We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockhouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

The service was amazing. The food was delicious. I would highly recommend a massage on the Caribbean Drench as there is nothing comparable to it! Rooms were great and very clean. Loved the architecture around the cliffs and how it was incorporated within the foundation of the hotel. Wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    185
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
75
627
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Since we appreciated reading the reviews by others before traveling to the Rockhouse, we wanted to return the favor. We chose to celebrate our 25th anniversary here and were not disappointed. This was our first time to the Rockhouse and first time to Jamaica as well.

We chose an early Sunday morning departure from Atlanta that allowed us to arrive in Montego Bay just before lunch time. This allowed us to eventually arrive at the Rockhouse by ~ 2 P.M. in time to enjoy the rest of the day—we’re glad we did this.

Before departing Atlanta, we stopped by duty free and picked up a bottle of our favorite spirit—another great tip we picked up from a review we read. We indulged in some of the Rockhouse specialty drinks while at the pool and during meals, but it was nice to drink our own favorite concoction in the evening while sitting on our villa patio. We pre-arranged through Rockhouse for Kenney Tours to pick us up in Montego Bay. Kenney and his crew are great. On the ride to the Rockhouse, our driver, Nelson, was even nice enough to stop at a small convenience store on our route so we could pick up some incidentals—water, coke, etc. We learned later there was a grocery store 5 min taxi ride away from the Rockhouse. Next time, we'd go there early in our stay to get a few other food/drink items for our room vice purchasing everything from the Rockhouse. A previous review forewarned the reader to prepare your mental state for the 1.5 hour ride through poverty—very true. I started to second guess whether I had chosen a great place to spend our 25th. However, once we arrived to the Rockhouse, we were in a different world—well worth the trip.

Upon arriving at the Rockhouse, our room was not quite ready, so we took the opportunity to wander about and familiarize ourselves with the property. We were quickly approached by “Bally,” the senior grounds keeper, who then showed us all around—what a fantastic gentleman—and the rest of the staff is just like him.

Accommodations: we stayed in a Premium Villa. I had requested #3 or #10 (based on the reviews we had read). Those were initially unavailable, so they assigned us to #2. However, #3 became available the next day, so we chose to change rooms for the remainder of our five day stay. #3 had a better view of the entire property and ocean and I have to agree with the others, if you are staying in a Premium Villa, then #3 is king if you can get it—simply for the view—I think all the Premium Villa amenities are the same. With all that said, “when” we return (not if), I think we will choose to save ~ $90 per night and stay in a regular “Villa.” They also are right on the water—we would have been equally pleased. Another couple we met indicated #16 or 18 are the best “villa’s” to stay in. There are some hotel-like rooms on the property for less than $200 per night. If your budget can only afford that, then there are several sunning pads around the property that are not designed specifically for a room that will still allow you to soak in the Rockhouse experience. But clearly the Rockhouse experience is all about staying in one of 19 water front villas for both day and night-time relaxation—worth the splurge if you can.

Food/drink: as you would expect, all seafood dishes here are great. Snapper sandwich at the pool—fantastic. There’s a “tenderloin” on the menu and as a meat lover, I decided to try it one night (even after they told me it was a “filet”). Ughh—not good. Tough sirloin at best—I should have known—don’t waste your $24 on that dish. The couple at the next table made the same mistake. It then became the running joke between us every time we would see them on the property. The lobster is out of this world! Great specialty drinks. If you are a beer lover, get ready for three choices—Red Stripe, Red Stripe Light and Heineken.

Cigars: men (and ladies who partake), Cuban and Jamaican cigars are $20+. I brought a few of my own--glad I did--very nice evenings to enjoy a slow smoke.

Room Service: there’s no extra charge for room service. We followed the advice of a previous reviewer and had breakfast ordered in every day—this was fantastic. Banana Nut bread was delicious.

Weather: you’re in the tropics—some days are crystal clear and other days you have some rain—but nothing that stays around for a long time. Perfect temps—mid-80’s to low 70s.

Activities/Excursions: The Rockhouse is not about activities and excursions—it is all about relaxing; soaking in the sun; swimming/diving/snorkeling in the crystal clear waters; sipping your favorite drink by the pool and watching gorgeous sunsets (the property points due-West). Yes, there are some excursions inland you could take, but that would have diluted the Rockhouse experience in my opinion.

Spa: we followed another great review tip and had a couple’s massage in one of the cabana’s on the water—a must! Also did yoga in the mornings—gents, if you’ve never done yoga (I had not), prepare yourself, it’s harder than it looks!

Insects: definitely need to spritz yourself with repellent—mainly when you are “inside” your rooms for the skeeters—although there’s not many at all. When you are outside, there’s enough breeze to keep them away.

Electricity: 110 in the rooms—no need for converters--outlets are the same as in the U.S.

Internet: for those that can't resist being disconnected, free WiFi is available in the lobby and restaurant with plans to expand WiFi throughout the resort (didn't give a timetable).

Cell Phone: cell phone coverage everywhere--don't forget to explore with your cell provider short term international calling/data plans if you plan to use.

Tipping/currency: We arrived with very little U.S. cash in our pocket since we had read that everything can be charged to your room (this is true). However, any extra “tip” you add to your dinner bill for example, goes into a general tipping pool that all employees share in. If you want to reward a specific employee for great service, you have to give them cash directly. I wish we had come with extra cash specifically for this reason. Rockhouse doesn’t have an ATM on property. Nearest one is a 5 minute taxi ride away. But since we knew in advance we were coming to stay on the property and just relax with no excursions, we never had the opportunity to get extra cash and reward several key employees with our generosity. If you do take an excursion or go out, the community readily takes U.S. dollars, but you’ll get Jamaican currency in return for change.

Gear: We brought our snorkel gear—this was nice to have and easy to bring vice renting a set every day.

Music/Laptop: if you like your own music, then consider purchasing the Bose Soundlink (this is not an endorsement, just a statement of fact)—connects via Bluetooth (or auxiliary wire) and produces a wonderful sound typical of Bose devices. It was fantastic to have some light music playing in the background at times (without earphones) while still listening to the waves. It also produced a mini-theater sound when we chose to watch a DVD on our laptop one night.

That’s it—thank you to all previous reviewers that allowed us to plan our trip better. And to all who will read this and make your first trip to the Rockhouse—enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Choosin-To-Be-Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed for 5 beautiful days and the staff, food and location of the Rock House were perfection. Take time to go to the cart bar/restaurant ask for the Achee fritters, taste sensation!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmo2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

If you are a busy person who lives life at a frenetic pace and want a simple relaxing vacation, you will find no better than Rockhouse! My boyfriend and I just returned from our second trip to Rockhouse, having stayed there a year ago. I am someone who is intent on seeing, doing, living every moment, which I do in the typical fashion of trying to check off as many places on my travel bucket list as possible. After staying at Rockhouse last Feb, however, I discovered the value of the chillaxed vaca!

This place is a little piece of heaven in a crazy world. Both of us find a peacefulness there that is unrivaled...the scenery...the service...the villas...the chairs overlooking the water...banana pancakes delivered cliffside for breakfast...waking up to watch the sun rise through three floor to ceiling windows surrounding the bed...watching the world's best sunset...showering outside amidst the roots of old trees...Sting Rays, Red Stripes and snapper sandwiches from the pool bar...a couples massage on the cliffs...swimming in the clearest water off the cliffs...and of course the best and cutest little bartender at the pool! (That one is for you, Chevon!)

Check out the little bar down the road across the street called De Bar where Eddie will serve you the best jerk chicken and rice/peas you've ever eaten! Food is terrific at Rockhouse and Push Cart as well. We are already planning our return trip next year!

Last year we stayed in a standard room and this year a villa; the difference is totally worth the money! We were in villa 18, which was near the pool for beverage replenishment and had a killer view. It became quite the adventure to hop along the step stones on the cliffs after so much "relaxation"!!

Careful of the mosquitoes; they ate me alive the last night we were there! Always light the coil before going to sleep and tuck in the ends of that bed netting!!

Rockhouse simply has an amazing thing going and is the perfect place to chill with someone you love.

Room Tip: Villas are totally worth it; would recommend 18!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank annabelle4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is gorgeous. The grounds are kept immaculate, the infinity pool is great and is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. Snorkeling is fairly good off of the cliffs. The restaurants are really good too. We stayed in one of the regular rooms as the ocean front villas book long in advance. That being said our room was still great. We loved the outdoor shower. Overall the perfect place for couples looking to get away from the overcrowded all inclusives on the 7Mile beach.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Everything we were hoping for and so much more! Hotel, Spa, Pool and Restaurants are ALL fantastic!
Rooms - We stayed in a studio and loved it. While the Villas are nicer, the studio was exactly what we needed and we'll stay in one again when we return. I recommend staying in room 27(where we stayed) or 28, they both have great water views. The A/C turns off everytime you open/close the door, however, it cools the room down very quick so it wasn't a problem. I simply can't live without a tv, so we rented one from the giftshop. It's a flat-screen with a dvd player, so if you're planning on renting one I suggest bringing your own movies, their selection is very limited. Housekeeping did a great job, the room was spotless when we arrived as well as everytime they stopped by. The giftshop has a great selection of cover-ups, artwork, flip flops, etc. It's a little spendy, but well worth it! I bought one of the Callaloo cover-ups as well as one of the beautiful paintings of the pool - be on the lookout the artist is at the RH painting quite a bit and will do special requests.

Pool - even more beautiful in person. While the actual pool itself is showing it's age, it didn't matter it was a gorgeous setting. The chairs do tend to fill up pretty quick each morning, however, let maintenance/bartender know and they'll find more for you. I suggest bringing rafts, they only three for the resort. The food at the Pool Grill is FANTASTIC, I had the snapper sandwich several times and it was excellent, the chicken kabobs and jerk chicken were also very good. As with everywhere in Jamaica, service can be slow, so order well before you're hungry, it took about 45 minutes- hour each day for our lunch to be done. Drinks were also fantastic, the best Pina Colada I've had - yum!

Spa - I only had one treatment but it was awesome. I had the Rockhouse Signature Foot Ceremony and it was the best foot massage I've ever had! Next time I'll sign up for more spa treatments!

The Grounds - they do a spectacular job of keeping the grounds looking clean and gorgeous. The groundskeepers are constantly sweeping and working to make it look great. While we felt completely safe during our entire stay, security makes its presence known at night by walking around and having stations.

Overall, this was our favorite vacation/hotel we've ever had or stayed at. The Rockhouse goes out of their way to give great service and all you have to do is ask if you're in need of something. We were a bit suprised at how many families were at the resort, while they were all very well behaved it changed the atmosphere a bit for us. We were there over Presidents Day so thay may have had something to do with it, but just know this definitely is not an adults-only resort. We most definitely will be back, we love the Rockhouse AND Negril!

Room Tip: If you're staying in a studio ask for 27 or 28, both have great ocean views and are close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beachluvr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Such a wonderful experience. Like paradise! Great food and amazing spa service. You don't even need to leave the hotel if you don't want to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.2 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.1 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
137.2 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.8 km away
The Caves
The Caves
#4 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.2 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Property: Rockhouse Hotel
Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#2 Family Hotel in Negril
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Rockhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing