We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Our visit was a rewarding experience.We were given a friendly "welcome home greeting"by the vip manager,Marcia Smith.Check in was speedy and relaxing.We were then excorted to our room.The room- wow; devine; Miss Smith was pleasant,calm and a people person who did a fantasti job in coordiating our activities so that we had an hillarious vacation.Thanks Marcia ,you are a bright star and an asset to the hotel. To me this a five star service

Room Tip: higer rooms facing montego bays night lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,062
    1,315
    466
    136
    107
See reviews for
381
4,199
131
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife and I visited Secrets St James in Montego Bay for 7 nights, March 25th to April 1st 2012. The trip out of Lansing, Michigan was great, non-stop from Lansing to Montego Bay in 3 ½ hours.

Upon arrival, we were welcomed to Jamaica immigration and customs, which took about 1 hour and 15 minutes. It moved a lot faster than if first appeared. After that, we found our luggage and connected with our bus. Twenty minutes later we entered the resort.

Jamaica is not on daylight savings time, so they are one hour behind us (Eastern Daylight Time) which would put them on the Central Daylight Time. It was about 1PM there and our room was not ready. The gal at the desk suggested we go eat something at the pool restaurant and then come back in an hour. Before we left for the restaurant, we were handed a island punch, it was very good.

The pool restaurant had a wide variety of food including a salad bar. We both were not that hungry so we opted for the bar. There was a wide variety of fruits, cheeses, meats and bread. It was very good. We ate there twice during the trip.

Back at check in, our room was ready. We requested 3rd or 4th floor, and we got it. We were in the building 3, third floor room 49. What a view. It was more than either one of us expected. Please note this was not the Preferred accommodations. The room had a large bathroom with two free stand counter sinks along with a Jacuzzi tub. To the right was a separate “water closet” behind a frosted glass door and next to that was a large tiled shower, which was all done in dark brown marble tile, also behind frosted doors. There was an addition shower head recessed in the ceiling to give you a “rain shower” affect. Unfortunately, over the 2 years the resort has been open, 70 percent of the holes were plugged with lime. Two minutes with a soaking in “Lime-A-Way” would solve that problem without removing the head.

There was ample closet space including a personal safe. The safe came in handy for passports, return airline papers and cash. Please note, it is important to bring down some cash for tips, later discussed.

The bed mattress was phenomenal. You could not ask for a better night’s sleep. There was a large flat screen TV with over 35 channels. There was also a couch with coffee table and two chairs with a round table.

On the deck were two chairs and table. The view was breathtaking. We were overlooking the Preferred swimming pool and ocean.

There are 5 restaurants, Asian, Italian, French, Jamaica and Mexican. We ate at the Italian twice and the Asian once. Friday night was the seafood buffet which included lobster tails and steak. Get there early. It starts at 6:30 and by 7:30 they were out of lobster. They switched to shrimp. All very good!

In the morning we ordered room service, bagels, salmon and creamed cheese, along with a bottle of Champaign and pitcher of orange juice, and a pot of Jamaican coffee. This was delivered thru the “secrets door”. Just leave a tip in the cubby and your food is there when you open the door. We ate every morning on the deck. What a way to start each day of our vacation.

Each morning at about 9:30 I would go down and secure two lounge chairs with towels supplied at the pool. This would assure us a place regardless of when we left our room.

The pool was amazing, with plenty of room and a swim up bar which opened at 11PM. They had any type of tropical drink you could ever as for. The only thing they did not have was Gray Goose, Southern Comfort and alike. Not to worry, these alcohols along with other premium booze was available in each of the lobby bars. We always visited our lobby bar in the late afternoon. There we found Joy, who took very good care of us. The Jamaican people are very friendly, well educated and proud of their heritage. Joy always would introduce use to others who worked at the resort. There was no pressure. She was great!

Ocean entertainment included scuba diving and a glass bottom boat. If the boat had an engine, there was an additional cost, that could not be charged to the room. Other thing to do was snorkeling, (mask, fins and snorkel provided). If you got a group together you could have a guided tour of the reefs. Also available were two man ocean kayaks, single kayaks and catamarans. All this was at no charge.

The ocean is about 80 degrees perfect for swimming. We took a catamaran out for a half hour. It was very windy and past the reefs into the dark blue water the waves were all of 2 feet and close. Being in the ocean I did not expect this, but instead it was more like sailing in Lake Michigan. Needless to say we got wet! It was all good. There is a float at the top of the mast that will not let you completely “turtle” the boat. Some people got in trouble and the guys in charge of the equipment were off in a heartbeat to help.

We also took the glass bottom boat. The reefs were beautiful with coral and fish. Be sure to spend the $20 per head and take the tour.

Upon checking out, there were not additional charges. What a pleasure. Be sure to bring some $1’s and $5’s for tipping the maids, bartenders and restaurant servers. It will make a difference in providing you with a little added touch.

In closing, the resort is only 2 years old and is in perfect condition. The only thing I would recommend is cleaning the sides of the pool with more chemicals. With all the sun screens and tanning oils used, there was a stain at the water line. The restaurants, room, bars and grounds were spectacular.

The only problem was with our booking agent “Apple” who was less than accommodating to us when trying to cancel out of a catamaran trip to Margareta Ville. We first booked for this trip that would pick us up if front of the Wild Orchard late the second night. Our Apple lady was not around, so we booked with the hotel. The next morning I checked with her only to find out that I shouldn’t do that. They work on commission! There wasn’t enough people for them to bring the boat to the beach so it was cancelled. She was more than happy to sign us up for the next day, but because of lack of people it too was canceled. She suggested taking a bus ride over to the docks and getting on the boat there. You could still snorkel and stop of at Jimmy Buffets Restaurant, a saving of $35.00 each. OK, we signed up. That afternoon just the time we were ready to go it rained, buckets and buckets of rain and the wind blew. I did not want to wreck my Nikon camera in the rain so I tried to cancel. Our Apple girl was not back to her station as her chart said until 30 minutes later. She and her boss said there would be no refunds. I was out $140.00. Keep this in mind when booking, no more Apple for me. They lost my business. By the way we talked to some people at the airport who took that trip that day. Several people got sick from the seas. Great!

I would recommend this resort to anyone, just not Apple. It was great. Thanks Secrets St James, keep up the great work.

John & Donna, week of March 26, 2012

Room Tip: Rooms away from The Wild Orchard will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted with Welcome drink and cold towels which was very refreshing.
The check-in was somewhat very private and relaxing and we loved every minute of it..
Food was very good along with entertainment and how could i forget the spa the best.
Looking forward to seeing you Secrets St.James.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 4th floor 3443, ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We went to Secrets St James in Montego Bay in December and eagerly awaited our experience as we heard lot's of great things about this resort and decided to spend a little extra for a little extra. There were lot's of things wrong with the room like the sliding glass door didn't lock, the AC worked then didn't work, the seal around the shower didn't work so we flooded the bathroom.

We arrived late and rushed to the restaurant section starving only to be turned away because all of the a la cartes were full so had to eat at the buffet. The food was only okay. The ambiance was sort of stuck-up - we couldn't even walk on the upgraded room beach section. The staff didn't seem eager to please.

All-in-all, it was a nice vacation but I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great staff, great layout - had a fantastic 4 day stay - well worth it.

Only downside is that Montego Bay is pretty far from main day excursion attractions, so not really conducive to traveling around Jamaica. Plan on staying at hotel most of time - which is great!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

As soon as we got to the resort we immediately felt comfortable in the environment. The resort was gated which made us feel 100% safe since we have never traveled here before. The staff was so friendly and welcoming to us. The check in was a little longer than I would have liked, but it was nice to relax in the lobby with a cocktail. We had decided to upgrade to the preferred club side and Im glad that we did. You get a lot of small extras that add up; better liquor selection and private pool were a huge plus. Anything we needed anytime of the day they were very helpful there, and they don't forget your names which is an important quality to us. The staff always seemed to be cleaning which was nice to see. We went horseback riding off the resort which was ok, I don't think that we would do that again. They took us through a small village which seemed intimidating at first but the residents were friendly. The spa was excellent as well. We enjoyed our relaxing vacation and would highly reccomed this place, we cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: The St. James resort and Wild Orchid are practically connected which we did not know until we got th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Friendly/helpful staff, good food, excellent cocktails, diving reasonably ok. Rooms were excellent, views all good, 9 bars (incl 2 swim up), 9 restaurants, list goes on. Can highly recommend staying here, esp if you're just keen on chilling out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bckirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
20.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,823 reviews
12.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
20.1 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing