We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,023)
Filter reviews
6,023 results
Traveller rating
3,843
1,440
441
199
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,843
1,440
441
199
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cabana grill sports complex atrium suite sea grapes patois patio catamaran cruise great house martini bar ultimate chocolate banana stuffed french toast aura lounge feathers restaurant patios patio lemongrass restaurant fish tacos our honeymoon beautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,164 - 1,169 of 6,023 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Couples Swept Away sits on Seven Mile Beach in Negril. The water is absolutely gorgeous & clear blue.

This was our 3rd time visiting a Jamaica resort but 1st time to Negril.
We flew into Montego Bay. I highly recommend purchasing the Mobay Arrival & Departure bundle for $80 pp. (Read my trip advisor review under Mobay departure). Couples has their own lounge when you exit customs, check in there unless you book Mobay. Couples has a bus to take you to your resort (this is included in your package)*Watch your luggage get loaded on the bus, the guide will tell your this as well. The ride is about an hour and a half, you will make stop about 45 minutes in at a roadside bar to stretch your legs (use the restroom or grab a drink). You will pass through 5 parrishes(towns) I believe, our driver gave us a brief history or story about the parrish.
Upon arrival you need to see your luggage off of the bus (tip your drive-they do not work for Couples), but Couples bell hop will bring it to your room once you finish checking in. Couples is a no tipping resort and a no cash resort. They will put a $300 hold with your credit card and if you make purchases it just goes on your room charge...no cash.

They do orientation at 10am and 5 pm, we highly recommend it so you don't miss anything and you know where everything is located.

We stayed in an atrium suite on the second floor, there were only 4 units in our building. We had a garden view and the tree frogs chirping put us to sleep every night. You will have an in room safe, mini fridge, large closet, air conditioning, ceiling fan. The bathroom in the atrium is a 3/4 wall, king bed was very comfortable (firm mattress). The atrium has solid glass with wood louvers on one wall, but the rest of the louvers have screens. The atrium patio is huge with a hammock and couch, lights (reading lights) ceiling fan. We did not use much bug spray but pack some (Target sells OFF in a tube the size of a Tide pen).
Feathers & Lemon Grass are reservation only, we ate at both-food was good but we prefer to not be held to a scheduled time to eat. Walk up- no reservation-Patios is a la carte and Palms is a la carte plus buffet (nightly entertainment is usually here starting around 9pm).

From 11am-6pm there are 2 cafes: Seagrapes is near Palms and the pool, right on the beach. They change the menu slightly each day but they always have fish tacos...delicious!! This is a veggie bar too.
The other is located near the swim up pool bar and Patios they have your grill choices and awesome jerk chicken. I'm gluten free so I would stop before they opened and let the chef know I would be back around noon for gluten free jerk chicken.
If you have any kind of allergy you just let the server know and a chef will come to your table and go over the menu with you. I asked for some gluten free bread one morning, they didn't have it but did for lunch. I had omelets every morning but I was told I could request GF items with a days notice. There is always tons of fresh fruit too.

Couples gives you water bottles in your room when you arrive, we used them but we also packed our insulated mugs for the beach RTIC, YETI- good idea to bring.

The BEACH IS AWESOME!! You will have vendors walking the beach. Remember that nothing is FREE, do not accept anything from a vendor for free. The resort invites approved vendors in each day (just purchase from them). Do not invite the vendors in to your personal space.

The security guards do a great job, they are very alert to everything on the beach.
We felt extremely safe in Negril and at the resort.

You can walk quite a ways south on the beach (about 2 miles). North is a little tricky, you actually have to go through a park up onto the road after Beaches Resort (I don't recommend it, there are a lot of construction truck up there due to a new resort being built).
Security will take down your room number and name before you leave the resort and you check back in with them when you return.

If you love water sports you picked the right resort. Hobie Cat Waves, paddle board, windsurfing, kayaking, water skiing, snorkeling, scuba diving (almost all are included in your package). The water sports team is a great group.

Across the street is an amazing sports complex. Lap pool, tennis courts, squash courts, racquetball courts, jogging/walking track, fitness center, aerobics room, spa, massage center and smoothy bar.

Check out the daily schedule on the beach near the swim up bar for events. We had a blast basket weaving, hat making, jewelry making, tyed dye shirts....fun, fun, fun. The entertainment team puts on these events, they are a great group of kids.

**If I had to nit pick:
We wish they offered more traditional food for dinner (oxtail, curry goat). Diet Coke is hard to find...it's Diet Pepsi (my husband it's not a Pepsi fan). The breakfast buffet needs real potatoes not frozen hashbrowns.

By the way:
The staff is very friendly, accommodating and willing to help. The general manager is on property and visible - greeting guests and you will see her daily, which is nice to see.

There is so much more that we could share, so please ask questions and we will do our best to answer.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank TravelingwithDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Traveled to couples Swept Away with my wife for my niece's wedding October 4 through the 9th . Luckily Hurricane Mathew missed most of Jamaica at this time and we had a wonderful time and the happy couple had a beautiful wedding. If all inclusive is your thing the food and Drinks were very good but because of storm some of restaurants were not open as a lot of help left resort to take care of their own homes and family . The staff that remained did a wonderful job attending to our needs and wants . The beach is beautiful but public so you will be asked to buy drugs or crafts but resort security does a very good job keeping them from you if you want to be left alone . We had NO ISSUES and enjoyed the water and beach . Beach has a lot of palm trees etc for shade as well as inner part of property . Felt like you were in a jungle if like that kind of atmosphere . We had a beach front Verandah room on 2nd floor and definitely not a 100% view of ocean and beach due to trees . Family were on on 3rd floor of building next to us and they were able to have a full view over palm trees and others . We enjoyed our room and balcony on beach but as a couple's only resort I found it funny they only have one patio chair to look straight out . Hard to get romantic LOL with just one chair . They have a built in concrete small couch but it doesn't face the beach or ocean . Resort is 18 yrs old now and rooms are showing wear but we saw they are renovating some of the buildings so I assume the building we stayed in will be redone eventually . The work being done did not effect our stay . When you land in Montego Bay Couples has a small lounge with Red Stripe on tap and bathrooms to use before your 1.5 hr ride to Negril + or - . They stop about 45 minutes into drive for bathroom break , and to be able to purchase drinks and buy a souvenir and pot if you are into that or not as we are not but they will ask . This was our 3rd time to JAMAICA and first time to Negril . We stayed in Montego Bay at Sandals Royal Caribbean and have visited by Cruise ship. If not for the Wedding we would probably not go back to Negril just because of distance from airport but glad we were able to experience it and Rick's Cafe / cliff diving. Thank you Couples Swept Away for a wonderful visit during hurricane preparation and I would recommend this resort to all couples looking for a romantic getaway but everyone has a different opinion of being swept away . We still like Secrets resorts the best but job well done Couples Swept Away

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Awesome experience all the way around. Service was outstanding, food was very good with good variety. A variety of outdoor activities, all outstanding. Snorkeling, glass bottom boat rides, scuba diving, catamaran sunset cruise
Other fitness activities, not to mention one of the most beautiful beaches in the world

Room tip: Garden Varanda suite rooms were as nice as the beach front rooms, except not facing the beach but not as quiet.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Justjohn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016

So, we wanted to go back to Negril for an occasion vacation. We love Negril and Long Bay, We have stayed at CSA twice before. And stayed at other places twice before. Our first choice was closed for Sept so we decided to go with Couples since we thought we knew what were going to get. Had a bit of apprehension since they had one of their main restaurant venues closed and after we booked learned that they were also renovating rooms. Well, for the price (a hundred dollars a day less than our last stay) and knowing the brand we thought what the heck. We decided to do a split visit and stay at the beach for 4 nights and move to the cliffs for 3 nights. Wound up being a great vacation, indeed.

Everything went very smoothly, which is what you expect by visiting a Couples property. We had a great vacation! We loved our atrium room. We loved the beach that captured us years ago. We had an uneventful check in process. The room, an atrium, was better than expected. We loved our room. It was clean. It was perfect with a "view" of the water. Smack dab in middle of the resort. Due to the time of year and the renovation of so many rooms the resort was pretty quiet, which we liked. There were a lot of honeymooners and saw a number of weddings. There were no groups that we noticed. Overall there was a calm over the resort which we really enjoyed. The beach was fabulous as usual. There was no towel game at all. In fact the beach was pretty much empty, which was fine by us.

We did not do anything much beyond spending time on the beach. We did the catamaran cruise on a beautiful evening. As we hung on the beach we did witness the activities of other guests and they all seemed to taking advantage of the great all inclusive opportunities. It reinforced our decision to leave the all inclusive option as a resort destination because paid for or not we were not doing any of it.

We were there for four nights and all things considered it was enough. We hit up all the dining venues and enjoyed our meals. But nothing stood out as being all that great, although the repeaters dinner was exceptional. While I suppose guests that were first timers did not notice anything different with the kitchen situation we did find that things were not necessarily as good as they were for our other two trips. We are not big breakfast people but the ala carte breakfast was fine and the breakfast buffet was adequate. The in room breakfast was fine, too. Lunch was a disappointment in general. There was the grill, which was fine. There was sea grapes which was fine but kind of blah in general. And a buffet which was less than adequate. Dinner at Feathers on Sat night was very nice. Dinner at Lemongrass on Sunday was very nice. But neither meal was anything memorable. Dinner at the Palms on Tuesday was a disappointment overall. The salad and pasta bar were limited and blah. The entree, we both got the oxtail, was lacking to say the least. Even the presentation was off. Overall we both felt that the food options were not at the standard that we remembered. Dessert quality was lacking in our opinion. There are lots of pretty looking things but nothing was all that great. Did have self serve ice cream for the first time and enjoyed it as a refreshing snack on a hot day.

We went to the Sat night show at the Palms and it was an outstanding show. We went back on Tuesday and it was not quite as good. We went to the piano bar on Monday night. It was packed and it looked like people were having a good time. But we left after one drink. Amateur hour is not our idea of entertainment. We went once the other times we visited and well it is not for us. Other than that we really spent our evenings on our great veranda. We were quite at home in our atrium suite.

They have lots of daily activities set up throughout the resort and we saw many guests enjoying them.

The renovation noise was not a distraction. We liked that we had the original part of the beach to ourselves, pretty much. The grounds were well kept as were the facilities in general. The pool by the Palms seemed to be more of a hanging spot than I recall from our last trips and we spent many a late afternoon lounging in the water. It was a very hot and still week. We were very happy with the ac in our suite. We stopped at the swim up bar a few times. Kind of a cramped feeling at that pool and too much cement for my liking. But we did see people who set up there everyday. So there are fans, for sure. I was surprised that the chairs at sea grapes were downright filthy. I had a white skirt on for lunch one day and I really hesitated to sit down. A power wash is needed, for sure. Also noticed the outside of the building between Lemongrass and the Palms really needs a paint job. Guess it is on the to do list. We walked across the street and find the facilities to be wonderful there. I guess the need to cross the street keeps them from really utilizing that space fully. It is a lovely spot. The vendor issue was nonexistent. Negril is looking great. All the resorts, shops, restaurants and bars look like they are looking refreshed and ready for busy season. The beach is wider than ever and we enjoyed our walks, which is one of the things we love about Negril. The blvd is looking great as well and the addition of the sidewalk a plus.

We felt the service was excellent everywhere at CSA. We never had an issue at any restaurant or bar during our stay. Housekeeping kept the room cleaned each day but the turn down service only happened two of the days we were there. I don't need someone to turn down the bed for me but I do like to have the towels refreshed. The WiFi was definitely lacking in the suite we were in. My husband works while on vacation so that was a bit of an issue. He had to go to the computer center each morning to download his emails which he could then work on at the suite.

As repeaters we were able to reserve our dining for the first two nights in advance and book the cruise ahead as well. We received very nice quality tee shirts. The water bottle was nice to have. We also received a $25 dollar a day credit that we used to get our gifts to bring back home. Since our last trip was so long ago we were not eligible for any other incentives. Our exit from the resort was easy. We just called for our luggage to be picked up and we caught our ride that was pre-arranged by negrilonestop. Before we checked out the lovely woman at reception let us know that we still had a $10 credit so she suggested I head to the Dis and Dat, which I did.

So we gave Couples another try after staying at CSA twice and CSS once and doing other travel in between. We did two other trips to Negril and loved staying at the small boutique resorts. I doubt if we will be going to Couples again. While it is reasonable compared to other all inclusives it is just not our type of travel, in the end, especially to Negril, where everything is close and good and cheap. Our other experiences with all inclusive was at a Sandals, which we were not impressed with, especially considering the cost. The other a Paradisus in Dominican Republic and just never felt the need to repeat there. We enjoyed our three days on the cliffs and will do a split trip when we return to Negril in the future.

We left as the town was preparing for hurricane Matthew and we are happy that it had no effect on Negril.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jcjcnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

We were married at CSA in September. The beach is beautiful and the pictures don't do it justice...it's fabulous! Our wedding was beachfront and they even upgraded our room! The staff is great, they are very accommodating and gracious people. We ate at 4 of the 5 restaurants and all offered different varieties of food. The Palms Restaurant offered a superb dinner buffet and live entertainment and Feathers had beautiful decor and food. Our favorite for breakfast and lunch was Patois, open and airy it had the most variety of food each day. We highly recommend CSA! We will return each year!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Marcy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews