We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cosy studio apartment in a great location in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome home... Please! C'mon in...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Welcome home...
Please! C'mon in...
There's an 'Aunt Jemima' in everyone...
Aha moment...
Cozy as can be...
Another Aha moment...
Work or play, you choose...
A 'Queen' in waiting...
What are your thoughts...???
A 'Loo' to die for...
A Throne fit for a 'King' or 'Queen'...
Imagine a pool on the leafy grounds of an historic tropical urban oasis...wallah!
'Your HOME' away from home awaits YOU!!!
“As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kingston, Kingston Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amazinapp...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice cosy studio apartment in a great location in Kingston”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Sheldon was a welcoming host, and was very warm and friendly. He would check in from time to time to make sure everything was okay however this was not overbearing. On the last night of our stay Sheldon took us out to a lovely Jamaican restaurant which was lovely! The property was of true reflection of what I had seen in the pictures. I liked that everything that was needed was in the studio apartment was there to ensure that my stay was comfortable. I had no problems whatsoever. The apartment was of a good location and the pool got cleaned regularly. I would definitely have Sheldon as a host again and would also recommend him as a host.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
It was an absolute pleasure having Maxine and her mom, Beryl stay with us whilst on their working vacation in Kingston conducting business and visiting friends and family. Maxine and her mom were absolutely AWESOME house guests. Prior to her arrival and during the period they stayed at "CTBH"; they communicated exceptionally well with us. She's respectful, observant of house rules and an all-round good 'spirited' lady. I'd recommend her 100% as a house guest to any AIRBNB host. We'd be happy to welcome her back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mani Hars...
1 review
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in October 2014

This place is very nice and very well maintained. I felt like home. Sheldon was very helpful and always optimistic. There is always a security guy for this place. This is nearby to the U.S consulate... As the name says 'Choose To Be Happy'...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Mani and his friend Sandeep were the perfect guest! They were very pleasant and considerate. They both were friendly and courteous. All communication before and during their stay was clear and prompt. All house rules observed and the apartment was left in tact. I would be most delighted to host Mani and Sandeep again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to other FLIPKEY hosts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cj D
1 review
“Fully equipped space in the perfect location”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Choose To Be Happy lived up to its title. It was just like the photos and fully stocked with all the comforts for even the pickiest traveler. Sheldon was very accommodating and responsive to my needs - ideal host! Thanks for the short but enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
CD,
Regardless of the length of your stay, "Choose To Be Happy!" is always grateful for wonderful guests, such as yourself. I hope the next time you're in Jamaica, CTBH will be your first and only choice for a place to stay! We looking forward to seeing you again sometime very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen T
1 review
“Perfect Place To Stay in Kingston”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Choose To Be Happy is the perfect place to stay if and when you visit Kingston Jamaica. I recently stay there and we loved it. We stayed 6 days and it was great, no regrets @ all. This apartment is very clean, cozy, decorative and well equipped with everything that you need. Sheldon the owner is awesome and friendly and goes out of his way to accommodate his guests.The house and the refrigerator was stocked with snacks, juices, waters and wine and also all the other necessities that's needed. The apartment is centrally located to everything, which was great and convenient. If you need to know where to go and and places to eat.....Sheldon is your go to person. This is the perfect get away place, I liked it a lot, its also very very quiet. I will be staying there again when ever I return to Jamaica. I definitely recommend this place to anyone who is visiting Kingston. Thank you for everything Sheldon and also Ms Brown."Great Place"

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
KT,
Thank you for your kind and wonderful words. It was a pleasure having you stay at "Choose To Be Happy!" Having guests as gracious as yourself, makes my job as a host feel less like work and more like entertaining family. All the very best to you and we look forward to seeing you whenever you're here next in Kingston.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave T
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Luxury at an affordable price”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I was quite pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. It was very clean and modern. There were a few bonuses like the dvd movies and the satellite TV..
The owner was very polite and helpful. The pool was enjoyable.
Felt very safe in the gated community.
Location was ideal -close to the shopping area which even had a movie theatre.
Definitely would stay there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything- felt like being at home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
David,
It was a pleasure hosting you as a guest at Choose To Be Happy! We sincerely hope you will spread the word and the next time you're in Jamaica you will "choose to be happy" again with us and our accommodations. Thank you for the kind review and best of luck to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecil A
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
“Great place to stay and great host”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The apartment was exactly as displayed in the picture. It was very clean, well laid out and obviously well maintained. Sheldon was absolutely the best you could ask for as a host. He was very accommodating and made every effort to make you feel comfortable. I would score him at 10 out of 10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanlinest of the apartment
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
Cecil was an absolutely amazing guest. He was clean, very polite, co-operative & most understanding considering his family and friends would be visiting with him on a regular basis over the Christmas holidays. Christmas' is all about having your friends and family close by to celebrate and fellowship with those you cherish most. We sought to upgrade him to another property, Niagara, in our portfolio as an "even exchange" for CTBH. As we truly felt Cecil was deserving of this privilege. In closing, we would recommend him to any FlipKey host.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandeep r
1 review
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014

The host of this apartment was Sheldon and he was a pretty decent guy with good taste. He welcomed us into the apartment by the time we reached there and gave us a quick tour about the apartment. The apartment was in an upscale community and it was exactly as described in the listing. It was well equipped, internet was good, TV had all US channels. The apartment is only suitable for 2 people and definitely not more than that as mentioned in the listing. I would definitely recommend it to others who would visit Kingston.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
It was an absolute pleasure having SANDEEP and his friend Praveen stay with us whilst they were in Kingston. Sandeep was an AWESOME house guest. Prior to his arrival and during the period he stayed at "CTBH"; he communicated exceptionally well with us. He's respectful, observant of house rules and an all-round good 'spirited' guy. I'd recommend him 100% as a house guest to any FlipKey host. We'd be happy to welcome him back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing