We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time!! Staff is wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Stillman Valley, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic time!! Staff is wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We loved our room, maybe a little outdated, but it was clean, which is what matters! We had garden view, and it was beautiful!! The resort is the perfect size, a little smaller from what we are used to, but was perfect because everything was close, and you could easily run into your new friends that you made while at the resort.

ALL of the staff, down to the maintenance guys (who are ALWAYS cleaning or doing something to further beautify the property) were so friendly.

We were never hassled by the vendors on the property....NEVER! We did buy two bracelets for one of them, and she took 10 minutes with us telling us wonderful stories of her life in Jamaica. She is truly a gem.

The bartenders...more than accommodating. They would whip you up whatever you could dream of with their wide selection of liquors. Orlando and Georgette were our two favorite bartenders.

The entertainment staff....PHENOMENAL! Donkey (who has an adorable similarity in looks to Donkey from Shrek) was hilarious...LOVED him. The girls (Brittany and the one who always wears a hat) were absolutely amazing. THey can shake it better than anyone I've ever met. Also have to give a shout out to my FAVORITE gal I met while there, Laurel. We had so much fun playing pool volleyball with the staff. THey even got my husband (who is not easily taken away from his pool barstool, to play games. There was always something fun going on! It is amazing how close you feel to the entertainment staff by the end of the trip...you truly meet friends that you can't wait to come back and visit.

The ONLY reason I am not rating a 5, is because the food was just ok. Some of it was super delicious (the steak at the ala carte restaurant), and some of it was just kind of blah. Over all, this place is absolutely amazing, and we cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Some hotels did not have much of a beach, but this one does!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    1,257
    427
    193
    134
See reviews for
458
1,326
111
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

we arrived at the hotel mid afternoon after travelling 10 hours from england the heat just hit us we had a lovely cocktail waiting as we stepped off the coach which we drank whilst booking in at reception.we got to our bungalow which was beautiful very neat and tidy everything we could need for the two weeks we where there. we had iron ironing board hair dryer tv fan for cool air on the roof and a fan on the wall, a king size bed ,two chairs dressing table and stool clean bedding towels a bar for hanging our clothes with hangers too what more could we want. we unpacked went for a meal & drinks and stayed out till 4am then went sleep.then after that till our wedding day fri we swam sunbathed eat drank danced sleeped everyday,and in between that we planned our big day with the wedding planner who arranged everything from the photographer my bouquet are massage right down to our wedding cake and times.we got up had a massage around 11am at the salon in the hotel grounds what lovely staff too, after that we relaxed till our wedding ceremony he went to the jetty bar after getting ready while i got ready on my own to marry him later the wedding planner came to take me to the ceremony i had photo took just before i walked down to the gazeebo with one love playing then we got married just after 4pm the wedding planner and the photographer witnessed our wedding ceremony done by the reverent smith a wonderful minister we had beautiful ceremony with bob marley music i had one love walking to the gazeebo he had kingston town after the ceremony finished. we had our pictures on the beach the grounds the wedding gazeebo cutting the cake the chess board the grounds near our bungalow the photographer was brilliant and very patient whilst taking the photographs. later after wed had al our photographs taken we went back to our bungalow to get changed into our other cothes but before we did we had a bottle of champaign on the bench in the garden then later we went for our wedding meal sat on a table overlooking the beach by candle light very romantic too then afer we went for a stroll on the beach then onto the night club to get drunk and celebrate our big day in style then off to bed a day i will never forget went so perfect by all who made it for us thankyou.morning after we had our wedding breakfast lovely as well went swimming etc sunday we had a hurricane warning hurricane nicole but i didnt mind that we had our perfect wedding day from then on we sunbathed went dunns river, dolphin cove swimming with dolphins and held a sting ray saw tortoises had a meal , went shopping, to a bar in town bought a lovely necklace presents for family we did loads and enjoiyed every minute of it an holiday of a life time we wil never ever forget which i would recommend anyone to do if they are getting married a must have 100% guranteed and can i just mention we had clean towels andlinen every other day as well thankyou to everyone at our hotel for making are stay memorable for us we will never forget it ever.

Room Tip: 003 the bungalow where we stayed if you want a quiet stay brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

It was our first trip in Jamaica and our second trip in the Carribean. ( First one was last year in the Bahamas).
This is a very honest and accurate review. We read all the reviews about this hotel before we left and just before leaving we were not sure anymore that we made the right choice.
We arrive in Montego Bay in the afternoon; the ride from the airport is very short, less than 5 minutes, probably. We were checked in by the manager who gave us a wonderful room on the 4th floor with one of the best ocean views you can get plus the balcony. Thank you sir! Our 2 years son was also impressed by the great views of the " big blue water" and the planes flying by as the airport is so close.
Very bright room, very clean. Yes, outdated, but who cares! The king bed was as good as you can get, housekeeping: impecable! They will even fold our pajamas and put them nicely on the bed. Flat screen Tv with lots of channels, not that we watched it much, however it was nice. The only thing that we missed was a small fridge, I think will be nice if the rooms will have one, especially when travelling with infants.
One small elevator, but fully functional, never too crowded.
The Sunrise Mento band playing in the lobby was so nice: great choice of the songs and very friendly and sweet. Stefan is already missing them. Ya Mon!
Food: dinning room great: by the water with amazing views, staff: the best: thank you Kerry Anne, Alecia, Janet, Jaqueline. Food was great too.
The grounds were very well kept, beautiful flowers all around, the hotel has many other facilities that we never got to use such as Gym, basket ball court, kids club/ baby sitting services, jacuzzi, sauna, massage, etc.
The beach is veeeery small but also very clean. There are free canoes, kayaks, even a small catamaran , all free of charge. Snorkeling gear is available too. Beach towels every day.
Very friendly staff.
Entertaiment: there is always something going on by the pools, and every night at the main stage by the bar. We enjoyed it. Not many kids around, as there is not much for them but for a two year old was great.
Overall, great vacation, thank you everybody for making us feeling so good.
We highly reccommend Zip, the taxi driver if you want to have a private tour anywhere in the country, or if you just need a ride. Very professional and honest. Thank you sir!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4 th floor, ocean view with a balcony: room 419= just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lightli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Located a three minute drive from the airport, so we chose to get our own cab as opposed to wait for the airline bus.

Every room was provided with a 1L bottle of water which you then had to refill, as needed, downstairs at the bar. From the get-go, any requests we made seemed like we were asking for too much [i.e. one extra pillow was a huge deal, refilling of water bottle, etc] and that there was a shortage of everything.
I happened to get sick on the second day and was drinking hot water with lime and honey. I requested a kettle from the dining area or something to keep hot water in my room and was denied several times before I was able to borrow one and was told it had to be returned before six am breakfast.

Food for breakfast and dinner was great and varied every day. The one 'a la carte' restaurant was average and the menu never changed. The dining staff was always friendly and polite however, when a friend was seen leaving the dining area with a plate of food to bring up to our room for me [because I was ill], she was told that she wasn't allowed and the best reason they gave her besides 'it's just not allowed' was that it would 'bring cockroaches and rats'. Say what?!

Most of the bartenders were always rude for some reason, except the swim-up bar staff.

The beach was gorgeous and crystal clear. There was very little beach area, though there was an area on each end of the resort. One of the two beaches had extremely little sanded area so we had to place our stuff on another beach chair or they'd be washed away with the water.

Overall, I had a great time because I was in great company but I would never, ever return to the Royal Decameron, nor would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rawkafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

OMG!!!! I had a wonderful time in Jamaica. It was my first trip and I had a really positive experience. The country is BEAUTIFUL and the people are very warm and friendly.
One of my best moments was when I went downtown Montego Bay and purchased a keychain in the Craft market. It was JA$250.00 and I didn't realize I gave the lady (Audrey) JA$1,200.00 instead of JA$300.00. About an hour later I returned and asked if I gave her JA$1,000.00 extra, both Audrey and her friend Margaret acknowledged I did infact give her JA$1,000.00 too much. She politely returned my money. I was so moved I gave her lots of hugs and kisses and gave her the JA$50.00 I owed her.

It's good to see there are still honest people in the world

Please visit Audrey and Margaret at the craft market, downtown Montego Bay, Harbor St. anytime you go to Jamaica.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SexyMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Royal Decameron Montego Bay is a rather nice hotel, located very near the sea and surrounded by a gorgeous garden. The beach is sandy, but not very large. The breakfasts were fine, but the other meals were rather monotonous and after a week we couldn’t look at the jerk chicken anymore :) Every second day there was a dance show at dinner service. I have ambiguous feeling about the service. While the food service was excellent, housekeeping seemed to adhere to very random hours – sometimes the rooms were still not cleaned at 2 p.m. So if you want it spick and span – this might not be your best choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was our first trip to Montego Bay and upon our arrival at this resort we were put in a room next to an area that was under major construction.We were not at all pleased with since we had a late flight and was there to enjoy without the noise of drills and hammers.We did complain and was told that it should not last too much longer we went to eat and came back about 11:30 and the noise was still going. Finally after the 2nd complaint it stopped and the next morning started again at 9am we immediately asked for a room change and it was changed. The resort needs much updating, but the room and areas were clean and the a/c worked great.. The food was good and staff were nice.

Room Tip: stay away from room 42
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEECE310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
12.9 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
8.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
3.5 km away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
141 reviews
48.2 km away
Melia Braco Village
Melia Braco Village
#1 of 1 in Rio Bueno
997 reviews
3.9 km away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing