We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

As soon as we got to the resort we immediately felt comfortable in the environment. The resort was gated which made us feel 100% safe since we have never traveled here before. The staff was so friendly and welcoming to us. The check in was a little longer than I would have liked, but it was nice to relax in the lobby with a cocktail. We had decided to upgrade to the preferred club side and Im glad that we did. You get a lot of small extras that add up; better liquor selection and private pool were a huge plus. Anything we needed anytime of the day they were very helpful there, and they don't forget your names which is an important quality to us. The staff always seemed to be cleaning which was nice to see. We went horseback riding off the resort which was ok, I don't think that we would do that again. They took us through a small village which seemed intimidating at first but the residents were friendly. The spa was excellent as well. We enjoyed our relaxing vacation and would highly reccomed this place, we cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: The St. James resort and Wild Orchid are practically connected which we did not know until we got th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,065
    1,319
    467
    136
    107
See reviews for
381
4,206
131
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,289)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Friendly/helpful staff, good food, excellent cocktails, diving reasonably ok. Rooms were excellent, views all good, 9 bars (incl 2 swim up), 9 restaurants, list goes on. Can highly recommend staying here, esp if you're just keen on chilling out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bckirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our 1st all inclusive... and I must say we will now consider all others at having to match the great stay & accomodations & FOOD! Wow, the staff is 110%+ attentive to any and all requests. Everyone and I mean everyone on staff throughout the day & nights were ALWAYS happy, accomodating, friendly & professional! Need I say more! Well I have to-- it is apparent management & staff alike take professionalism & courtesy very seriously... everyone takes pride in their jobs to make sure your vacation is memorable and over the top! The food in all of the restaurants is excellent. The breakfast & lunch buffets are extraordinary & excellent! If you want a light lunch, most of the pool areas have a great salad & veggie bar that are close by each pool area. All of the bars have all top shelf beer & liquor. The 24 hour room service was quick and the burgers are awesome! We will definately go back, we have so many fond memories of all the great experiences at the hotel & bars! Congratuations to the staff & managment for a great vacation experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TShed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Not 5 star and not All Inclusive
The staff make the resort - at least the good 90% ones do - they are friendly, courteous and professional.
Checking in staff just want to up-sell and are not at all helpful when you dont want to go on trips, use the way over-priced spa or go for the time-share presentation of their 'Preferred Club'.
Constantly being asked by staff if we wanted them to take our photo to buy - back off!.
Take some smaller US Dollar bills for tipping (us Brits not used to that in an 'All Inclusive' resort) otherwise you can spend several hundreds extra.
Good Points as per my ratings - our room on 5th floor was clean and had a great view, however the mini bar only has soft drinks and a couple of beers and is not refrigerated - need to get your own ice from the machine - not an issue.
Toiletries are not automatically replaced/replenished - but do come if requested
No issues with Housekeeping or safety or security within the resort - did not feel too safe venturing into Montego Bay though and Margeritaville not worth the visit - no atmosphere and dead.
Restaurants were of adequate standard but not fantastic.
Wine was extremely poor quality - the house wine was un-drinkable - even the bottles that we purchased from their wine list were not at all value - $50 for what tasted just as bad as the house stuff.
Piano bar was most unpleasant - regarding staff - no real idea of customer service - maybe slightly understaffed.
Other bars were great.
Also not used to people (Americans) drinking and smoking in the pool (not at the poolside bar but in the middle of the pool) - again seems rather out of place to us Brits.
I would not return there until I have some other resorts in the same price range to compare it with - as at this moment I do not percieve it to be good value for money to travel there from UK.

Room Tip: 5th floor (top) sea view is fantastic - nice feel to the room with big bath tub just behind a gossam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFJ-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you want an all over Jamaican experience do not stay at Secrets~The entire week we did not hear any Bob Marley and the night entertainment was nothing special. When we arrived the checkin process took 3 hours before we got our room. The beach was very small and rocky. I wish we would have gone to negril instead. If you stay here make sure your husband has closed toe shoes otherwise you will get turned away from dinner service. My husband had shoes but its 90 degrees at night and dress sandles would have been more comfortable. Apparently other guests did not get the memo so they were actually wearing the closed toe slippers provided in your room lol. Montego bay is also very windy and the crowd at the resort seem to all be in there 50's/60's...so if you are in your 20's this isnt the place for you. The only good thing out of this trip was my daughter =)

Room Tip: Choose nother resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank star l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

It took us a long time to book a holiday as we checked out every hotel on tripadvisor first and were easily put off by negative reviews. However, I have come to the conclusion that some people will complain just because they can! If you stay at this hotel I do not know what you have to complain about!!!!

We stayed for a week in April 2012 and had the holiday of our lives! We paid a lot more money than we've ever spent on a holiday before because we wanted luxury, and that's exactly what we got!

If you are looking for a real piece of Jamaica then this isn't the place for you as its very man-made and commercial...but if you are looking for a little piece of luxury where you can over indulge and relax in gorgeous surroundings then you'll fit right in!

I really do not understand ANY of the complaints people have made on here! I do not know how anyone could complain about this hotel it was truly amazing! People saying this should be a 3 star hotel have too much money as they clearly have never stayed in a 3star holiday resort in a country striken by poverty before...this is no 3star it's 5star all the way!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

If you love all-inclusives, this is the place for you - exemplary service, top-notch meals (especially the French restaurant), great shopping, yes, shopping...very reasonable and the manager of the boutique is fantastic. The evening entertainment EVERY NIGHT is superior to most resort night clubs and it's all outdoors. No where else compares to this place, honestly. I could rave on and on about why Secrets supercedes all other all-inclusives - little things like: "bartender delivered" cosmos IN THE OCEAN (no one ordered them, he just brought a trayful, just in case), assortments of yummy treats non-stop (in between meals). Super clean, super friendly and now...I can't go anywhere else in the Caribbean and I've been just about everywhere there (am in the travel business). If you don't have the most excellent of vacations at Secrets, there's something wrong with you - seek help.

Room Tip: Want quiet? spend the extra and go "preferred" on the St. James side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hypnotique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
20.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,829 reviews
12.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
20.1 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing