We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay and Dine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Knutsford Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay and Dine”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our trip to Jamaica in February 2012. We stayed just one night because we were touring the island on a whole and didn't stay in any hotel for more than one night. I was so glad that we bypassed all of the albeit more familiar named larger hotels for this medium sized quaint place.

The customer service was great from the time we reached the property at the front gate. The staff in the hotel itself were professional, courteous and friendly. Our room was nice. We had a view of the courtyard, a balcony, and the room was on the end of the corridor. That always helps to cut down on traffic noise.

My husband is an independent contractor so he always notices the construction and those kinds of details. Other than the door could have used some sealers to conserve energy and keep the hallway lights from shinning in the room so much, the room was great. Clean and comfortable.

I'm very a very picky consumer and I was pleased. Dinner at the Melting Pot Restaurant and Lounge was absolutely delicious. The drinks were equally delish. Other than a few inconsequential cosmetic things, I rate this place as excellent. I've been in much more expensive hotels, which reminds me, the price was a bit lower than let's say the Wyndham, but the service and overall stay was just as satisfying.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the far end of the corridor, facing the courtyard with a balcony. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    192
    112
    45
    24
See reviews for
79
72
63
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I was only there for a short night but I thought the hotel was fine

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank B_W_Screen_Name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Knutsford Court Hotel for ten days and it was a pleasant experience.
All the staff that we dealt with were very pleasant and helpful and I am not just saying that because we stayed there. I actually contacted the hotel prior to leaving the UK on more than one occasions and the members of staff I spoke to were very courteous and helpful. When we got there we realised that they were not acting but found them to genuinely nice
The entire compound including the building is clean, attractive and inviting. I would stay there again and would recommend it to as many people as possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I have very little to say about this hotel that is positive. A few of the staff made the stay bearable, but otherwise I would not recommend it. I received wake-up calls before 6am on two days - for the wrong room. I had no hot water for four days. Room service was not prompt and often incorrect - you could be waiting a long time to eat what you did not order. Concierge services are non-existent. The buffet breakfast was extremely basic. At least the bed was comfortable, the bar was cheap and the wireless service worked (slowly, but relatively reliably).

Room Tip: Face the courtyard / pool to avoid the street noise, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Fargo, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed at the Knutsford Hotel for four days in January, 2012. The hotel was moderately priced and my visit there was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was great. My room had been re-decorated and was very pleasant and clean. It is a good basic hotel...nothing fancy, but of good value. I will be staying there next year when I will return with friends for our yearly meetings. Be sure to stop by the Devon House for ice cream, too while in Kingston!

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the garden are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks this past visit and I was once again welcomed by the very friendly and courteous staff in the business. After reading other reviews, I am not sure as to why people feel as though the staff are not trustworthy. I am confident in saying that I have never had an issue with any staff member and they always go out of the way to ensure that I feel safe and comfortable. I want to acknowledge the Bar and Restaurant staff and how everyone who comes in contact with them states that they are the reason why they will or do come back. I trust that Management will make note of this and do the right thing. The hotel has been going through various renovations and are always trying to improve their looks but lets be honest, renovations take time. Is it really that important to have a flat screen in your room? I have and will continue to recommend this hotel to my friends. Great job everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colette2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A little out of the way, quite and inexpensive, the food was average but the staff extreemly pleasant, I see it as a cheaper version of the Courtleigh a sister hotel in the same town. The room I had was clean but the only windows were in the bathroom, which seemed odd.

The pillows I had were too high for me but thats me. Hot Breakfast was included and although limited to Eggs and Sausage, it was fine,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.9 km away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
853 reviews
0.5 km away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
240 reviews
0.6 km away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#9 of 25 in Kingston
192 reviews
0.5 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.8 km away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kingston
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knutsford Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knutsford Court Hotel

Property: The Knutsford Court Hotel
Address: 16 Chelsea Avenue, Kingston 5, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Knutsford Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knutsford Court Hotel offers the best of both worlds, whether traveling for business of leisure. A selection of standard, superior, junior suites, one bedroom suites and two bedroom townhouses surrounding a lush garden courtyard with complimentary buffet breakfast daily. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wired and wireless internet access, 24-hour business centre and free private gym. Meeting and events are our forte with a choice of 7 function rooms with the largest seating 500. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Knutsford Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knutsford Court Kingston
Hotel Knutsford Court
The Knutsford Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing