We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - Great Property - Fantastic Family Vacation”
Review of Carib-Ocho Rios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocho Rios
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carib-Ocho Rios
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value - Great Property - Fantastic Family Vacation”
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I am a native Jamaican (living abroad) and in every aspect completely spoiled and picky about where I stay. I grew up going to Carib Ocho Rios every year in the 80's and 90's. So when I got the oppertunity to take my own family to the property on vacation I was elated but hesitant. I wondered if the property would live up to my memories and I was worried that the age of the property would show. I was extremely surprised. The 1 bedroom unit we stayed in "420" was imaculate with hard wood floors upstairs, double pained french doors and windows, beautiful white tiles, comfortable and clean furniture... My husband, toddler daughter and I couldn't have been happier. The beach was perfect for us it was very calm, clear water and no seeweed (my pet peeve) and the option of getting a drink or a quick meal while on the beach was great too. We had a lady "Ms Elaine" that came and cooked and cleaned for us. The best food I could have asked for and she was extremely detailed and professional - all around a great fun person. The pictures online do not do the property justice. If you are looking for a get away at a great price this is the place. Just be careful in selecting the unit you book since the renovations depend on the owner. We plan on staying here again every time we take vacation. Few cons: road leading to condos is in disrepair and the pool does not work.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2010

First i should say. the beach is awsome i totally love it.. the security guards are very fiendly ad nice. they always greet u with a smile its like home away from home .....


what really pisses me off about the carib is that the MADE DONT DO A GOOD JOB. i was their for a month and as u know they provde u with kitchen ware.. and omg i was shocked to see dead roaches i have never seen that much roaches in my life dead roaches were in the pots on the knife all over the forks ... we have to go out and get our own...
at 1 point my fiance went to the bathroom then i heard screaming so loud i freak out.. she came running like a crazy its a roach about 1.5 inches... big black eww roach

the maid is like super lazy whenever she show up to clean the room.. she always ask " DO YOU WANT ANY CLEANING TODAY " like wat the omg we sleep in the bed without a sheet change for two days change the sheets woman. without this maid it would be a perfect vacation... ok she came in and clean she take 10 minutes to do the room and kitchen. well my fiance always do it (kitchen)...... my fiance told me at one point the maid was washing the mop in the kitchen sink.... GEEEEZZ .. then she sit around watching jerry springer maury and laugh her guts out.... another thing guys the maid will go through ur computer am telling u... my fiance caught her going through hers.. use master lock.

KITCHEN
the stove will electricute ur all day and night everyday and they never fix it
the frige works about 10 days of the month we were their

ROOM NUMBER
415

watch out for the maid... everyone their was nice well the maid try to be the only thing i dont like about her is that she dont do her job ... i tip her though.... i feel bad so i did

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoThegenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Carib is a beautiful property tucked away about a 5 minute drive/10 minute walk to downtown Ocho Rios. There are 4 buildings and each has about 20 different apartments, each one is owned by a different owner. I stay there every time I go to Ocho Rios and every time I get there it feels like home!
The one-bedroom units have 2 floors, on the first- a small, clean kitchen, a living/dining open area and a powder room. Upstairs the bedroom, usually with 2 queen bed and a bathroom. Each condo has AMAZING views and a spacious balcony. A maid comes every other day and cleans EVERYTHING, they are always so pleasant and helpful, in complete contrast to the staff at Sunset Jamaica Grande. These women appreciate anything that you leave behind as a gift (food, soap etc.) and it is expected that you tip them in some way.
The two-bedrooms have two full, clean bathrooms and BIG balconies, big living/dining area and kitchen, all on one floor.
The property is directly on the water and includes Mahogany Beach, a cute, small, semi-private beach with a bar.

My favorite thing about Carib is that it is very private and quiet and has the most beautiful views! Sleep with the windows open and you will fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves!

TIPS:
-There is 24-hour security but be careful walking to downtown late at night
-ALWAYS CLOSE THE WINDOWS AND LOCK THE DOORS (just in case)
-Bring rubber shoes and you can enter the ocean only steps from your room
-Stop by a grocery store and buy bottled water and other groceries to keep in your condo, which will help to save money
-Don't leave food on the counters, you can put snacks in a bowl and cover with them with a plate instead

Check out my pics

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onelove1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

I visited Carib-ocho Rios unit 423 in August 5 for 3 weeks and loved every moment. The rooms were exceptional clean and smell great. The 2 level condo surpass my expectation with beauty and elegance. The beautiful grounds made me feel like I was in HEAVEN, the beach was clean and well kept and very friendly locals.

The restaurants in the area are located next to the beach with cool breeze.

I would recommend this place to friend and family.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank reid15613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2008

The review by "Baby2Nice" might be about a different hotel as the amenities don't seem to be that of the condominiums I stayed at. The property's official name is Carib Ocho Rios Condominium.

I had the opportunity to stay at this property twice; once in December and most recently in April. While it may not be the Ritz it is quite affordable ($50-$75 per ngt) with the two story apt on the high end and the garden style apt on the low end. Most condos/hotels in this price range in Ocho Rios I designate "stay at your own risk" as these others are frequented by undesirables or located in the noisy/busy section of town. This property is located about a 10 minute walk into town in an area called Pineapple( for those who don't need the exercise taxis are readily available off the main rd).

The amenities include beach access (3 min from your door), with a restaurant on the beach, 24 Hr security and daily housekeeping (Marlene the housekeeper is great). The condos are individually owned and therefore are not consistent in quality, as some owners choose not to invest in the upkeep of their property. My family stayed in Apt 421 & 423 (both are 1 BR/2 Full beds,11/2 bath - two stories, I think the sofa was a pull out).

Apt.421 - PROS
Patio was about 300 yards from the ocean. Sound of ocean at night was soothing.
CONS
Needs a fresh coat of paint. Needs new refridgerator; iced over, doors seem to be falling off. Stove was very old and all the numbers of the dials were erased so it was hard to tell Hi from Low.
Countertop was a thin strip of plyboard covered with 4x4 tile on the surface only.
Pots, pans and kettle were on their last leg especially the kettle which no longer had a lever.
Bathroom tiles were mismatched, bath rug was actually a kitchen rug and it was filthy. Towels dingy, so definately bring your own. Fixtures were old and dingy with no hot water available from any faucet except shower & kitchen.
Sofa slipcover even though floral looked like it did in December; needed to be washed.
Bedroom has 2 full size beds which slept OK. Curtains are sheers so I was up at 6am every morning with the sun. Bring something to cover the eyes if you value sleep.

Apt.423 - PROS
Identical in layout to 421 except it seems to be newly reburbished. Kitchen appliances were all new, countertops spotless.
Walls painted a cheerful yellow throughout. Sofa seemed clean, beds comfortable. Everything well appointed. Overall a much better apartment than 421. Ask to see others if your're not satisfied.

For the price range this is the best DIY property in Ocho Rios if you're on a budget.

  • Liked — The low rate
  • Disliked — inconsistency of the apartments
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ATLtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baby2nice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2007

Brilliant location! Staff are friendly and helpful. Great value for money.
The evening entertainment needs some working on, but the disco is great. Its a nice way to meet and socialise with others staying at the hotel. It has plenty of bars, even one that is open 24hrs a day!!
There is a good selection of food at all of the restaurants on the property. Although it can feeel a little repetative, bujt dont let that spoil things because you can always go out of the hotel and eat cheaply at one of the restauants in town.
Around and about the hotel there are clubs, bars, casinos and plenty of shopping outlets. Just make sure that you put your haggling face in, and you will be able to catch a good bargain!! =o)

I had such a great time, that i just got back on Wednesday and am already getting the money to book and go out there again very soon!! I went on a girls weeks holiday, but this time i wanna take the kids!! Its great fr all types of clientel... singles, families and the older generation!

Give it a go... HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Liked — The quality. Servise & amenities as well as location.
  • Disliked — The evening entertainment
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank baby2nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape coral, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2005

Thanksgiving, 2005 will be one to remember because we spent it in Jamaica at Carib Ocho Rios and it was wonderful. The condos are set back approximately 50 feet from the cliffs of the Caribbean Sea and the view was breathtaking. The condos are very nice and the grounds are beautifully landscaped with many kinds of tropical plants and shrubs. The beach is very nice and clean. The staff at Carib Ocho Rios were very pleasant and helpful. The complex is very secure and it is just a short walk into Ocho Rios. It is close to town, but not too close. We will definitely be returning to Ocho Rios and to another stay at Carib Ocho Rios.

Helpful?
13 Thank pam1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.0 km away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#18 of 35 in Ocho Rios
274 reviews
0.0 km away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#14 of 35 in Ocho Rios
106 reviews
0.0 km away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#20 of 35 in Ocho Rios
316 reviews
0.0 km away
The Suites Ocho Rios
The Suites Ocho Rios
#5 of 19 in Ocho Rios
23 reviews
0.0 km away
Columbus Heights
Columbus Heights
#19 of 32 in Ocho Rios
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carib-Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carib-Ocho Rios

Property: Carib-Ocho Rios
Address: Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Carib-Ocho Rios Hotel Ocho Rios
Carib-Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing