We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place, high in the mountains.”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool Area
Pool/Terrace Sunset from the Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Pool Area
Pool/Terrace
Sunset from the Pool
View from the kitchen window
Pool
What a View
Sunset
Main Living room
Dining Area
Living room View
Main Villa Entrance
Entrance to Cotton Suite
Bedroom
Bedroom
Cotton Suite Bedroom
Luxury Bedding
Bedroom
Out to the Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
View from Balcony
Newly refurbished bathroom
Bathroom
Two Showers
New Bath
Bathe with a View
Breakfast on the Balcony
Delicious Lobster Dinner
Fresh from the Garden
Breakfast is served
Fresh Coconut
Fish Supper
Breakfast Menu
Lunch Menu
Dinner Menu
Incredible Views of Montego Bay
Another lovely Sunset
Evening View
Pool
The turning to our road
The road up
The road up
The road to the Villa
Chris Gayle visits the Retreat
Evening Fire
Pool Views
Mobay View
Evening View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dan L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place, high in the mountains.”
Reviewed March 17, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The villa is nestled high in the mountains of Montego Bay with an amazing view of the city. The jungle comes alive at night with all the sounds of local wildlife. The owners dogs roam the grounds and are very friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy F
Holland Centre, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Getaway”
Reviewed March 15, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed for 9 days at Waterfield Retreat and all i can say is Wow!! Beautiful rooms, all the amenities, gorgeous pool, lush surroundings and OMG what a view!! Way up on the mountainside, you can watch the sun rise over Mobay from the poolside, and watch the sun set over the mountains from your balcony! Away from the hustle and bustle of Montego Bay, you can sit and just breathe in the tropical forest air! James and Dee are lovely people and their staff are friendly folks too! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Waterfield Retreat to anyone! Oh, and don't forget to give Cookie a hug for us! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherrylbw...
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting with a million dollar view!”
Reviewed February 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Waterfield exceeded our expectations on every level. From the comfort of the accommodations, to the hospitality of the hosts, our stay was fabulous in every way. Once you navigate the road up to the villa, you are welcomed with open arms and rewarded with a magnificent view of Montego Bay that is beyond words. Waterfield is a wonderful option for those looking for tranquility and relaxation, yet within a short drive of area shops, restaurants, and attractions which is exactly what we were looking for, and we can't wait to go back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A glimpse of paradise”
Reviewed December 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Wow!, it’s hard to start thinking of what I enjoyed the most. Besides the absolutely spectacular views of Montego Bay and the surrounding hillsides, the cool mountain breeze throughout the day and night.The accommodation is fantastic, very clean and offering a home away from home. I owe a huge amount of gratitude to everyone at the property. From the very moment I arrived I was made to feel so welcome, my needs were taken care of and the best possible advice offered.

Jamaica is an amazing destination, offering a huge amount of new and exciting ways in which to enjoy the island, James and Dee Waterfield (owners) are bringing a lot of creative and innovative ideas for travelers to enjoy not only the property but the rest of the island as well. The property is well underway in being completely self sufficient, growing all their own vegetables and fruit. The farm to table concept is very welcoming in today’s hustle bustle world.

I enjoyed speaking with the local Jamaican’s involved in helping with the new agricultural endeavours being carried out at the property, very inspiring and uplifting.

I wish to thank everyone involved in making my stay a truly magical experience. I recommend to anyone thinking of staying at the Retreat to do so without any hesitation. I will certainly return as soon as possible

All the very best, one love!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaya1913
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 20, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

The pictures do this place no justice!!! Amazing amazing views, service, food !!! Can't wait to come again, the hosts are the best part about the stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2017
hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuarttra...
sturattraveller
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SIMPLE LUXURIOUS ESCAPE in the real Jamaica”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our Stay at Waterfield retreat was truly a pleasant surprise, perched atop the mountains overlooking the city of Montego bay and panoramic ocean views in every direction....our stay was simply magical. This has made my top 5 Jamaican vacation experiences. The room was simply decorated, great linens, clean space, very SPACIOUS and open, with a private balcony that had a stunning view. The host family was very generous and treated us with top notch hospitality. I recommend waking for the sunrise, getting back for sunset and having James make all your meals---DELISH!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: EVERYTHING---big open room, clean linens, SPECTACULUR views!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thank you Tasha,
for your kind words it was a pleasure hosting you at our villa and our chats round the fire place at night, hope to see you in September.

Best wishes
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing