We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,242)
Filter reviews
2,242 results
Traveller rating
1,342
516
205
91
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,342
516
205
91
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloud barflow riderresort creditawe spawater journeykonoko fallsla gondolavacation plannersmomo restaurantpresidential suitegondola restaurantpalace membersclub noirdiamond conciergemartini barpublic relationsdolphin experience
Filter
Updating list...
973 - 978 of 2,242 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017

I was immensely impressed with the hotel service and staff. The breakfast selection was fantastic. The À la cart restaurants food was incredible served with a smile. The 24hour coffee shop was a favourite spot to hang out and chill with a delicious coffee and a nuaghty cake. You will see me again for sure.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank govindbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Dear govindbennett,

We are highly appreciative of the time invested to pen such a remarkable review. Our team is filled with excite to have learnt that our restaurants selection were fantastic and the food was incredibly enticing, likewise our coffee shop which was your most favorite chill spot during your time spent with us. As we assiduously work towards constantly developing our services and facilities we are grateful that whilst vacationing at our beautiful Resort this was immensely appreciated by you our valued guests. We excitedly await your return upon which it will be our pleasure to create an even more splendid ambiance than that which you experienced during your previous visit.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2017

My family just returned from staying at the Moon Palace and we had a great family vacation. The resort was nice and very clean. The food was standard all-inclusive food at the buffet. We had great meals at the steak restaurant and the seafood restaurant. The food was good at the Italian place but the service was very slow for the small portions of food. We did a Chukka excursion to the Blue Hole, Tubing the White river, ATV's and zip lining and we had a fantastic time. The Blue Hole was our favorite. Also did the catamaran trip to Dunns River Falls and snorkeled on the way. Not great snorkeling but the catamaran ride and the falls were great. Our boys swam with the dolphins and really liked that. Be careful, the photos are very expensive but good quality. Our boys also spent a lot of time on the flow rider. Their favorite part of the resort was the gourmet corner that served ice cream, sweets and crepes and was open for 24 hours. They loved Dalton and were excited to see him every night. We would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank omahanebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Dear omahanebraska,

Our team at Moon Palace Jamaica is filled with joy to have been in receipt of your review describing your great family vacation achieved with us. We are sincerely grateful that the features of our breath-taking Resort was well enjoyed by members of the family, additionally it was an absolute pleasure to be enlightened of the great experience achieved through the excursions offered. Our dolphins are quite entertaining and as sch we are happy that the boys had a blast with them. The team members and departments to have made such an outstanding contribution to your memorable vacation will be positively highlighted for their first class services extended. We are thrilled to have met your expectations and patiently await your return where our piece of paradise will become your home away from home once more.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2017

Great value. Wonderful service. Beautiful resort. We will be back as soon as we can. Pools were clean and warm. Staff made us feel like royalty. Food was good. Room service every morning for breakfast and pool service all day. Loved it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tinae765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Dear tinae765,

It is with tremendous gratification to be in receipt of your review expressing your phenomenal vacation attained. We are more than pleased that your visit was well worth the money as we aim endlessly to ensure that all our guests leave having the time of their life by exceeding their every expectation. Thank you for the acknowledgement of our wonderful service, clean pools, and exceptional staff who contributed profoundly to your experience with us extending nothing less than that of royalty treatment. The areas mentioned in your review who offered delightful services whilst staying with us will most definitely be applauded and encouraged to keep up this trend. Thank you for selecting us as your preferred vacation destination, we would be humbled to be given the opportunity of hosting you to future magnificent vacations.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

Let me say first that the hotel is beautiful, very comfortable rooms, lobby is beautiful. But, there is nothing 'Jamaican' about this place. The people are scripted- you won't hear the 'no problem' or 'yeah mon' you would expect. No music playing anywhere except the center pool at any point until the morning we left. There is no local flavor to speak of at all. We missed that on this trip as opposed to prior trips to Jamaica.

Positives: the kids club was great. One of the nicest i have seen at any of the resorts I've been to. The downside of it is that the splash play area is completely fenced off- so a little bit of a hassle to get to because you have to go through the playroom to get there. My daughter is 6 and she really enjoyed the playroom and activities.

The jerk chicken at the poolside grill is great, definitely try it! Buffet at breakfast was good, lots of selections for lunch and dinner too.

Great location in Ocho Rios, convenient to everything and a nice beach. Walking distance to craft market if you want to brave it and do some serious price haggling (hint- don't buy blue mountain coffee at hotel or craft market. Overpriced at hotel and fake at craft market).

Negatives:
The tours are RIDICULOUSLY overpriced. You are better off taking a taxi and paying admission on your own. Mystic mountain with bobsled was a rip off. Half price at the actual attraction plus the wait for the bobsled was so long we could only ride once, not the twice we paid for. Also left no time for pool or nature walk. Get there on your own and spend more time if you are doing that tour. Same with the falls. Costs double through hotel. Costs $22 and you still get a guide if you get there in a taxi or private car. $50 per person through hotel and then you are tied to their schedule. We were pretty unhappy both times. We also were less than pleased when we let the vacation planner know we were wide open on schedule and had 7 days there, and asked about crowds and ship schedule. Ships in port 2 days that week. They booked us on falls tour the day the largest ship was in port. It was very crowded. Make sure you are more explicit than we apparently were on going on a day with NO ships in port, and don't tour on a national holiday either to avoid crowds.

There are never enough chairs at pool or beach. We looked from our balcony as early as 7 am and a number of chairs were loaded with towels and the people were nowhere to be found. This went on all through the day. Very frustrating that this was allowed.

Food and drink service is SLOW. Poolside and at restaurants. We waited over an hour for a cheeseburger and some tortilla chips one day around 5pm. Insane. The last evening we were there, we were packing and decided to just get room service. 2 hours and 20 minutes! Normal delivery time was 30-45 min. We had room service a number of times, and it was generally fine but something was missing or not right every single time. Double check your orders to be sure. We ate at Gondola one night. Not good. Food (steak and fish) were completely overcooked and dried out. We sat for an hour or so waiting for it. My daughter's spaghetti came out and we found a long piece of plastic filament- almost like fishing line. We sent it back and showed the server. They didn't offer to make a new one, didn't apologize and we NEVER saw a manager. Momo was just ok. It was salty, lots of butter and oil. Skip the salmon-small, frozen, and tasted overly fishy. Wasn't good.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Dear Leslie R,

Our team is ecstatic having been in receipt of your amazing review. We are overjoyed to be made aware that your daughter was highly enthused by our Playroom which kept her fully engaged, likewise the variation of food options on our buffet which kept your taste buds satisfied throughout your stay with us. As we aim to offer unparalleled service to our valued guests we duly note the concerns highlighted throughout your review and will make the necessary adjustments upon assessments in order to mitigate these occurrences. Be assured that your less than spectacular experiences are not our intention as we focus on creating the most phenomenal memorable overall vacation experience. We are deeply saddened to have learnt of these experiences had on our property and hope that this will not deter a future visit. At Moon Palace Jamaica we look forward to having all our guests return in order to make their getaway more tremendous than that of you last. We would be grateful to be given this opportunity of hosting you once more where we our goal it to deliver only that of first class service to you and your wonderful.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017

All the staff are so friendly and hospitable, like all the Palace resorts the service is A+. Just wish that it was closer to the airports. But once you get there be ready to have a great time and don't forget your water shoes if you plan to go more than 20 feet into the ocean.

Room Tip: Tower 1 has the best view, all rooms face the ocean.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tetitotejada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear tetitotejada,

We are absolutely ecstatic having been in receipt of you wonderful review. Our team works assiduously to ensure that the epitome quality of service is delivered throughout all our facilities ad services. The ultimate satisfaction of our guests is our main objective as a Resort. In doing so we look forward to making each vacation experience more delightful than that of their last ,hence we patiently await your response to extend the 'wow' factor to you our valued guest.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews