We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite restaurant in Mo Bay”
Review of MoBay Proper

MoBay Proper
Ranked #35 of 139 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed April 9, 2017

While we are on vacation, we come to this restaurant on more than one occasion. This is a Jamaican restaurant, close to the market, just off the hip strip. First off, you have to get used to not seeing prices on the menu. There are none. The menu is limited but it includes all the main Jamaican dishes. I personally love the steamed snapper and my wife usually selects the oxtail. The food is to die for. The ambiance is local, loud music and no scenic view. If the music is too loud for you, they will turn it down. The service is friendly and casual. We usually pay US$40.00 per couple.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LordGrimthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 56 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2017 via mobile

We had the snapper, one steamed and one fried. Both were seasoned perfectly with a savory texture. Meals came with rice, potatoes, okra and carrots.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Amos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2017

We were walking along the hip strip towards the port and needed a rest. Bought 3 beers and two games of pool. It was a nice break for us. Seemed nice and left us alone to do our thing. Menu is deceiving as they didn't seem to have stuff that is on it... or perhaps it was just for us lol

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank MarMarMcLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2017

Whether it is stopping for a ice cold beer, chilling with friends, dining and enjoying their wide variety of food menu, or relaxing while playing a game of pool, MoBay Proper is the place to be...

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

We stopped for a couple beers. Great service, a fave with the locals, super casual. A few vendors set up near the entrance that are very respectful and nice to bargain with. They leave you in peace to enjoy your visit and kindly ask you to look at what they have as you are leaving.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MoBay Proper also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Hopewell, Montego Bay
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to MoBay Proper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing