We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Fabulous, beautiful resort. Stayed for 9 days and had a wonderful spring break with my family. The grounds are beautiful, the weather perfect and the food was good at all the restaurants on the property. It is quite expensive, we did not do a meal plan but I don't think it would of saved us all that much money if we had gone that route. We stayed in the Hibiscus suites, right near the ocean with a small beach in front of our room. Rooms were tastefully decorated. Staff was very helpful and accomodating. We used the concierge service serveral times and they were wonderful. The bartenders at the swim up pool were fantastic and greeted us each day with a smile and gracious with our children. Lots of families, my kids made new friends everyday. We will be back, like I said, it's very expensive but one of our favorite spots yet. Highly recommend! Next year will look into getting a villa with cook and butler service. After dining at all the restaurants for each meal, I think it is worth looking into getting the villa next time which includes the price of food and cook already.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly remodeled room and look at villa option especially if you are traveling with other f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bono12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your recent Half Moon, A RoockResort experience on Trip Advisor.

We are Happy your expectations were exceed; we certainly look forward to creating another experience of a lifetime on your next visit.

Regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,541
    332
    107
    58
    32
See reviews for
738
597
48
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Well, what can i say...except, fabulous, wonderful, OMG..its the best ever. I am from Scotland and this is our second time there (feb 2012)...once again so good that we are bringing out our daughter, son, and their partners for a very special Anniversary in March 2013...All booked...and sooooo ready to go...bring it on....special love to all the staff, you are all amazing.

Room Tip: Does not matter, all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laurafromscotland514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for visiting Half Moon and for your lovely comments; we look forward to another opportunity to serve you. your extended family and friends.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

On the plus, this hotel is truly beautiful, paradise like. Make sure you book a room by the sea (sea view). We stayed in an Hibiscus suite, very spacious and lovely. It is literally right by the sea and has a spacious veranda. The beach is just a few steps away, palm trees waving, magical sunsets... It's absolutely gorgeous!! The beach is very private, it really feels like staying in your own private little magical paradise. I lack the words to discribe the beauty.

However, I do have some remarks. The resort by now has become very expensive (we've been there a couple of times before) - $799 per night - and quite frankly the service is not up to par. For example, they claim they offer free wireless but the system in our room did not work, or extremely poorly (in other reviews it worked perfectly so I don't know what's up with that). There are no slippers in the room (not that that is an absolute must, but for that kind of money I do kind of expect slippers...). The quality of the food is mediocre and often ridiculously expensive. The fruit tastes like the fruit I buy here in Europe during wintertime : it does not have a taste at all.
The main restaurant by the sea is to be avoided. We dined there a la carte (they also offer a buffet) and I would certainly not recommend it.
The food at the Italian restaurant is quite nice, but make sure you book in time, because everybody wants to dine there...We were there for a week and only managed to make one booking, unfortunately. Also, this restaurant has a very small outdoor terrace, so most likely you'll be seated indoors, where it's dark and quite hot.

The guests are mostly American, so the staff has gotten used to the American tipping system. Now, with everything you order or consume comes a 10% governement and a 15% gratuity tax. But on top of that, they expect "generous" tips, which does become annoying. I do realise that these tips probably make their income, but it all tends to become very money oriented. Thus, be ready to spend an additional 35% when ordering.

Some of the staff are truly wonderful, especially the gardeners, the cleaning staff and the older staff in general, most of whom have been there for quite some time. They should be cherished as they are genuinely nice (in an irresistable Jamaican kind of way). The younger waiters tend to be, as I have said, extremely tip eager, faky friendly in order to get the tip, and often very inexperienced (some of them barely know how to open a bottle of wine).

The point is that they charge an awfull lot, and one does expect something in return, something more than just the beautiful resort and gorgeous beach... And we are willing to pay for really nice, fresh and tasty meals, but not for example $42 for a bland slab of fish.

I do want to stress that the resort itself is an absolute gem, and that saves them. It's a pity that the service and especially the food has gone downhill, in comparison to how it used to be...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MML_Antwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort and for posting your recent experience on TripAdvisor.

Your comments are important to us and have not been taken lightly; it is an important part of our strategy to continuously improve the facilities and services we provide our guests. Your candid feedback helps us to achieve that objective and we sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback.

We sincerely apologise that we did not exceed your expectations on some areas of our service delivery. Be assured, we will use your review as a tool to effect the necessary improvements.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. Your Half Moon family looks forward to another opportunity to serve you and to delivering an experience of a lifetime.

Regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This resort is wonderful. The location is perfect. It is very spread out, but they have golf carts and provide transportation. Be sure to visit the little store in the middle of the resort - its where the employees shop and very affordable for snacks, water, etc..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort for your vacation experience. It was our pleasure serving you.

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time o share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is my second time at Half Moon and once again, the resort did not disappoint! The food was delicious, waiters where very professional, our room was perfect and the bar people were just the best! They remembered what we were drinking each time and were very social. Love the beach, although a little rocky, and it was fun to see the dolphins. Last time we were there the horse back riding was included but this time we had to pay. Shopping was great at the resort. Got some cute necklaces to wear while I was there. Again, an overall excellent experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank media expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure welcoming you back home; your Half Moon, A RockResort family was delighted to serve you. We thank you for sharing you experience on tripAdvisor.

We are happy your experience exceeded your expectations, and look forward to the welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a beautiful place. It is a country club on an endless beach. Not bad if you ask me. Somehow it maintains that country club feel through out but doesn't feel overly pretentious. My guess it is solely because of the wonderful staff.

But, please note - they have some policies and practices that don't fit the price and feel of the resort. They will charge you for extras other resorts wouldn't. Also, while expensive resorts have expensive services, their services (spa and restaurants to begin with) are obnoxiously expensive.

I guess four days away at this resort was truly exceptional if the over-priced services didn't bother me.

Room Tip: If you're going for a wedding, book your villa early so that you get one close to the beach. Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yashnshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The candid feedback regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort is appreciated. While we regret that there are some areas which did not exceed your expectations, we are happy your four days experience (as you described it) was “truly exceptional”.

Thank you for visiting Half Moon and for your comments; we look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

You could do alot worse in Jamaica. This is an old property but its spread out over acres of beach front property, the rooms are set well on the beach in two floor villa like arrangements. The private villas are on the other side. Its a huge bonus if you are with kids because room access is so easy (no elevators, long walks through a lobby and corridors). Alot of repeat customers and you can see why. Lots of things for kids to do - kids camp (we didnt try it), private swimming with dolphins on property (pricey but fun for kids), tennis and mini golf for kids (our kid was too young, but next time). The younger staff are very friendly and helpful. The spa is relatively new and the staff good, we went back for repeat massages and the steam room. The con: food. The breakfast buffet was worth it but that was it. Dinner buffet is awful, mediocre food - and thats the only casual dining option you have if you are with kids. Room service menu is very limited - our kid ate the same thing 3 out of 4 nights. We stuck to local food after one extremely overpriced, extremely mediocre dinner buffet. On the whole, we will return given the room locations, staff friendliness and kid friendly yet not loud resort. But will reserve our enthusiasm for the food!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure having you as our treasured guests; we thank you for taking the time to share your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor. Your comments are valuable to us; we regret any inconvenience encountered with your dining experience. We are happy however, that you found your room location, kids friendly facility and the friendliness of our staff, as the positive factors for a return visit.

Once again thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,345 reviews
82.4 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
4.3 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
2.0 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,738 reviews
12.5 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing