We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Put This On Your Bucket List!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockhouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Put This On Your Bucket List!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This place is fantastic. We stayed in #15 which was what I assume was a older villa but did I care? Heck not. We woke up to Stellar Views of Pristine Cove every morning and jumped off our private Rock into the unbelieveable water! Yes, thank God there wasn't any TV!!!! Who wants TV when you are in Negril? Not Me!!! When you have views of a lifetime and fabulous second hand smoke (tee hee Negril...get it!) why look at the boob tube? Book "Vincents" snorkle trip out to the reef....you won't regret it! Roger and Ahgri and fantastic and take you on a hands on tour of the reef. Saw sea turtles, sting rays, goobs of tropical fish, baracuda and such. The food was fab as was the vibe. Everyone was sweet as could be. Service was devine. Went down the road to 3 Dives one night and ate breakfast at Jus Natural (Calalooo yum, saltfish and aca somethin or other....) Kenesha's brownies (wink) across the street were good too.

Room Tip: On the Rocks. Is about the coolest place I've ever been. And this ole girl gets around. A mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mwsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    182
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
70
598
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I loved this hotel! We didnt want to leave it either! The place is lovely and magical. Set on the cliffs, Rock House has a salt water pool that overlooks the water. I really enjoyed it. The restaurant is on the cliff too. We ate breakfast there everyday. The food is just ok. We walked to Jus natural about 5 minutes away, which is way better. We stayed at a bungalow, which had lots of privacy. We also snorkeled there. They have 2 launch ladders. Just beward of jelly fish, my boyfriend got stung, and the staff didnt have any vinegar. We had to walk next door to a small place to buy some.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertown, CT
Level Contributor
329 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

These guys have mastered the experience of simple casual fun. The atmosphere is relaxed but still attentive and concerned. The food is among the best I have had in the Caribbean and the rooms are cool and private. If you don't have fun at the Rockhouse you are doing something wrong.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaronds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

-We stayed last week, we have mixed feeling, but we would stay again, but ONLY in a PREMIUM VILLA (which is a premium price). Let me explain. Standard room and studios are in the older part of the resort and are NOT updated at all. VERY rustic, No TV, old furniture, bad views, small, tiny bathroom and bathroom door is completely vented so your partner knows all your business while your in there. The only STUDIO room I would recommend is room 28, the room on the end. We checked out the VILLA's. More spacious great views, still rustic. I would only RECOMMEND Villa 10 or any of the PREMIUM VILLA's I believe 1-6. They are the newest villa's.

-I was disappointed no free coffee/tea available to guest anywhere on resort.

-GOOD STUFF: Management team was helpful, we had some other issues with front desk staff, and the room and the GM and Supervisor took the time to listen to our issues and actually discounted our stay, something we did not expect. We appreciated them wanting to make our stay as pleasant as possible and listening to us. I would recommend asking to speaking to them when needed.
-The outside space is amazing and truly an experience. Bar staff, pool staff, chefs all are pleasant and very friendly.
-YOU MUST get a message at the outside message hut.
-FOOD all was GREAT at either of their 2 restaurants.
-Final comment, stay here you will love it, I would say 3-4 nights is plenty and then check out some where else. If your on your Honey Moon stay here, if you want to try something completely different in accommodations stay here, if you want to eat good Jamaican food eat here. If you have to to have 5 star room and service stay at an all-inclusive, but you can do that anywhere, so give Rock House a TRY...just remember PREMIUM VILLA ONLY, or Room 28, but remember room 28 is rustic, but good size, cost less and great balcony over looking the ocean. P.S. Say Hi to Vincent for me....

Room Tip: Room 28 or any premium villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank stme1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Though we booked late and had a garden room, we just loved this place. Wonderful setting, you can snorkel right round the property, or just laze by the cliff top pool (which has very nice food at the bar) The restaurant is as romantic setting that you could wish for. They offer a cheap taxi service and many thoughtful touches for guests. Outdoor shower was nice. This is a classy, quality place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Had a great stay - lovely place, nice staff, good food, overall you will not regret a minute of your stay. Very relaxing, warm, friendly place!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south bend, in
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed Dec 3-10, 2011, in premium villa 2. The views are amazing, food was good and most of the staff were great (particularly the pool bar people and groundskeepers) and it is relaxing. However, there were issues with the villa, for which we paid top dollar. Once you opened the door, the air conditioning turned off; the curtains did not cover all the windows/doors; the screens were removed from the sliding doors so you couldn't enjoy the breeze; you were warned in writing several times in the brochures to lock the shower door and bathroom door, even when you were in the room (there were two locks for each door), so if you got up at night to use bathroom you had to unlock and relock; no comfortable chair in the room to sit and read; really poor lighting; and no coffee pot. When I asked a security person about the double locks on the doors and if there were crime problems, I was told the locks were preventive measures. Not sure I buy that.



We have stayed at numerous resorts in the Caribbean (both inclusive and not) and have to say for being labeled "deluxe/premium", this villa didn't measure up. For the money, and for much less, there are truly wonderful places to stay. Actually, disappointed.

Room Tip: I would not waste money on a premium/deluxe villa. May be a larger room but probably better value i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pat9720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.2 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.8 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
137.2 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
1.8 km away
The Caves
The Caves
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.2 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Property: Rockhouse Hotel
Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Negril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#3 Spa Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing