We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$100
ZenHotels.com
TravelocityUS$100
Hotels.comUS$100
Orbitz.comUS$100
CheapTicketsUS$100
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
45
64
20
11
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
45
64
20
11
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wrap around porch colonial gem walked around rum sours cholera
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 156 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Great old and historical hotel. Very good service. Grounds are nice, Staying while house band RAM plays is a Port au Prince must do. Owner and band leader Richard was very nice and helped me arrange transportation when I had to leave. Would've had 5 stars if the pool were clean usable.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank JoshF1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2019

The Hotel Oloffson exudes historic charm and an enchanting ambiance. The rooms are large and comfortable with warm showers. The staff is friendly and caring. The food is well prepared and reasonably priced, and it comes with a calming view of the trees that fill the courtyard. The furnishings are a bit stodgy and the parts of the grounds are in disrepair, but if you come with the right mindset you can experience one of Port au Prince’s grande dames. Note that the WiFi works well in the common areas but doesn’t need reach the rooms. And nothing beats their famous (and strong!) Rhum Punch, especially on a night that RAM is playing.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ScottHarrison54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2019

The bar, memorabilia and architecture are great. The grounds are kinda cool. The service is mediocre. The rooms are dismal. I typically choose character over comfortable but this place left me wishing I stayed at one of the big chains. WAY overpriced. And there is no pool (unless you are a frog).

That said - the patio is well worth a visit. And I do hope that the place receives a capital infusion - spruced up it could revive its former glory.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie_Hummus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2019

Stayed there for a few nights 50 years ago, and it was magic then. Not much appears to have changed. Enjoy the veranda while an afternoon rainstorm blows in. Don't drink the water. Do drink the rum. Brush your teeth in beer.

Port-au-Prince was not much to see, but a day's side trip to the Cap Haitien and the ruins was inspirational. Another couple of nights at the Olafsson and a drive up toward the Dominican border on what was the the only paved road in the country was interesting.

Not exactly your typical Club Med experience. Not that there is anything wrong with that.

Room tip: The Barrymore Suite sounds good
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorantrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2019

We stayed at the Oloffson based purely on the history of the place. It's a stately old property (classic "gingerbread house") that we enjoyed staying at for a couple of days mid-trip around Haiti. Our room was quiet (not in the main house) and very large. We had good hot water, a huge fan and aircon (though the electricity went out intermittently) and slept comfortably, despite the absence of proper curtains on the windows (just lace). Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating (they let us leave our rental car and some luggage with them for 3 days while we visited Can Haitien) and were always very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was just some bread with jam/ peanut butter/ butter and coffee but there were a few other items you could purchase (fruit etc...). We didn't get the chance to enjoy a drink at the bar or eat in the restaurant but it was a lovely space. Don't miss the RAM concerts on Thuesdays (they were not playing the week we were there but we caught them at a different location on another night).

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mardimichels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews