We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
worcester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Yes, we found "Paradise" again (my 4th time). I am not going to say it is easy getting to Couples Sans Souci, but once you are there- well- truly there are "no worries." The tough part was getting there: 1. At Logan Airport, due to inclement weather in Philly, we were rerouted to Charlotte. The US Airways attendant was patient and I believe made the right decision in deciding to send us to Charlotte. First class seating helped matters.
Eventually, we arrived at the Montego Bay airport -jumped into one of two slow lines- and in about an hour we were at the Couples Lounge waiting for a van ride to our destination. We elected to have a lounge staff member take out our bags and after tipping- we were off and running to Ocho Rios. Truthfully, our driver was not in a talking mood and the van seemed to follow the "lead" as it puttered along.
After about two hours we arrived at our destination and we entered a whole new world. We were offered champagne and a wet towel and sweet Renna registered two tired guests
Some how we were rejuvenated as we entered our clean room on Bock C. Through, the foliage, we could look down and see parts of the beach. We took a slow walk around the expansive grounds-making a pit stop at the lively Beach Bar for a few Red Stripes.
Full disclosure- I have been there 4 times so that will tell you that this review is tainted with bias.
In a nutshell: This resort seems to be a magnet for nice friendly guests. Don't ask me why- maybe, the Couples Theme.,2. The two five star restaurants are out standing, The multitude of choices at breakfast and at lunch every morning is truly amazing. Yes, will include pictures of food., 3. The staff is extremely personable and able and to meet your every wish. Kudos to Maureen. 4. Water sports and tennis: Richard & staff will set you up for any water sport activities and easy going "Ya mon" Radcliffe Watkis residing at the two new tennis courts will hook you up with a lesson or match.
Lots of the residents enjoy the Au Natural beach--yours truly and wife ventured over there when the sun went down and when the clothes went on. Bring your camera- in the evening.
Now the entertainment is fit for a King, Queen or Hollywood Star. The food once again is amazing, but the entertainment is top shelf. A.J. Brown at the Gala will treat you to Bob Marley songs,etc. Up at the Balloon Bar there is a "Rock and Roll Oldies" gent who is a real crowd pleaser, and lets not forget, Trevor at the Piano, who will engage the hanger-ons - starting at 11PM.
Yes, indeed- as soon as you get off the van-observe those colorful flowers and walk through the gateway- you have arrived----Paradise.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking uphill or downhill- get a room in Block C,D, or G. You will have a &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank coach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,704
    744
    218
    65
    49
See reviews for
43
3,323
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fonthill, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

San Souci is the perfect place to stay for relaxation, great food and service. The suites are dated but are kept very clean. The 90 minutes ride from the airport passed quickly and worth the drive to this beautiful resort. We will return!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

You may read about all of the stairs or that the rooms are older and that the beach is not very big but the bottom line is that none of that mattered, in all of our travels, and there has been a lot, this is flat out the most relaxing place we have ever been. My wife and I actually started to laugh about it after the 3rd or 4th day there, it just seems that every time I sat down I would start to drift into a pleasant little nap, it didn’t matter where, at the beach, at the pool, on our balcony, it just didn’t matter, it was as if this place has some sort of relaxing spell over it.
We arrived on Friday the 10th and they told us that our beachfront room wouldn’t be ready until the next morning and put us in one of the verandah rooms, a magnificent room in its own right but we are generally as close to the beach as you can get kind of people (did I mention that there is a couch on the balcony of the verandah that was perfect for a little nap). We didn’t unpack and the next morning they showed us our new room which we loved, 3rd floor B Building. The staff did the rest from there, moved our luggage got it all set up and told us to stop back at the front desk around noon. I am sure that the room was ready by noon but after a wonderful lunch at the beach grill and another “little nap” we got up there around 1:30 and everything was ready. This was the only hiccup in the entire 10 days and it was really no big deal at all, they gave my wife a $200 gift card to the spa which she used and loved and it was kind of nice to see the villas, they are larger than the beachfront rooms. It was funny that we ran into another couple that had the same thing happen and said they would never come back because of it, doesn’t much matter to me but I think vacation needs to be what you make of it and if you let something so minor as this ruin the rest of your trip then you have wasted 10 days of your life.
The food at all of the restaurants was excellent and the service made it seem even better. I can’t remember everybody’s name but that’s ok, they are all stand outs and in general some of the nicest people we have ever met in all of our travels. If you eat nothing else while you are there you have to have a Jamaican Jerk burger at the beach grill, I would actually wake up in the morning thinking about lunch so I could get my daily jerk burger.
It is true that there are a lot of stairs but its vacation so you take your time, rest if you need to because there are plenty of places along the way. While returning to our room from diner at Casanova’s one evening the power went out and we were halfway down one of the longer flights of stairs and I can tell you that it gets some dark in Jamaica, my wife and I just stood there laughing until the generators came on line after about 10 seconds. Then we continued back down to the lawn to watch the entertainment for the evening.
We loved the room (both of them actually), is it a little old? sure it is, the entire property is, but very well kept and nicely cleaned every day.
One thing I would mention, and you can do what you want with this information, the average age of the guests on this small resort (you kind of get to know everybody if you are there for a week) seemed to be more middle aged, there were some young newlyweds and some 20’s and 30’s and some seniors but over all I would say 40 to 65 mostly. Since we fall right into the middle of that group we loved it but if you are in your early 20’s and looking to party there is plenty of opportunity just as long as you understand that while you are talking Lady Ga Ga the rest of the group will most likely be talking Woodstock. Just wanted to point that out.
I could go on for hours about how much we loved this place, we have been to 5 star all inclusive resorts all over the Caribbean and love them all for different reasons, but for pure relaxation this place is it for us and we can’t wait to get back, either November of this year or February of next year. If you have any specific concerns or questions we would be happy to help.

Room Tip: This is a little tricky depending on what you are there for, the verandah rooms are huge and quite c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bonnswiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our experience at this resort was fantastic. We were treated very well from the day of arrival to our departure day. The staff are very courteous, friendly and have your needs their priority no matter how busy they are. The food was delicious and plentiful. We had a wonderful vacation and are definitely planning to return. Thank you to all staff and management for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Beachfront Suite on Block B- nice rooms, beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was our second visit to this resort and it was better than the first. There is not much else that I can say that has not been said over and over again. We love the beachfront room for their location and size. The staff are amazing, and one of the biggest reason why we will return. Sunset Beach is amazing and great for meeting new friends. The weather was not perfect, but it was not bad either. We will be returning next year again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtle040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We spent ten relaxing days at this small, all-inclusive resort. The staff was friendly and eager to go the extra mile to ensure our comfort and enjoyment. The food ranged from good to excellent. The accommodations were comfortable and clean. Some may find the long ride to and from the airport to be an inconvenience. However, we appreciated the opportunity to view the landscapes and seascapes during our 1st visit to the beautiful island of Jamaica. We look forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: Because this is a small resort with limited facilities for indoor, daytime activity, it might be wis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AttyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our first time in Jamaica. We flew in on a Sunday around 12 p.m. - customs was very long. Once through we found the Couples lounge - the wait was only about 20 minutes before our bus ride to San Souci - it was around 1 1/2 hrs - not bad. We checked in easily with a cool towel and a glass of champagne. We had a beach front suite - 2nd floor - A-16. We both agreed we would try to get the same room on future visits. The food was good, the activities were a nice touch - even though our activity consisted of laying around in the sun on a float. The drinks were great - the pool was just warm enough - and the beach was clean and relaxing. Finding a lounge either at a pool or on the beach was never a problem. The rooms are very Jamaican - not all marble and tile - we have stayed at these kind of large - beautiful resorts - there is something very comforting about staying in these smaller - no frills - suites. They are very clean, decorated in a light an airy way, wth great AC and beds. Will be back. My favorite vacation spot hands down.

Room Tip: Beachfront suite - loved the upper floors - 2nd or 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katie3876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.1 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
3.1 km away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,076 reviews
74.9 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
134.1 km away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
134.7 km away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,125 reviews
1.8 km away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing