The location is also somewhat remote from central St.Francois, yet this is not an issue, as generally all the guests drive rental cars. The service is perfect, free in-room wifi is a big plus and the private feel of the place is also fine; yet only to a certain category of guests. On the overall, one point to illustrate the whole difference: while the #1 rated hotel in St.Francois (Amaudo) was fully booked on the time of my visit; the #2 (La Metisse) only had two rooms occupied. And believe me - there´s a reason. This place will not be my 1st choice here, but rather a decent 2nd.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martinzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Nice clean rooms (but more on the small site) situated around a pool. Nicely situated in a residential area, but a little far away from St. Francois and the beaches.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdpils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at this very friendly hotel in St. Francois. The manager was extremely hospitable and was more than happy to make restaurant and taxi arrangements for us. A beautiful breakfast full of delicious fruits and pastries awaited us every morning outside our room looking out on an splendid little swimming pool and jacuzzi.

Please note that the hotel is a bit removed from the center city so you definitely need a car to commute.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DcTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mathias972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank berpru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JPEC971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francois
5.7 km away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois
493 reviews
25.8 km away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
7.9 km away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#3 of 8 in Sainte-Anne
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Hostellerie des Chateaux
Hostellerie des Chateaux
#3 of 8 in Saint Francois
227 reviews
1.0 km away
Bwa Chik Hotel & Golf
Bwa Chik Hotel & Golf
#4 of 8 in Saint Francois
269 reviews
14.7 km away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Sainte-Anne
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Metisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Metisse

Address: 66 Lot les Hauts de Saint Francois, Saint Francois 97118, Guadeloupe
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Saint Francois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Francois
Price Range: $149 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Metisse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine…A glorious, charming, authentic hotel lulled by the trade winds atop the Saint François hill.Looking for tranquility, La Métisse is an ideal get-away appreciated for its elegance, its peacefulness….A magical spot amid landscaped greenery, overlooking the international 18-hole Saint François golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones, La Métisse is nestled in its tropical garden and its 7-acre park…It has a new look. The exceptionally refined, elegant decoration makes the site very specialFabienne and Sebastien GRELAUD, the new managers, will be there to welcome you so that your stay is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your La Metisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Metisse St François
La Metisse Guadeloupe/Saint Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing