We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to experience true Jamaica - people, food, beaches, ocean and sun”
Review of Sky Castles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sky Castles
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location to experience true Jamaica - people, food, beaches, ocean and sun”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Welcome to Ochee, the very true and unique experience, if you're not planning to get bored on city beach! Walk around, meet people, try food, go nightclubs, hire a cab, get into the country, see the real Jamaica.

Can't really agree with previous reviews - either things changed since then, or we were lucky or those people had a bad luck,

Skycastles at Columbus Heights is actually an ideal place to stay at Ochee - it's not in the center of the city, where all sorts of tourists wandering around, and it's not far from all points of interest. It's a bit up the hill, so you get your very own ocean view from above. 5 minutes walk and you're in the middle of the busy street with shops, craftmarkets, restaurants and all. The beach is right there.

Our apartment had everything you need - 2 rooms with one bedroom, TV set, free wi-fi, shower, small kitchenette, ceiling fans, aircon, balcony and pool right by the building. The rooms were clean and comfortable and maintained by daily maid service. We were told the maid could even cook for us something local, but we didn't have chance to try it - you don't seat much and eat at home in Jamaica.

Jennifer, the host, is truly hearty and welcoming person. She helped us in every way, starting from complex communication prior to booking, using emails, phone calls, Skype, Western Union transfers and everything. Arranged taxi transfer from Kingston to Ochee. When we arrived, she was not only meeting us at the doors, but even provided us with some very convenient grocery at that moment and local mobile phone (!). If you are a friendly person, you might get a chance to see things and places tourists usually don't see - Jennifer could take you on her own transport to show beautiful local beaches, villages and people. We were truly amazed with our vacation in Ochee, we didn't expect such wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    7
    3
    5
    12
See reviews for
9
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I am not sure what the financial situation is with Sky Castles is at this time. This once immaculate complex looks rundown and unmaintained. The pool looked as if it had been unused for months. No pool chairs, rusted railings, broken lighting, very disappointing. A can of paint and some work is needed asap. Landscaping is still as beautiful as it ever was. Great views never are a disappointment.
The apartment was clean, housekeeper was never actually seen during our stay, nor was the office open at any point during our stay. Unit was lacking...everything! One bowl, one spoon, no light bulbs, broken cabinents. I was glad I packed our own towels and pillows.
Be prepared to wait when you arrive, as nobody was around to check us in. Even after a reminder email the day before to ensure someone would be there. Not alot to ask. Columbus Heights staff were very helpful, to try to reach a Sky Castles employee by phone for us.
We were very disappointed, as we have been staying at either this property or Columbus Heights each time we have travelled to Ocho Rios. I would reccomend chosing Columbus Heights until the financial investment for improvements happen at Sky Castles.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a unit overlooking the pool, on the secon level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mbjiswheremyheartis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Firstly i would like to say "Don't ever make the mistake of booking this hotel"

Secondly the pictures that you see of the hotel bare no real resemblance to the sad state of the hotel in reality..

I have travelled to Jamaica and enjoyed each and every moment until i visited this hotel. After spending thousands of pounds to enjoy a short time on holiday with my family this hotel gave us an expensive holiday from hell. Not only is it a rundown filthy mess to stay in at the best of times but infact just staying there and getting what you have clearly overpaid for in the first place they find difficult. However if they can be bothered at all to give you accommodation that you have already paid for in the first place then I'm sorry guys but thats all you can expect. More importantly because they just don't care you might just end up in a totally different place or even room to what you have booked e.g: An apartment can turn into a tiny box room with not enough beds before your very eyes or you may just find that you are homeless in Jamaica.. But don't panic because you are only homeless in a different country thousand of miles from home where you know nobody faced with the prospect of spending the night alone and isolated in darkness in the middle of nowhere with your kids without even anyway of calling home and when faced with there actions they will just lie though there teeth just not to give back your hard earned money..

*When we arrived there was nobody to welcome us.

*The room we had paid for in advance they did not have available for us.

*There was only one employee and we were lucky to have crossed paths with her as she was going home. She was rude and unhelpful and just didn't care and thats just when she is not handing out parental guidance encouraging us to neglect our children by putting our very young children in a different room some distance away from us by them selfs unattended and out of sight all because they are trying to claw there way around the room we had booked initially that they did not have..

As a result we had to spend a further £3000+ to stay in other hotels though out our holiday, I could go on but I think this is enough to see how inadequate this hotel is.

First Choice and Beds Online We want our money back!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Par1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I'm a Jamaican, and I'm completely embarrassed that this place offers accommodation to the public. First....one is greeted by a parking lot that has an old parked car with tyres flat, parked for God knows how long...not a good look...

Room (Unit D2) was dirty when we checked in. Apart from that the bathroom was in an awful state, with cracked tiles and a rotting counter-top. Bed lumpy. Furnishings cheap and tacky. Fridge and stove rusty, and the stove would not even boil water after 20 minutes...go figure. The walkway to the apartment was unlit and dark and unsafe. Complaints to management yielded only the response that they were full. Late in the evening, we discovered there was no iron, and there was only one wash rag for two people, so nothing could be done, because the front office was closed. After the first night, we checked out and management yelled at us that they were still going to charge both nights on my card, because while the room needed some work, the appliances worked and and the bathroom sink was usable. I didn't care. I could not and would not stay there another night! We left and went to Sea Palms where we got a much better room on the beach for J$9,000 instead of the J$8,000 being charged by SkyCastles for that dump of a room! Because the units are individually owned, there is no uniformity and they don't seem to insist that owners maintain the apartments to a prescribed standard. It's pretty much hit or miss. I would never ever return to Skycastles, and I would recommend that you avoid it unless you are into gambling...because it is a gamble what experience you will get. However, what is certain is that the management has no business being in the hotel business, as their attitude is downright rude and confrontational.

Room Tip: Tip - Don't book there...go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arawak_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast/JA
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Hands down, one will not see a view as beautiful anywhere else but at Skycastles and Columbus Heights. The views offered from the units here are what won me over.

Skycastles and Columbus Heights share the same grounds, and there are many clusters of units each with their own pool. There is a tennis court and commissary (directly above the main office at Skycastles). As these units are individually owned, the furnishings and upkeep will vary. I have stayed in different units each trip back to Skycastles/Columbus Heights and have not had an undesirable unit to date.

The only thing that some would consider a downfall is the hike - guests that do not have a car literally have to hike up and down a series of semi-steep hills to get to and from the property and main road. For me this was a bonus as it was my daily exercise, but for those with bad knees or limited mobility keep this in mind.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RingPonMiFinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Sky Castles feels like home. You have maid service thats cleans weel & can cook even better. The location is great across from Margaritaville.

Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelleChele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

locals hanging about and doing drugs around the pool. one of the locals even tried to sexually abuse me in the pool, not to mention followed me to my room and continued to bother me throughout my stay (myself being 14 at the time!). place was filthy dirty. only positives were the staff were friendly, great views and good food.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debz-1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.4 km away
Marine View Hotel
Marine View Hotel
#31 of 35 in Ocho Rios
15 reviews
1.4 km away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#17 of 35 in Ocho Rios
274 reviews
2.3 km away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#13 of 35 in Ocho Rios
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
170 reviews
0.4 km away
Fisherman's Point Resort
Fisherman's Point Resort
#29 of 35 in Ocho Rios
208 reviews
2.3 km away
The Suites Ocho Rios
The Suites Ocho Rios
#4 of 19 in Ocho Rios
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Castles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Castles

Property: Sky Castles
Address: Columbus Heights, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sky Castles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury penthouse features spectacular panoramic view of the harbor and town of Ocho Rios. Sip on a cup of Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee while watching the cruise ships roll into the Ocho Rios port from your own private gazebo. All the rooms have its own private gazebo with an unobstructed view of the Caribbean ocean and the town of Ocho Rios. At Sky Castle, you have the best of both worlds, high security with intimate privacy and yet a short walk to the center of all the shopping, major attractions and nightlife. The property is less than a ten minute drive to Dunn's River Falls, Fern Gully, Shaw Park Gardens, Dolphin Cove, Mystic Mountain and several other major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sky Castles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Castles Hotel Ocho Rios
Sky Castles Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing