We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Sans Souci, Ocho Rios, Jamaica”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Couples Sans Souci, Ocho Rios, Jamaica”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our experience at this resort was fantastic. We were treated very well from the day of arrival to our departure day. The staff are very courteous, friendly and have your needs their priority no matter how busy they are. The food was delicious and plentiful. We had a wonderful vacation and are definitely planning to return. Thank you to all staff and management for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Beachfront Suite on Block B- nice rooms, beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,740
    757
    220
    66
    49
See reviews for
44
3,371
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was our second visit to this resort and it was better than the first. There is not much else that I can say that has not been said over and over again. We love the beachfront room for their location and size. The staff are amazing, and one of the biggest reason why we will return. Sunset Beach is amazing and great for meeting new friends. The weather was not perfect, but it was not bad either. We will be returning next year again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtle040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We spent ten relaxing days at this small, all-inclusive resort. The staff was friendly and eager to go the extra mile to ensure our comfort and enjoyment. The food ranged from good to excellent. The accommodations were comfortable and clean. Some may find the long ride to and from the airport to be an inconvenience. However, we appreciated the opportunity to view the landscapes and seascapes during our 1st visit to the beautiful island of Jamaica. We look forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: Because this is a small resort with limited facilities for indoor, daytime activity, it might be wis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AttyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our first time in Jamaica. We flew in on a Sunday around 12 p.m. - customs was very long. Once through we found the Couples lounge - the wait was only about 20 minutes before our bus ride to San Souci - it was around 1 1/2 hrs - not bad. We checked in easily with a cool towel and a glass of champagne. We had a beach front suite - 2nd floor - A-16. We both agreed we would try to get the same room on future visits. The food was good, the activities were a nice touch - even though our activity consisted of laying around in the sun on a float. The drinks were great - the pool was just warm enough - and the beach was clean and relaxing. Finding a lounge either at a pool or on the beach was never a problem. The rooms are very Jamaican - not all marble and tile - we have stayed at these kind of large - beautiful resorts - there is something very comforting about staying in these smaller - no frills - suites. They are very clean, decorated in a light an airy way, wth great AC and beds. Will be back. My favorite vacation spot hands down.

Room Tip: Beachfront suite - loved the upper floors - 2nd or 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katie3876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed 3/18-3/24. This was our first trip to Jamaica. We stayed in a beachfront suite.One word describes CSS, AMAZING. From the time we stepped off the plane till checkout. Couples lounge very welcoming. As soon as we arrived at the resort we were welcomed with cool towels and champange. We didnt have to touch our bags. check in was easy. We were in A block which is a walk from the lobby but we loved our suite and was right next to the beach. This is one resort that you never have to leave the property if you dont want and your vacation will still be amazing. You are able to request whatever drinks you like for the mini bar daily if needed. All of the staff simply awesome. We were not used to this level of service. Everyone friendly and nice. The staff remembers you. The food was simply amazing. We ate four sometimes five times a day. You must visit the omelete and waffle station. And also dinner time the pasta station. The water excursions were great. And even though i hate to admit it im a non swimmer but the staff there made it such a great and relaxing experience when I was out on the water. Any of the bars was great. My drink of choice was the Miami Vice. My husband did try the Bob Marley shot, i never worked up the nerve. And the drinks were made well if u felt you needed more rum or vodka just order extra and they will put it in. We had no trouble getting lounges for the beach. OMG being able to raise a flag to get another drink, wow. The staff made sure that you always had what you needed it was rare we had to ask for anything. Everything about the resort from the property to the food, staff and service was more than amazing and better than any expericene we have ever had at any hotel. We will definetaly be back to CSS. This is one place you will not go wrong. :Simply a must.

Room Tip: Beachfront suites are right by the ocean. Going towards the lobby is a walk with a lot of stairs but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MBROWN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We just got back from a lovely five days at Sans Souci. If you fly into Montego Bay, there is a nice Sans Souci lounge where you check in, grab a Red Stripe and wait for your bus. The ride to the resort is an hour and 1/2. The driver was fun and informative. He even pulled over for me because I had to use the bathroom. Turned out to be great - a random roadside bar. More Red Stripes! The property is beautiful and the people are very friendly. Some people had complained about the stairs and we actually laughed when we were there. Yes, there are stairs, but they led to beautiful views and jacuzzis! Very manageable. A little exercise is a good thing because of the great food and drinks. There are several pools, several jacuzzis and two beaches. The "au natural" beach is fun and right in the beach area there is even a pool, a jacuzzi, a place to eat and a fun bar (and it's all part of the all-inclusive). We found the food actually quite good, especially for an all-inclusive place. Make the reservations for dinner before your trip though, or you'll end up eating at 5 or 9 PM. A nice alternative is to eat at the outside restaurant Bella Vista which is two steps from the beach. Your table is almost in the sand. It doesn't take reservations - and it was fantastic. The service was good, a bit slow in typical Caribbean style, but done in a friendly manner. The Blue Mountain coffee is so good, you'll get hooked and end up buying a $38 bag to take home. Even the gift shop was spectacular - a large selection of beach clothing items, gear and Jamaican masks and nice people to help you buy your items. Ask for Nicola, she was so fun and helpful. Our other favorite person was Stephanie, the chef at the pasta bar at Palazzino - have her make you a customized pasta dish. Tell her we miss her. We loved this place! People had complained about the rooms, but we thought ours was fine. We did have a third floor, ocean view room with the jacuzzi, so maybe these are nicer. The rooms are not like a Ritz Carlton room; however, they are nice and you don't spend much time in the room anyway, because you are having so much fun outside. Anyone that complained must be used to staying at five star resorts and Ritz Carlton type of places. We did a massage next to the ocean, amazing! The ages were really mixed between 20 somethings to 60 somethings...skewing toward late 30s and older. Make your reservation at Sans Souci and have a great time. Many people there were repeat visitors. We are trying to figure out when we can go back and and have recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife and I have enjoyed many wonderful vacations throughout the Caribbean, Mexico and North America. We had a few that we considered special for their facilities, friendliness and shear enjoyment. After ten days, Couples San Souci, has risen to the top of the list.

We planned this trip with mixed emotions and truthfully it was our second choice. We read reviews, most very good but there were a few that felt that CSS fell short. Obviously people have varied opinions; expectations. Some may be looking for action, singles scenes or party Ville. That’s not CSS. We did give SS a try based on a friend’s recommendation, a friend that had been to Sans Souci eight times before.

Here is what we found. The staff, from trainee to supervisor and everyone between was terrific, always helpful and just plain great. We got to know just about all by name and they remember yours, a testimony to good management.

Gratuities are not required, and we never tip for service. We are happy to tip in appreciation for an employee’s hard work. Aside from the bellmen and maids and one or two severs that were excellent, some flat out refused to take a tip. We heard “it’s a pleasure to help you”, or “it’s my job”.

Our room was spotless, grounds impeccable, beaches good (not great), and water sports supper. Spa services were an expensive treat, the bar and food service was always very good, but there are some changes that could make it better.

• Featured restaurants are difficult to make reservations, unless you want 9:00PM. Seems, many guests book all their meals when they arrive. Consequently there are a good number of NO SHOWS. You can come back later and may get a seating. That is too much like work. The block booking of reservations needs to be managed better.

• We don’t like to usurp reservations, so we ate most meals at Bella Vista. This menu didn’t change from night to night. A little imagination would go far.

• AS an early riser, I enjoy an early morning swim in the bay, a run or sweating in the well-equipped gym.. A hot cup of early morning Joe at the beach bar would be a real plus.

This trip held no regrets. We made many friends, relaxed, enjoyed the AN beach, appreciated the easy of transport from the airport and pretty much had a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. A & B Block offer beach accessibility, D Block the best view, G block pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SummerSwimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.1 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,260 reviews
3.1 km away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,098 reviews
74.9 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
134.1 km away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,277 reviews
93.1 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,276 reviews
134.7 km away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing