We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gloriana & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gloriana & Spa
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“never again !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few time without any problem...even though this hotel is slightly less than wexford hotel...last time i made a reservation from overseas for a one bedroom suite...everything was fine,i even confirmed the day before i arrived....when i landed in montego bay the next day, got to the hotel,was told the one bedroom suite was not available....it's now occupied...they took me out to show me more rooms in the pouring rain in the back...the wallkways were very slippery because it's wet..i lost my footing & sled down a few steps injuring my back and right hand...when i made a report, i was told " sorry !"...they don't care about you,all they care about is making money....

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nonesuch60827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    45
    53
    30
    43
See reviews for
23
69
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

over all the hotel need to be updated, the beds are hard as rock, sleeping on the floor
would have been better.

Room Tip: rooms are not well lit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2015
We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montego Bay hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel mainly because of it's location. Although we found the staff friendly we ended up having to change rooms three times. The frist room was very musty smelling and dirty, it had a balcony and several windows however they were all sealed shut so there was no way to get fresh air into the room. The second room was a little better, however while we were out the air conditioner leaked and flooded the room. The third room was no better than the first, I ended up having to clean the room myself and finished a whole bottle of perfume just to get rid of some of the musty, mildew smell. Needless to say for the week that we were there we almost ended up in divorce court.

Likewise, despite several complaints to the front desk no offers were made to refund us any of the money we paid up front. I found Ms Gloriana snobish and unfriendly when she was around, nothing like the character in her DVD. I found all those wall murals creepy, it's like she was watching you every where you went. Hotel Gloriana is in desprate need of a make over, starting with painting over all those murals and washing the drapes and comforters. Stay at your own risk.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2016
thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. sorry for your bad experince. and thanks for your comment. when you come again you will have a choice to choose your room. we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

As you get in the reception, you'll see tons of useless awards on the walls. Actually, this hotel is very bad: unfriendly receptionists (everything is impossible; you cannot make a phone call even be payment), payment in advance - but no refund as we realized that none of the 6 rooms of our group had hot water, breakfast not included, very expensive and very bad. If you have a problem (and for sure you'll have it, here!) don't waste time asking for the manager: he/she is never available.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fogapaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2015
We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My Mother comes to Jamaica all of the time and kept telling me to stay at Gloriana's the next time I went to Jamaica. My wife and I went to Jamaica for our honeymoon this past November and we spent the first few days in Trelawny to relax. We wanted to be closer in town for last part of the trip. So we decided to stay at Gloriana's. The place was great! Close to everything and friendly service. The food is delicious and convenient (a little pricey though but worth it for the convenience). I plan to stay there every time i am in JA and want to stay in town.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talib B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2015
We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I was looking for a reasonable Hotel to stay. I found one closer to Falmouth but the place was so dirty, I couldnt stay. Someone told us about this Hotel Gloriana and we decided to try it.
First of all, the price is VERY reasonable compare to others.

Some people here had bad experience, we did not. I like the ambience of the Restaurant, private and serene. We got a very nice room, clean, spacious and the staff was wonderful. I guess it depends on which room you get. Further more, it was close to the airport. Our experience was not bad at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2015
We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

A decent clean budget hotel not five star but Ok if you really just want a place to sleep. A clean pool is there for those tiered days that you want to stay in. walking distance to the strip and very close to Montego Bay Airport. Hotel food was pricey so we always ate out. Spent most of our time Off the property anyways . But to sum it up its just an ok hotel quite average. A/C, HOT AND COLD WATER, SWIMMING POOL, FREE ICE LOL, JUST NOT A STAR HOTEL.

Room Tip: Dont choose ground floor, and choose a room that has a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cleggytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2015
We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 km away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.8 km away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#36 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 km away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.9 km away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#30 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.5 km away
Verney's Tropical Resort
Verney's Tropical Resort
#44 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloriana & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloriana & Spa

Property: Hotel Gloriana & Spa
Address: 1-2 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Bay, Jamaica West Indies, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gloriana & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gloriana is five minutes walk from the airport and five minutes walk to the famous Doctor's Cave Beach. Amenities in the room include, Air condition, Cable Television, Hot and Cold Water, some rooms have Private Balconey. We have WIFI on property and International Telephone service. GROUP RATES (Ten(10) persons and over) Please note group rates are US $25 per person and if one or two persons in one room it is US $50. Three persons are US $75 Four persons US $100 plus tax. Each person has their own bed. Breakfast is US $8 Dinner US $9 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Gloriana Montego Bay
Hotel Gloriana And Spa
Gloriana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing