We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice”
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockhouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Such a wonderful experience. Like paradise! Great food and amazing spa service. You don't even need to leave the hotel if you don't want to.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We kept seeing various articles about the Rockhouse throughout a variety of magazines and each of the articles kept describing in their own way how great this place was. Could it be true…well there was only one way to find out? So we booked our flights, packed our bags and were on our way to a 5 day getaway from the cold northeastern USA. Our expectations were very high given all of the great articles we read in addition to the massive amount of positive reviews on TripAdvisor. First, we highly recommend using Kenny Tours as your private transfer from the airport in Montego Bay to Negril. They are very friendly, professional and really make the 1.5 hour trip more enjoyable. This round-trip transfer can be arranged through the Rockhouse.

The moment we arrived we could tell immediately that we made the right choice, and the rest of the time spent at the Rockhouse just further reaffirmed this choice. We arrived around mid-afternoon the day after Thanksgiving to a beautiful day, calm water, warm breeze and an instantaneous vibe of relaxation. We checked into our room (Villa #12), changed and headed straight to the pool area for some lunch. We can’t say enough about the quality of service, especially at the pool bar and grill. Chevon and Vinroy were always on point with tip-top service and I could talk about the amazing food Vanal prepared for hours, but I will spare you. Just know that half of our meals were spent at the pool bar. Best food and view in the entire place. Speaking of food, do not miss the Push Cart and breakfast on your villa patio. Just call room-service and in less than 30 minutes you will be enjoying an amazing meal from the privacy of your personal patio. Not a bad way to start the day. It’s also important to know that when we typically travel, we are very adventurous and never stay at home base too long, but with the Rockhouse, I’m pleased to say that we only left once during the 5 day stay. That says a lot in my opinion. Our daily routine consisted of an amazing breakfast to start the day, setting up camp at one of the many great spots around the pool area, swims around the rock point to the caves, snorkeling, cliff diving and jumping, lunch at the pool, reading, multiple Red Stripes and banana rum punch all while waiting for the amazing sunset each evening. Do not miss this event.

A few things I wish I knew before I arrived are as follows: 1.You can basically charge every drink, meal, or service to your room, so there is really no need to carry cash which is nice. Additionally, the charges can be added to your final bill, so there is no related foreign credit card transaction fees associated as long as you keep it on the original card you booked with. 2. The free WiFi is best picked up by the office or the lounge area in the main restaurant. 3. If you do decide to leave the Rockhouse there are cabs ready to take you where you please in Negril pretty much anytime you want. They will even come back and get you if you pre-arrange a pickup time with your driver. This will save you from having to make international calls. 4. The mosquitoes in the evening are legit. Bring Deet, Off and be prepared to use your bed net for sleeping. They are a non-issue during the daytime.

Overall, this is a place that we will be visiting again soon and I wish there was more that I could say, but based on the amount and quality of the other reviews…there really isn’t anything new that hasn’t already been said. You will not be disappointed if you choose this as your vacation destination.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank etrain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This place is fantastic. We stayed in #15 which was what I assume was a older villa but did I care? Heck not. We woke up to Stellar Views of Pristine Cove every morning and jumped off our private Rock into the unbelieveable water! Yes, thank God there wasn't any TV!!!! Who wants TV when you are in Negril? Not Me!!! When you have views of a lifetime and fabulous second hand smoke (tee hee Negril...get it!) why look at the boob tube? Book "Vincents" snorkle trip out to the reef....you won't regret it! Roger and Ahgri and fantastic and take you on a hands on tour of the reef. Saw sea turtles, sting rays, goobs of tropical fish, baracuda and such. The food was fab as was the vibe. Everyone was sweet as could be. Service was devine. Went down the road to 3 Dives one night and ate breakfast at Jus Natural (Calalooo yum, saltfish and aca somethin or other....) Kenesha's brownies (wink) across the street were good too.

Room Tip: On the Rocks. Is about the coolest place I've ever been. And this ole girl gets around. A mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mwsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I loved this hotel! We didnt want to leave it either! The place is lovely and magical. Set on the cliffs, Rock House has a salt water pool that overlooks the water. I really enjoyed it. The restaurant is on the cliff too. We ate breakfast there everyday. The food is just ok. We walked to Jus natural about 5 minutes away, which is way better. We stayed at a bungalow, which had lots of privacy. We also snorkeled there. They have 2 launch ladders. Just beward of jelly fish, my boyfriend got stung, and the staff didnt have any vinegar. We had to walk next door to a small place to buy some.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

These guys have mastered the experience of simple casual fun. The atmosphere is relaxed but still attentive and concerned. The food is among the best I have had in the Caribbean and the rooms are cool and private. If you don't have fun at the Rockhouse you are doing something wrong.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaronds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

-We stayed last week, we have mixed feeling, but we would stay again, but ONLY in a PREMIUM VILLA (which is a premium price). Let me explain. Standard room and studios are in the older part of the resort and are NOT updated at all. VERY rustic, No TV, old furniture, bad views, small, tiny bathroom and bathroom door is completely vented so your partner knows all your business while your in there. The only STUDIO room I would recommend is room 28, the room on the end. We checked out the VILLA's. More spacious great views, still rustic. I would only RECOMMEND Villa 10 or any of the PREMIUM VILLA's I believe 1-6. They are the newest villa's.

-I was disappointed no free coffee/tea available to guest anywhere on resort.

-GOOD STUFF: Management team was helpful, we had some other issues with front desk staff, and the room and the GM and Supervisor took the time to listen to our issues and actually discounted our stay, something we did not expect. We appreciated them wanting to make our stay as pleasant as possible and listening to us. I would recommend asking to speaking to them when needed.
-The outside space is amazing and truly an experience. Bar staff, pool staff, chefs all are pleasant and very friendly.
-YOU MUST get a message at the outside message hut.
-FOOD all was GREAT at either of their 2 restaurants.
-Final comment, stay here you will love it, I would say 3-4 nights is plenty and then check out some where else. If your on your Honey Moon stay here, if you want to try something completely different in accommodations stay here, if you want to eat good Jamaican food eat here. If you have to to have 5 star room and service stay at an all-inclusive, but you can do that anywhere, so give Rock House a TRY...just remember PREMIUM VILLA ONLY, or Room 28, but remember room 28 is rustic, but good size, cost less and great balcony over looking the ocean. P.S. Say Hi to Vincent for me....

Room Tip: Room 28 or any premium villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank stme1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Though we booked late and had a garden room, we just loved this place. Wonderful setting, you can snorkel right round the property, or just laze by the cliff top pool (which has very nice food at the bar) The restaurant is as romantic setting that you could wish for. They offer a cheap taxi service and many thoughtful touches for guests. Outdoor shower was nice. This is a classy, quality place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.5 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
1 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
207.5 km away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
505 reviews
137.1 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,333 reviews
0.8 km away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
#2 Family Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $139 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Rockhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing