We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emerald View Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Apopka, Florida
1 review
“Memorable Vacation”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

In December 2011, I had the most memorable stay at the breath- taking Emerald View Breakfast and Bed Resort. I was impressed with the relaxing ocean- view from my bedroom, the patio, and the beautiful manicured grounds. Although the resort is 15 minutes from town, the amenities, including free Internet and long distance calls to the United States made the distance all worthwhile! The staff was warm and friendly. The resort is simply gorgeous and ideal for a stress- free, laid-back relaxing vacation. I plan to visit Jamaica and stay at the Emeralds View Resort in the near future!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evonw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    81
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
33
93
29
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed at Emerald View and really enjoyed the room and view, and the friendliness of the staff (all apart from Richard). However please bear in mind you are in the Caribbean...and time is not of the essence such as in fast-paced cultures such as Europe or the USA. You will get used to it though. Breakfast was nice...although they are not always able to cook up what you fancy. They have a good shuttle service to and from the beach but you can easily walk up and down the mountain if you are a healthy person with normal proportions. The hotel is close to Chill Out Beach, a very safe and small beach where they whip up the most wonderful frozen cocktails from 11AM onwards.
It is not so easy to get food other than chocolate bars and crisps from the nearby petrol station: you will need the shuttle to get to Chill Out beach again (you can also eat there, its lovely in the evening, eating on the beach with candle light and a starry sky) but bear in mind the service is quite slow there. Nearby places to visit are Montego Bay with nice beaches and Falmouth where there are craft markets. The hotel can get you there with the shuttle (at a fee). There is also a very cute little puppy at Emerald View who loves a cuddle from the guests...Jennifer is a very funny and helpful lady, and her daughters are charming. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francine_vandenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonewall, Manitoba
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our 1st trip to Jamaica and we considered this B&B to be a highlight of our vacation. Such a relaxing area that had a fantastic view to the sea and countryside below. Away from the noise and hectic life of many of the large all-inclusive facilities, we were treated more like family visiting then tourists. The shuttle service was an added bonus for us and we did not feel the need to use taxi or bus transportation. The staff was very informative as to the location of excellent restaurants in the area and the attractions as well. We enjoyed our 7 days and feel this is a place to return to someday.

Room Tip: Only saw our room which had a king bed and faced the view towards the sea.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

It was a BEAUTIFUL view!!!! The people were amazing and it was a very private and peaceful experience. I am not sure that it's the best place to stay if you are a first timer to Jamaica. It's not in the city and it can be a bit pricey to get around. The rooms had great views (I think I already mentioned that), but they are quaint. You have to be open to experiencing the culture and be ok with not having a "resort" experience. Again, I enjoyed my stay and loved the staff...if I were going for a quiet-laid back-relaxing getaway, I would possibly consider staying there again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was my first trip out of the country, hence my first trip to Jamaica. I wanted my experience to be authentic and rich with cultural experiences, so my boyfriend, his cousin and I chose Emerald View over an all-inclusive popular hotel. The price was definetely right and the photos of the villa had us sold. Hostelworld said that Emerald Veiw was 6 miles from the airport. It was actually 25 minutes from the airport in a town called Greenwood and cost us about $45 US to be taken there by cab. We were a little apprehensive as we got closer to our destination and further from Montego Bay. We had not rented a car and were unsure of how we would get around from this seemingly remote location. As we ascended the moutain and arrived at our destination, we were still a little hesitant, but willing to make the most of the trip. Once in the villa, any fears we had, melted away, The villa was beautiful. Our room was clean and well maintained. We had cable television, a remote controlled air conditioning unit, a ceiling fan and private restroom. The villa was bright, warm and inviting. The staff were extremely accommodating. Richard was a sweetheart! Christine was friendly and helpful. Jennifer the owner has two lovely daughters, Anna and Nadia, who were simply charming. Duran was a cool dude who definetely knows his way around Jamaica. Jennifer was a gracious hostess and made sure that our visit was an unforgettable one. They became fast friends. When you go to Jamaica, just keep in mind that you are not on any time frames there! They are very laid back, so don't be in a hurry to go anyway. Learn to relax and go with the flow, Hang out at Chill Out beach, go to Father Bull's to grab a bite and hang out in Falmouth and downtown Montego Bay if you really want to experience the true Jamaican experience. If you plan your days right and your transportation to and from your destinations, you will have the trip of a lifetime. The saltwater pool and the view from the villa will have you not straying too far. We ended our nights there during most of our visit. Experience Emerald Villa....we are already planning our trip back next year! Maybe we will see you there!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was my first trip out of the country, hence my first trip to Jamaica. I wanted my experience to be authentic and rich with cultural experiences, so my boyfriend, his cousin and I chose Emerald View over an all-inclusive popular hotel. The price was definetely right and the photos of the villa had us sold. Hostelworld said that Emerald Veiw was 6 miles from the airport. It was actually 25 minutes from the airport in a town called Greenwood and cost us about $45 US to be taken there by cab. We were a little apprehensive as we got closer to our destination and further from Montego Bay. We had not rented a car and were unsure of how we would get around from this seemingly remote location. As we ascended the moutain and arrived at our destination, we were still a little hesitant, but willing to make the most of the trip. Once in the villa, any fears we had, melted away, The villa was beautiful. Our room was clean and well maintained. We had cable television, a remote controlled air conditioning unit, a ceiling fan and private restroom. The villa was bright, warm and inviting. The staff were extremely accommodating. Richard was a sweetheart! Christine was friendly and helpful. Jennifer the owner has two lovely daughters, Anna and Nadia, who were simply charming. Duran was a cool dude who definetely knows his way around Jamaica. Jennifer was a gracious hostess and made sure that our visit was an unforgettable one. They became fast friends. When you go to Jamaica, just keep in mind that you are not on any time frames there! They are very laid back, so don't be in a hurry to go anyway. Learn to relax and go with the flow, Hang out at Chill Out beach, go to Father Bull's to grab a bite and hang out in Falmouth and downtown Montego Bay if you really want to experience the true Jamaican experience. If you plan your days right and your transportation to and from your destinations, you will have the trip of a lifetime. The saltwater pool and the view from the villa will have you not straying too far. We ended our nights there during most of our visit. Experience Emerald Villa....we are already planning our trip back next year! Maybe we will see you there!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

-the remote location is terrible (no restaurants or bars within walking distance)
-the beach is not a convenient walk.
-the premises are rundown (i.e., things falling off walls, peeling paint etc.)
-the bathroom in our room was dirty and and they failed to provide even a bathmat
-they did provide a decent cup of coffee, but the menu was overpriced
-the staff was fairly friendly
-cable and internet were provided

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johno016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
7.8 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
12.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
19.9 km away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,028 reviews
3.5 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
19.8 km away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald View Resort

Property: Emerald View Resort
Address: 261 Poinciana Drive | Greenwood, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Emerald View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald View Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing