We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but nothing extraordinary”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing extraordinary”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I travel often, however, this was our first time in Jamaica. This resort is nice but we are not too impressed. The view was breathtaking, however, the service in the hotel is on and off. There were times when we waited for them clear our table for what it looked like forever; we were done with our soups and almost with the main course while our empty soup dishes were still on the table making it all cluttery and messy. The wait staff would just pass by and not even notice; we had to stop them and ask to take the dishes away. Other than that and bugs on the first floor hallway and elevator (we were on the forth floor with ocean view), we had no complaints. The beach is awesome and so are the two pools. At the time of our visit (early April) there was ample space and lounge chairs to enjoy and get your tan on. All in all, we had a good time regardless of the above mentioned. After all, we were on vacation and wanted to relax with our friends. If you can tolerate the deficiency in service, then you will have a nice time enjoying what this beautiful beach has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoVacationers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,013
    729
    213
    97
    44
See reviews for
39
2,425
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Admittedly, we read review after review of many Jamaica resorts before deciding on CTI. There were a few that worried us, about different things like ants, dated rooms, etc. Luckily most of the reviews were positive and didn't complain about things like the wind, some rain, a ride from the airport and other things that the resort can't really control.

This place was absolutely the most relaxing resort we have ever been to. Is the beach as long as those in Negril? No, but you will not be hounded by vendors or anyone from the outside public either. Are there ants? We found one, in 6 days. Is there wind? There was a breeze every day, a red flag 3 days, but so many activities are available you just need to be flexible and not on such a stringent schedule - this is Jamaica mon!

The restaurants were great! 8 Rivers and Bayside were fantastic. Smaller portions, but excellent food. Verandah was a little disappointing just due to the fact that the servers that night weren't too excited - compared to other staff. But the food was excellent. The Patio restaurant buffet is amazing - the selection of salads, fruits, breads, desserts were all amazing. Very interesting and unique Jamaican entree's also.

The drink were always great, ask for premium liquor if you wish. The beach - stunning, always chairs available. Don't be like a few losers and set your towel on a chair at 7am and not show up until 3pm, that's just rude!!! Snorkeling was great, catamaran lots of fun (sit up front to get soaked!!!), Dunn's River was refreshing and something you have to experience. The island beautiful and relaxing, and just no pressure or hurry by anyone.

If you expect things to happen quickly here, you might be disappointed. They definitely made us relax, which we needed. Everything was truly 'no problem'. Visit San Souci, the trips happen M-W-F from about 930-400... SS has a beautiful resort as well, just some different tastes, but equally nice.

Our room at CTI was a 2room suite and definitely worth the price!!! If you think of everything included in the price, the cost was amazing! And having the extra space is always nice. Met some very cool people here, from newlyweds to those who have been coming for over 30 years. Everyone is approachable and you just need to speak up and say hello!

Had the 30 minute couples massage, you have to try it!!! Say hello to the parrots, don't worry about the shopping trip, as there are opportunities at the resort to buy souveneirs without the pressure.

We cannot wait to go back! Contacting a couple we met here now to plan our trip next year! You will not be disappointed, if relaxing is your goal.

Room Tip: Ocean view room, building 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anderl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here the last week of March. Everyone else seems to love it here but we thought it was just OK. We are only 30, but generally like a quiet, restful vacation. We were celebrating our anniversary but it was not acknowledged by the resort.

We were in the 4th building on the 1st floor (4101 I think). The room was noisy as it was across from the elevator and right outside the housekeeper's headquarters. We heard carts banging and loud conversations from 8am to about 5 pm. Our room was also situated in front of the pool bar which meant music and drunk people yelling out while taking shots. However, our room was somewhat peaceful from about 6pm until the next morning.

The food and drinks at the resort are delicious. The buffet had a nice variety, loved the Poolside Grille the best. My husband was eating jerk chicken and fries everyday! I did not like the restaurant reservation system. We arrived on Sat and were told we could not get a dinner reservation for our anniversary on Sun. When we did have a reservation at Bayside, we had to wait 30 min for a seat.

We did enjoy the activities and music. Katie and Garicia were great! Do not miss the Steel band. They were amazing and extremely talented. Dunns River Falls was nice but they are attempting to hustle you from the moment the resort shuttle drops you off. They approach in the parking lot, ask your name, then carve it into a wooden trinket and try to make you purchase it. They were also pretty forceful in getting you to purchase the DVD and pics from the Falls.

Overall, I do not think I will be returning to Couple's Resort or Jamaica. There is something for everyone and this was not for us. I think this resort is more for the couple that likes to party (which is OK) not us. Lesson learned :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have to admit, it's tough for me to describe Couples Tower Isle as a 'resort' (considering it's cozy size) but if you're looking for a romantic, compact place to stay with minimal walking, then this is the place for you!

I also can't help but mention that while this is considered a 'no tipping' hotel, by all means, please do tip the wait staff, bartenders, maids, watersport staff and other helpful personnel. Tipping is best handled discreetly (tucking a dollar bill into your palm and shaking the hand of your bartender is pretty much the only way they will accept a tip) and while it's not expected -- and even flat our refused if you are too obvious about it -- we found that it meant quite a lot to everyone we encountered. This is a very hard-working, very eager to please staff, and going the extra step to tip means a lot to them and is an excellent way to show your appreciation.

The beach, while short in length, still allows for a nice stroll to stretch your legs and feel the waves lapping at your feet -- and you're never too far from your room if you need to run up for a forgotten item or just need a little time out of the sun. That being said, the bathrooms around the pool and beach area are superbly clean! So running up to the room to use a more clean, comfortable bathroom was never an issue (the ladies will know what I mean!) I would certainly say that you'll want to request a top floor room, and preferrably in building #4 (the building closest to the swim-up bar and wedding ceremony area) as the hotel does sit surprisingly close to a road that can be somewhat noisy with braking trucks at varying times throughout the day. In addition, the distance from the 'main' areas of the hotel (while short) will also allow for better sleeping since it sits furthest from the buffet and restaurants (the buffet doubles as a stage and dance area into the night with steel drum bands and various other musical acts).

There are not a ton of planned activities, and I certainly wouldn't describe this as a 'party atmosphere' hotel, but there's enough to assure you'll keep boredom at bay should you wish to stay up late (each night offers something different such as a bonfire on the beach or a movie on the beach). Also, keep your eyes peeled for the rooftop martini bar, which is sort of a hidden feature. The food has a wide variety, and unlike other all-inclusive resorts we've experienced, we never tired of the food -- and felt the quality was superb! It's certainly more than the usual cheese pizza, hot dogs and burgers, though if you want that, it's still available.

If you've never been to Sans Souci, certainly take advantage of the opportunity to 'day swap' and try out the resort. It's only a few minutes drive from Tower Isle (transportation, of course, is provided) and it has a completely different feel. I will warn you that there are LOTS of stairs, so if you have a hard time getting around -- or are not in the mood for climbing to various levels of the resort -- then you may want to skip the visit. At least for our style, we definitely preferred the more 'posh' feel of Tower Isle -- and especially preferred the views.

Another feature we really appreciated was the 24 hour computer room where you could check your e-mail and use the internet for no additional fee. So staying in touch with loved ones back home was always easy and hassle-free. Also, there are photographers around the resort who take pictures of you at various times and you can check out the photos in the Photoshop if you're interested in purchasing them. They also offer a complimentary photo session with one of the photographers if you're interested in setting up a time. There's no obligation to buy any of the photos, but while traveling as a couple, it allows you to capture some great moments with your other half without having to stop everyone you see to ask if they can take a picture of you together in some of your favorite spots.

Be sure to say hello to Mike (the friendly 'paddle board guy' you'll see selling shells in the ocean each day) and buy a shell or two if you're so inclined. Everyone was so very kind and truly seemed to enjoy making your stay as wonderful as possible. We can't say enough positive things about this resort! And we will certainly return very soon!

Room Tip: Building furthest from the buffet (top floor or high floor would offer the best views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachyKeen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This place is incredible, from the time you check in until the time you leave, the staff make us feel like part of their family. From the bellmen, front desk crew, customer service, and housekeepers to the waterfront staff, waiters, cooks, and of course the bartenders, Mr. Henry should be proud of his crew, as they are the reason we'll keep calling CTI home for our vacation. Even he remembered us from last year's repeaters' dinner as we were lucky enough to be asked to sit with him. This year he waved us over and asked to join him for coffee and dessert at the beach party.

If you can't have a great time here, you just can't have a great time. You can be as busy as you wish with the great activities offerred, you can be as laid back as you desire, or you can fall anywhere in between. It's hard to believe that some reviewers complain about waiting at Customs, the long drive from the airport, the length of the beach, etc. I'm sure that they would also complain about the noise of the airplanes if they stayed at a place next to the airport, and the vendors that would invade the beach if it was attached to other neighboring beaches. (although I have heard that they've ordered a bigger beach and that it's being delivered next week) The chronic complainers should just take the boat ride over to the island, take their clothes off, and really discover what relaxing is all about.

These are the people I go on vacation to avoid, so I can meet new people who like to enjoy themselves, take things in stride, and basically just "chillax". I can think of no place better than CTI to just do that. My wife and I are in our 50's and this year we met up with several honeymooning couples who were just a pleasure to meet and enjoy our week with. There is something nice to be said about the next generation.

Again, CTI is the place to go for relaxation, to meet wonderful people from around the world, to enjoy fabulous food, refreshing cocktails, and to learn the definition of vacation!

Everything Irie!

Room Tip: Gotta stay oceanside, If I wanted woods, I'd be camping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimlinfusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Couples Tower Isle is truly "home"!

We booked this vacation sort of last minute with our tax return $. We booked a Deluxe Ocean Front room and upon arrival we were upgraded three tiers to the Ocean Front Junior Suite!!!

It was a beautiful room!!! Always cleaned in the morning after we left, and turndown service came when we went to dinner!

The staff as always was top notch, as a matter of fact, when we saw a couple of staff members at the bar that we knew, they were happy to see us, hugged us and remembered our names!!!! They treat you like you are a part of their family and you feel so happy and welcome each and every day.

The food was spectacular ... again!!! I love the pumpkin soup they serve.. I can't find anything close to it here in the states!!

They have started a little "night club" one night a week as an activity at the bay restaurant.. which is really cool because it is open and you are outside dancing the night away!!

perfect every time we go there!! can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachprincess71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our first trip to Jamaica. We typically travel to Mexico, but my husband and I (early 30s) decided we wanted to try something different this time. We chose Couples Tower Isle after much research on Trip Advisor and discussion with our travel agent. We were considering Couples San Souci and The Jewel at Dunn's River Falls. We finally settled on CTI because it seemed like a better fit for us as a couple and was a good value for the quality. We visited March 31 to April 7, 2012 during our schools' spring break time for Easter. We arrived early in the morning and breezed quickly through customs and immigration at the airport. We easily found the Couples lounge and we were the only ones there initially, so we sat at the bar to have a refreshing drink after the flight. We waited maybe 30 minutes and then were escorted out to the bus to take us to our resort. We traveled with three other couples - 2 were heading to San Souci and we with another couple were headed to CTI. The other couples had previously visited CTI and CSS and spoke very positively of their experiences. The bus ride was about 2 hours (with two stops along the way). It was a nice ride as you get to see the country. When we arrived at the resort we were greeted by the bell hop who took our bags and offered us a drink (we ordered a rum punch). We were promptly escorted to our room on the main floor (4112). It was an ocean view room and definitely worth the slight extra cost to upgrade. The room was adequate for our needs and included a mini fridge with soda, beer and wine/champagne (that you could request). You could also request alcohol and they bring you a whole bottle. We didn't drink much of it since you can get it any where on property and we weren't in our room much. I liked that they give you a reusable water bottle which you can fill up at the fountains located in the hallways and around the resort. The only things I didn't like about the room was that the bathroom mirror got steamed up since the sink, toilet and shower are all in the one room together and the bed (it was hard as a rock!!)

The first day we spent some time exploring the property, although its very small so that didn't take long! We were there to relax so it was fine not to be walking all over to get to things on the property anyway. There are two pools, although we only went to the one with the swim up bar. They have pool floats that sit on top of the pool chairs so you can hang or lounge in the pool. The pool drinks were good and people were fond of ordering the Bob Marley shot at the bar (be warned it tastes gross - like you are drinking mouth wash and it burns doing down). The service was slow at times, but remember you are on Jamaican time!! The restaurants were very good and we liked the food especially at Eight Rivers and Bayside restaurants. Be warned that if you plan to make a reservation at Eight Rivers, men need long pants - they won't let you in without them. My husband didn't bring long pants so we had to go to the gift shop and purchase some. I didn't want to miss out on the experience at Eight Rivers and it was worth the investment. We didn't always enjoy the breakfast in the morning as it was a buffet. We would have preferred a sit down meal for breakfast and have the option of ordering what we wanted. The lunch was good at the snack bar. The jerk chicken and pork, meat pockets and fish sandwich were all delicious.

The night time entertainment was okay. They typically had a live band playing each night. We often chose to go to the piano bar and enjoyed the piano sing along later in the evening. The activities were wonderful during the day. We climbed Dunn's River Falls, which was a very cool experience. We also went out on the Hobie Cat, Catamaran cruise (booze cruise) and the glass bottom boat. I would recommend all of them. We also wanted to do scuba and kayaking, but didn't get to it. They also had beach volleyball and a number of other activities that we didn't do, but seemed fun.

We met some really nice people who were vacationing at the resort and overall the employees seemed friendly and accommodating. We didn't like that the policy at the resort is not to tip the servers and other staff as this was uncomfortable and I bet if we had, we would have received even better service!

Overall, the resort was small and quiet. We had a nice relaxing time, but we will probably head back to Mexico in the future. We prefer the Mexican culture, food and larger resorts.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room. It is worth the small increase in price. We stayed in 4112 which was a th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinDAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
4.2 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
3.1 km away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,827 reviews
137.2 km away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,540 reviews
13.2 km away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
7.0 km away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing