We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unexpected good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Port-au-Prince
italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“unexpected good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

executive room was big enought and clean. Food is a little heavy but good.
Safe hotel.
kind the reception desk.
the reserved hotel taxy for airport was delayed and with a old car.
meeting room to be revamped and expensive

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    73
    40
    11
    11
See reviews for
15
20
34
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Security is an issue in PaP and the Le Plaza hotel is definitively secure. I stayed in an executive room for 137,5 USD/night. Clean and quiet Small but pleasant pool, good internet connection and nice meals. Staff is friendly and quite efficient. Internet available. Definitively is worthwhile place to stay for business in PaP.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Very surprised by the upgrades to Le Plaza. The new Mgt is doing great things. Nice new bedding. Hot showers!! Amazing food. The only things I would improve...rooms are dark and showers drain slowly. But what is that in Haiti??? Great Job Le Plaza! Must rate you higher! Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Take some lights with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bovydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed at LE PLAZA in january 2012, for a poor country, the experience was quite enjoyable to me, people are great n always ready to help,foods were very good, and i also enjoyed the "TROUBADOU" (a haitian special type of music rythme) at the bar at diner time,local n int'l news and entertainment available 24/7,clean rooms, my only issue really was the WIFI connection (hard to find a good wifi spot), so...in resume, i personaly think that it meets the average standards of other hotels i've stayed at in well-developed countries. Check it out !!!

V. B. BLAISE...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VBlaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Being my first time in Haiti, and two yrs after the earthquake the review is somewhat unfair but, I need to just apples with apples. As I arrived I felt that I arrived into a guarded compound locked away from the real world.

At the reception they did not have my reservation but luckly I did have a copy of my reservation and off course they honored it.

The room was basic but comfortable, the bathroom was very well lite which was a blessing with my failing eyesight. Shower was good as well the shower head one of the best much better than most Intercontinnetal. Cable TV sucked only a few channels. Internet was horrible but free, how can you complain with free. You need to get in contact with the operator to make local calls, but the challange was getting the operator.

I really felt cut off from the real world, people were nice. Dinner was...boring to say the least, breakfast was actually the best food tasted great.

The hotel was very clean and you cannot hear the noise outside of the compound, I would say that I could see myself coming back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fracolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

First of all, keep in mind that Haiti is unfortunately one of the most poor countries in the world (158th in HDI 2011), and the country lack some infra-structure and supply. So, that said, the hotels here will hardly achieve the same standards as hotels in the developed world or developing nations like Brazil. Before complaining about anything of Haiti, you must know why things are as they are.
ok. Now, about the hotel. It is located right in the city center, very close to the Palais Nationale. Altough located in a noyse part of town, the hotel is very very quiet and the outdoor area makes you feel you are not in Port-au-Prince but somewhere far from the capital.
There is a nice pool and bar and lots of beautiful plants and trees around. You can seat in the bench next to the pool, drink a Prestige beer (very good one) while reading a book or using a laptop (there is good free wi-fi internet). Again, it is quiet.
The staff is very nicem both at the reception, bar and restaurant, security guys and cleaning ladies. In fact, all haitians I met are very nice people.
I stayed in two rooms. The first one was just temporary because I arrived at the hotel earlier than the check in time, so my room was note ready yet. I asked for them to arrange me a room so I could take a shower and use the bathroom (well, after hours of travel from Brazil, I needed it). That room was not good, but it had tv, hot shower and ar conditioner (luxuries here in Haiti as most of people don't have even a house). My second and permanent room was very good, large, two very confortable and large beds, tv with lots of channels (altough I didn't use it), hot shower, strong air conditioner, frigobar, balcon, etc etc.
There are some little problems in the room, but I didn't mind at all (knowing the situation of the country) like small cracks in a wall and the bathroom had some cracks too and an old bathtube.
In my opinion, everyone in the hotel did a good job.
Even comparing with Petion-Ville hotels, this is surely a very good option. My boss was with me and he had already stayed at Montana in Petion-Ville. He told me that altough Montana is better, Le Plaza don't lag much behind.
The only problem of this hotel in my opinion is the breakfast, which is not included (costs US$ 11) and there are not many options of food. Well, for people who like to eat meat, sausages, eggs and other heavy stuffs, there are, but for a brazilian breakfast (bread, fruits and cereals) there are not many options, just the basic.
Enjoy Haiti, it is an incredible country with an awesome people.

Room Tip: I stayed at 111b, which was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Room and Service staff is nice, only drink water 2 bottle on you arrivel, over you need to buy in bar, its not give you 2 bottle a day, so you stay longer no good, becasue you need pay more for drink water, internet repair say one day, but I wait 2 day the room internet also no connection, only in publice area.

Room Tip: stand room is no view, aircondition a little noise, not cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pichen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-au-Prince
1.5 km away
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
#1 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.1 km away
NH Haiti El Rancho
NH Haiti El Rancho
#1 of 13 in Petionville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Habitation Hatt
Hotel Habitation Hatt
#9 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Oloffson
Hotel Oloffson
#5 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.7 km away
Palm Inn
Palm Inn
#6 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.3 km away
Karibe Hotel
Karibe Hotel
#3 of 13 in Petionville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Plaza Hotel

Property: Le Plaza Hotel
Address: 10, rue Capois (Champs de Mars), Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Haiti > Ouest Department > Port-au-Prince
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Port-au-Prince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-established hotel in the center of Port-au-Prince, on the Champ de Mars, with 97 spacious guestrooms, On-site parking and direct access to a bank - Sogebank and Casino (Roy Plaza Casino) within our grounds. Large outdoor pool, and lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Le Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plaza Haiti Hotel Port-Au-Prince
Le Plaza Hotel Haiti/Port-Au-Prince

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing