We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
188
290
111
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
290
111
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast sweet spot low wall hot water ice machine italian cafe ocean front hotel property sugar cane oceanfront room per day us dollars security staff always felt safe west end ricks cafe roots
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 639 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2011

A perfect size hotel for a quiet retreat. At a great location with amenities that not all quaint hotels in Negril offer. Good housekeeping but was a bit too much maintenance. There was always maintenance staff working around the facility that took away a bit of relaxation. Other than that, it was a nice, clean and more modern of the hotels along the 7 mile beach.

Date of stay: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yersters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2011

i came to negril jamaica by myself and stayed from june 18th to 25 this was my first came coming to jamaica on the own the last time i came here i was 7 months old. i love how this hotel is right on the 7 mile beach and a lot of restaurants bars and clubs nearby. the room i stayed in was very nice flat screen tv , air conditioner, hairdryer, safe the bathroom was really nice glas shower doors and hot water . the rooms were cleaned daily and the towels were changed everyday and i also left little gifts and tips for the maids everyday. my only complaint is that they didnt have a refrigerator or microwave in the room.the staff was very friendly and accomodating i befriended on of the bartenders ( kelvin) he was very nice and he drove me to church on my second day and i rented a cellphone from him, he also does tours so if anyone comes to rooms ask for him. he also took me to a soundsystem/ beach party in norman manley park near the crafts market which was off the hook people really know how to party in jamaica my week in jamaica was quite an experience, i didnt want to leave .

i did the ocho rios /dunns river falls and y.s falls day tours and i had so much fun y.s falls is really beautiful the falls are really beautiful and reminds of of a tropical jungle or rainforest and i loved the drive to both places. the climb up dunns river falls was awesome as well and i loved the ruins at the falls restaurant and the shopping at the taj mahal shopping centre. i highly recommend both tours . jamaica has so many beautiful beaches/ mountains,etc.. and i have never seen a place with so much water and land and goats,lol. the people are very friendly and outgoing and vendors can be aggresive to get you to buy things but tell them no thank you and they will leave you alone. i did have a hard time on my first day because i was there alone and i guess the men/ vendors could tell that i was there by myself and would keep trying to proposition me but as the days went by it got better i also did the jetski went to ricks cafe to see the divers and the sunset and i also went to a couple of restaurants in negril, miss sonias, sweet spice, juici j's, 3 bites, best in the west etc. the 7 mile beach is really beautiful the water is very clear and i saw a couple of stingrays at the bottom of the water, cool. i also went to jungle nightclub with a couple of people at the resort and another local that i befriended and we really hit it off we went swimming together, ricks cafe and when we were together no one bothered or messed with me and we also went shopping together because i was with him i didnt get charged the tourist rate whenever we took taxis or went shopping together. the jungle nightclub was really hype party doesnt start until after 12am and it gets really crowded and there are two floors i had a blast when i went there. the men in negril there are very aggressive and if walking on the beach or on the road alone you will be approached every 5 minutes and yes it is annoying so if your not interested say so and they will back off.
my advice to single ladies whether you are traveling alone or in pairs is not to go off with men that you just met or not sure about if they tell you that they can take you to the hills or see the countryside or to their house . dont go off with them even if the guy is fine as hell. everyone wants sex down there, so be careful and protect yourselves . there are reputable tour companies/drivers that can do tours with you like JTL ( jamaica tours limited and clive transport tours) . negril is very safe, it is safe to go off the resort and walk around so get out there and dont be afraid to interact with the locals and with the culture , they are so many things to do and see. times square plaza is a good place to go shopping for souvenirs and clothes,etc.. and its better to buy from there instead of the vendors on the beach and in the crafts markets because they will charge 3 times more. overall i would rate this hotel a 4/5 and i would definately come back again and my experience in jamaica was one that i will never forget. i miss jamaica so much and i definately will be back soon

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed at Rooms on the beach for my first two days on Vacation, the staff were great, the room was nice and clean, however my one complaint is that if you run a business back home that requires you to use the internet then this place is not for you, I had to go to the lobby to use the hotel computer which was a disaster, take a guess how many people wanted to use the one computer, which limits your usage, a simple wireless modem strategically placed around the hotel would solve that problem and allow you to use your laptop computer from the comfort of your room.
Like the hotel but would not stay there again because of that reason.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eggshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had a nice stay at this small hotel. Chose it because of the location and were not disappointed. It's really right on the beach with great swimming and snorkeling options. Vendors often approach you, but not in a scary way. You can always get a chair - no need to put your towel down to reserve. Highly recommend the snorkeling boat rides - Moses or Lobster come by the beach and you can sign up with them.
Property is small, clean and very safe. No luxury frills, but good basic bar with solid food (although worth wondering around the beach to try even better places). Staff at the bar was fantastic and had great happy hour drinks.
Our only issue was with getting the room. When 3 of us arrived to check in, they told me that only 2 people can stay because that's what we booked. I told them we are happy to pay a different rate to change to a room with 2 beds, but staff told us they were sold out of those rooms. We then asked about rollaway beds, which they refused. They even made us talk to the manager and she insisted that we must rent 2 rooms. We eventually gave in and rented an additional room - it just wasn't very pleasantly handled. Once I arrived to my room and my friends to theirs we both had largeenough rooms that could have easily fit a rollaway - oh well...
Thankfully we got over this little incident and had a great time. I would go back again for the beach - but will double check the room type on my reservation.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquagirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Just got back from Rooms Negril this morning. I travelled with two girlfriends and my husband and wanted somewhere that was on the beach but within walking distances of clubs, bars and restaurants and Rooms fit the criteria perfectly. Our rooms were immaculate and extremely comfortable and the staff were fantastic, especially Keisha, Gladstone and Kelvin in the restaurant, Keisha the security lady and Andre the assistant manager. The food was very tasty despite alot of the items on the menu not being available! the Security around the hotel was brilliant and they were very thorough about challenging beach sellers who were being a nuisance or non-guests that were entering the hotel. They even took names and reg no. of taxis that you got into at the front gate making you feel very secure.

Within walking distance of Rooms is Jungle night club, Roots Bamboo cafe, Alfreds, Triple xxx club, Sweet Spot restaurant - all giving you the chance to mix with local people which is what a holiday to a foreign country is all about.

A short taxi ride away in downtown Negil was the Rooftop nightclub which was certainly an eye-opener with its Go-Go girls pole-dancing! During the day, downtown Negril is really hectic and burning hot - I'm used to Caribbean downtown town centres but I really didn't like this one but if you need an ATM giving $JA this was the closest place.

We ate at LTU restaurant in the West End and I celebrated my birthday at Ricks Cafe - which was fantastic, watching people jump off the rocks and watching the amazing sunset - I had a fantastic day.

Our only gripe would be that in the hotel, and around the beach area, everything is charged in $US dollars and we had to keep asking for the conversion to $JA.....which was annoying as we neither come from the US or were actually in the US!

All in all, we had the most fantastic time at Rooms and we all said that if we came back to Negril there is nowhere better to stay than here.

Room tip: Ocean-front rooms are highly recommended
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholls9uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews