We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Keeps Getting Better.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Keeps Getting Better.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We recently stayed at Sandals Montego Bay for our third time at the end of January.

I am thrilled to report that there were many improvements even though I thought everything was great before!

The gym is great here, to work off all the delicious food you'll be eating!! There is a very nice new sauna and steam room.

This resort has the most return guests, and there is a reason for that. It's really the people who work there. They are truly happy, and it shows. It has everything that all the other resorts offer, plus this. If your deciding between other resorts, choose this one it won't be a mistake!
If your worried about plane noise don't be, it lasts maybe 10 seconds and then it's done, and never at night or early morning.

The new Pizza on the beach is awesome. Last year the food was great, but this year far surpassed my expectations! We made it to Le Jardiner (French restaurant at the Royal Carribean) I had the lamb, it was sooo delicious:) Every place we ate this year was excellent, really and honestly nothing negative. La Cucina awesome, Junior our server was great and Mark who is the manager was awesome and remembered us from last year:) (Smallville!) inside joke:) Bayside was also great Robert was again so polite and kind, and Reney who brought my husband his glass of milk everyday:) such good service and so friendly. Royal Thai was amazing again, definetly try it out, can't beat the sunset and atmoshphere. The Oleander great again. Haven't cared for Tokyo Joe's, or Stewfish in the past, so didn't try them this year, but even the room service food is great, nice salads and burgers! The beach grill also has great food, burgers, nachos with guac. sooo good:)
At the lobby bar Anjay so great, really feels like home being remembered and seeing everyone again
There have also been improvements with a whole new eating area beside the beach grill with table and couches, and a firepit at night. This has also been done at the pool bar as well. looks really nice:) Next year they will also be putting in a coffee and pastry bar on the beach!
Room was beautiful, had a Presidential for part of the week, very luxurious. My favorite room would still be the Ultra Lux rooms of cottage 9. In my opinion the best light, view and location, and the room is gorgeous. French door that open up right to the beach! literally steps.
If your thinking of coming to this resort, I highly reccomend the butler rooms. It's really nice to have that extra touch of service and feel like your millionaires for a week, lol!
We had Omar by request for the third time he was great, as usual, his new partner Elveraldo is learning the ropes nicely. Andrea was our butler from last year, we really missed you! It was great to see you again and she was there to help out as well if we needed anything:)
Can't wait for another trip back, it really does feel like home for us.

Room Tip: If you have the $$ get the Ultra Luxury room and request cottage 9. or course the Presidential and P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jaykat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,228
    1,098
    389
    219
    143
See reviews for
161
3,809
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Me and my husband were married at sandals of montego bay, it was the best... I would recommend this resort to everyone.. The butler service was awesome, they are really there to provide the best customer service. The excursions were fun and exciting. The beach was beautiful And the resort was very clean and comfortable.. We will be going back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay Roc Villa and had a Bulter all week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Evans624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Approx two months before our trip to Mobay my wife fell in the bathtub at home. there was no obvious injury from it but two days later she couldn't get out of the tub without help. Since then she has gradually had more trouble walking and is losing her sense of balance. We decided we would still make the trip if Sandals could give us some assurances to help out our situation. We were booked into the Almond, an area that is easy to navigate. I contacted the Canadian Office and spoke to Teresa Villanueva explaining that we had to have ground floor in the Almonds as my wife was unable to climb stairs, we didn`t want to be at the far end and that I didn`t want to have Tokyo Joes in front of us. Teresa got back to us assuring that they would do all this for us and if there was any problem with this during checkin to get in contact with the manager, Josef as he was aware of the situation.
When we arrived at the Airport in Montego Bay I had to have a wheelchair for my wife. The transfer from the airport to Mobay turned out to be very difficult as Gloria couldn`t get up the step into the bus and we had to lift her up into a seat. When we arrived at Mobay they had a wheelchair for us and they had installed a ramp down the two steps into our room. The room 108 couldn`t of been in a better location for us. It seemed like all the staff couldn`t do enough for us wherever we went throughout the resort. One of the assistant mgrs. Joseph was incredible thruout the whole time there as she was always enquiring as to how we were making out. Every time Josef saw us he would come over to enquire as to whether or not there was enything else they could help us with. We went down to the new bar and pizza area down on the beach great new sidewalks etc in that area and made wheelchair access very good. At the ramp area coming down from the main pool staff were always there to take the wheelchair up or down for us. The resort is not set up or designed for handicap but all in all quite accessable. A problem we had is that for my wife to go to the washroom we would have to go back to our room. The toilet paper holder was solidly installed and Gloria would use that as a bar to help her off the toilet. The central washrooms didn`t have the solid paper holders like our room. I mentioned this to both Josef and Joseph and they had a Handicap bar installed in the Ladies washroom down by the beach the next day. The day we were leaving I mentioned to Joseph how much trouble Gloria had getting on the bus coming to the Resort. She understood the situation and had one of their Mercedes take us to the Airport instead of the bus. They couldn`t do enough for us and we sincerely thank all the staff for their caring.
Part 2 :The resort has had numerous improvements since last year. We were very impressed with the new Pizza shack and the new beach bar.The wedding area in front of the Almond building is all finished and the landscaping is all complete. There is a nice new patio down by the swimup bar and we felt that it is the best the grounds have looked in our three visits. You can also tell the they work everyday in the upkeep as nothing looks run down. We were restricted as to usage of restaurants do to the fact that Gloria couldn`t climb steps and we were`t able to travel to the other Sandels in Montego as we have done in the past. The Oleander is our favorite there and our evening at the Stewfish was excellent. Its the first time in three trips that I went to the British Pub and the fish and chips were very good. As usual Robert did a great job for us. An up and comer no doubt is a young waiter we first met at the Stewfish . His name is Brendan and down the road I think he will be the next Robert. There was one person that we were not impressed with and that was the Hostess at the Oleander. She seemed very cold. Another couple that we met mentioned the same to us about this person. Another person that is new is Sean at the Comeback desk. he couldn`t do enough for us and was so very friendly and hospitable. We couldn`t do any tours but our favorite Kish was there with a warm hug for us everyday.
MOBAY--- From the bottom of our HEARTS----Thank you for making our difficult times so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pote2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Just returned from Sandals, Montego Bay. We had such a great time and can't wait to go back. Everyone was so nice, our housekeeper Charlene, the grounds keepers, the entire staff. We want to especially thank our Butlers Andrea and Trudy, for making our trip truly wonderful. I got sick on the trip and they made sure I saw the Nurse. They also had the Chef make me chicken soup and jello, a big thanks to him also. My only complaint would be that our room we booked was the Bay Roc Villa Honeymoon Beachfront Veranda, which was supposed to have a nice whirlpool tub. It only had a very small regular tub! Room 1901. Loved the location though!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stickynotes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband & I traveled to Sandals Montego Bay for our 10th anniversary. We have just returned this week & we had a fabulous time! We loved the proximity to the airport as we have been to other points on the island & had to endure the long ride to the resorts. Our vacation began minutes after our arrival to Montego Bay. Yes, you do hear the planes but it was fascinating to see them as they took off & headed North.
It was our 1st time at this resort & the beach was wonderful. Plenty of room for everyone & plenty of chairs. The staff was so friendly & seemed truly happy to be working there. This is not always the case at other Sandals. Make sure to meet Daddy Stone, who is the longest-standing Sandals employee. He reminded me of my grandfather.
We stayed in the Almond Building on the ground floor. We had a lovely view of the Caribbean from our concierge room & had a jetted tub in our bath. Room was very clean & comfortable & we can't say enough about the service from housekeeping, bar service, & concierge.
Loved the many restaurants & got to go to all of them. Breakfast at the Bayside was different each day. We enjoyed the omelets & the Jamaican dishes. Lunch was usually at either Dinos Pizzeria or the Mariner Grill. Loved the proscuitto/mushroom pizza! Dinner at the Oleander Room for our anniversary. Lovely pumpkin soup & baby lamb chops cooked to perfection. Cricketers Pint was different for a night where we could just relax-fish & chips didn't dissapoint, also had good chicken wings & shared a cherry cheesecake. We enjoyed Tokyo Joe's one evening & had spring roll & stirfry. Shared a chocolate banana dessert. Stewfish was fun. Had a salad w/mango viniagrette & shrimp & vegetables on skewer w/rice & peas. Went to Bayside for dinner one evening & had snapper & a lovely salad w/watermelon & strawberries in it. The house wine was fine-Beringers. The SSG dinner was fairly quick as the awards were handed out at the cocktail hour. Lovely pumpkin/coconut soup, salad, & lobster tail w/callaloo stuffed chicken breast & a coffee mousse for dessert.
Weather was nice & warm mid-high 80's. A little breezy a few days but the water was nice. A little whipped up but other days we could see our feet while in up to our necks.
I highly recommend this resort for the atmosphere, lovely grounds, good food choices & friendly staff. Don't let the planes keep you away as it is brief & Mon-Fri less frequent. The short ride from the airport more than makes up for it.

Room Tip: Most rooms seemed to have a nice view. Almond Building was just feet from the water with a short wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ClosetJamaican169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngsville, NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This was our 2nd time to SMB and we couldn't have been more pleased. The beautiful improvements to the beach grill, brick oven pizza on the beach, fire pit with comfy furniture and the new fire pit at the piano bar area on the beach are all welcome additions and we utilized them daily. We were in Bay Roc Villa Building 12 and requested the first floor which was Room 1276. Perfect for us with patio area steps from the sand and some almond tree shade. Keep in mind this room is next to the piano bar so there will be noise some evening with folks having fun, but that is what vacation is all about and we loved hearing folks enjoying themselves. But, if you don't sleep soundly do not request this room. Carlene and Dwayne were our Butlers! We have had Butler Service for many years now and I can say they were one step ahead of even the best Butlers we have ever had.... Fun, detailed, and just PERFECT w/o being intrusive into our stay! Bubbles baths in the afternoons, champagne cooler for my mimosas on the beach daily at our reserved hut. Dinner reservations made and perfect tables chosen! I could go on and on! The food was very good - we dined at Stewfish on the beach very romantic in the sand and great seafood options! Italian was wonderful and we love Tokyo Joe's! We met sooo many nice folks that wanted to have a blast just like we did - drinks were flowing and so many laughs and silliness and for us that is what vacation is all about! Thanks to Dawn Smith who always works so hard to ensure guests are happy! We have already booked for 2013 and counting the days until we can return back to our Jamaican home that fits us like a glove! This laid back atmosphere but active resort is our favorite and seems to be others as well since we heard many people discussing their return trips next year!

Room Tip: We signed up for a week of wifi for $42.00 and it worked fine in the room, patio and even on the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petawawa On
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Just returned home from Sandals Montego Bay. Had the best time ever. We got married there and everything turned out perfect. Food was excellent, drinks were plentiful. Our favourite server was Robert from The Oleander. The beach was beautiful, we just had the best time ever. Would return again in a heartbeat. Wedding was beautiful. We got married in the gazebo beside Tokyo Joes, right by the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ontariogirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
2.8 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
14.4 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.8 km away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.4 km away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,447 reviews
7.4 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,002 reviews
7.5 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing