We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation weekend”
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockhouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We love this place, the view is expectacular, the service is very good. I recomend this place only for couples.

Its a most do at Negril

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elmertweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
There are newer reviews for Rockhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

I went to the Rock House in March 2012 with 2 friends (We are 3 late-20s American women).

We really enjoyed the Rock House and Kenny Tours was great. While we had some questionable Jamaican experiences outside the resort (harassment, unwanted attention), our experiences inside the resort were very positive. The resort is extremely beautiful and relaxing, but for me personally it isn’t stimulating enough to only stay in the resort for the entire trip. Unless all you want to do is sunbathe and get massages, it may get a little boring.

So, we ventured out for dinners and had some really fun experiences but also some negative experiences when we did. Hungry Lion, and Catch a Falling Star were both great, and we also liked Rick’s Café for the cliff divers at sunset. 7 mile beach was not great—a lot of people were approaching us to sell things and would follow us as we were walking, so not very relaxing.

I do want to use this entry to address the only aspect of the Rock House where we were disappointed: their recommendation of Vincent’s snorkeling tours. We trusted the resort staff and Kenny tours and thought that if the resort recommended Vincent’s tours, it must be good. We got a recommendation from another Rock House visitor while we were there to go on a 2-hour snorkeling tour with Vincent. It was a couple that recommended the snorkeling trip to us and like many things in Jamaica, we realized the experience may be different if it was a couple, family or mixed gender group as opposed to a group of just young women.

So here was our experience with Vincent’s tour: When we got on the boat at the Rock House, it was Vincent (middle aged man) and 2 younger men, and the 3 of us. Right away it was very uncomfortable with the 2 younger men making inappropriate sexual advances (which we were somewhat used to by this point in our trip, but unhappy and uncomfortable with nonetheless). This really marred our experience on the snorkeling tour and we all said we wouldn’t have gone on the trip if we had known what it was going to be like. It was very uncomfortable being out on the open water with these men who we didn’t trust. When we started snorkeling, Vincent guided us around and was actually very nice and appropriate and did a good job. If it was just Vincent on the trip with us we would have been happy with it. The 2 other men weren’t part of the snorkeling experience and actually started spear gun fishing right around us while we were snorkeling (which was a little disconcerting as we didn’t want to get shot with a spear gun!). We thought that Vincent should get rid of these two guys and do the tours himself and save the fishing for a separate time when he didn’t have snorkelers on board. Vincent seemed like a nice guy, but the other two men really ruined the trip for us.

The Rock House and people who stay there should be aware of this (especially groups of women) before they decide to do one of these snorkeling tours.

One final piece of advice—when you leave the resort take the phone number for Kenny Tours with you. We didn’t trust a lot of the taxi services (even security guards tried to get us in fake cabs) so we called Kenny’s Tours a few times when we were out to come pick us up!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I'm sure when that will be, but the Rockhouse, it's staff, Push cart Restaurant, Pool Grill, Room Service, Vincent and and Roger on the glass bottom boat, Negril, the surrounding restaurants such as "Catch a Falling Star, 7 mile beach etc etc etc gave us great reason to want to go back.

Rockhouse is super relaxed and lush at the same time.

Stay in a Villa. Worth it.

Get a massage in the cabana. Worth it.

:)

Room Tip: Villa. Large, private and incredible ocean views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRZAcolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just got back from Jamaica after spending 3 nights at the Rockhouse. It is a great place to stay and probably one of the best values in all of the Caribbean. We payed $160/night for a peak season room, although the villas cost more. The setting is beautiful, located on top of the rocks on the West End. There are a few food & drink options on the grounds as well as a pool.

PROs

- Overall value. It's one of the best places to stay in all of Jamaica and you can do it for less than $200/night.

- Rooms are nice, clean, and air-conditioned. Our room had a day bed, which was nice, and a great outdoor shower as well.

- The setting is amazing. The rocks provide an incredible view and the grounds around the pool and bar are fantastic.

- Extremely friendly & helpful staff.

- Great food.


CONs

- My #1 frustration does not lie solely with the Rockhouse... but with all of Negril: There are very few ATM machines. The ATMs that Negril does have (3 maybe?) are located in sketchy areas of town with plenty of sketchy people watching you. It is not a pleasant experience, so come with more than enough cash so that you don't have to make a trip to the ATM.

- If you're a beach person (as I am), it's not the most convenient place to stay. The beach is a 15-minute ride and will cost you $10 - $15 each way.

- You basically need to take a cab anytime you leave the resort. This is a little annoying, not to mention expensive. Getting a cab is easy, though, and the guys at the front desk are very helpful.

- Outside of the rooms, the place isn't cheap. Drinks, especially, will take a bite out of your wallet.

Room Tip: Villas have the best location as they are located directly on the rocks and look straight out to the...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYC5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I've been here about 3 times. And I have to say, anytime I'm in Negril - I will be stopping by. The view is "Amazing and Breath Taking". You can literally just sit there and say nothing to anyone for minutes, because the presence is so captivating. I've only stayed at the hotel once, and the room was ....aaaa okay. Room was unique in the fact that it was woody and small and cozy, not at as many stones/rock as I would have expected. But we were welcomed with a cocktail - which is always nice. But the waking up and walking outside to the cliffs is TRULY AMAZING!! I would stay there just for the view. The main reason I went there so many times is for the restaurant. The food is classic and so flavorful. My dish is lobster, theres nothing better then eating a Jamaican Lobster on the cliffs edge....... aaaaaaaaah breathe it alllllll in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsMorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just returned from a week at Rockhouse where we stayed in Premium Villa #4, arguably the one with the best view in the place -- 270 degrees waterview with direct sunset. After getting over the initial disappointment that #4 didn't have a big enough patio for a shade umbrella (unlike #3, which did) we settled into the astonishingly peaceful rhythms and vibe of RH.

We have been to some of the most deluxe, special properties in the West Indies, including Cap Juluca, Jumby Bay, Caneel Bay, Biras Creek, Little Dix Bay and I can safely say that Rockhouse's location and vista were possibly the most beautiful and unique....and literally costing one half to even one third of those other places. The value is exceptional. That said, do not expect "fancy." This is a rustic, hip, eco-oriented, natural spot. Even the 'premium' villas are fairly basic with amenities, but honestly all you really need.

The highlights: Heart-stopping vistas wherever you look. Plenty of places all up and down the cliffs for a couple to lounge and read -- none of that "get out at 6:30 am to reserve a lounge chair by the pool." The spa -- really incredible. Between us we had five massages in six days, all in the cliffside cabana hanging over the water. The infinity pool (though needing some refurbishing, as many have commented here,) which is a divine spot to hang for the day, and to watch the sunset every evening with a Red Stripe in hand. The jerk chicken and snapper sandwiches at the Pool bar, which we ate every day, and were our favorite meals bar none. Floating around in buoyant Pristine Cove, perhaps the most exhilarating brace of Caribbean sea I've experienced.

Things you'll have to adjust to: "Jamaica time." Sometimes service is insanely slow, especially at the Pool. We learned that we had to put our lunch order in right at noon (when it opened) and then not expect to get it until close to 1:15. No problem, mon. But still.
We also got a little tired of the food on property -- it is jerk everything, and somewhat limited -- especially at the RH main restaurant, which we actually found to be our least favorite. Pushcart had more variety and overall better quality. Our last night at RH restaurant my husband ordered the fire-crusted snapper, which was literally inedible. He would have sent it back but it was our last night and we had such a happy vibe so we didn't bother. It's great to have authentic Jamaican food (and we do love jerk) but it seemed there should be be more fresh fish options (all they had was snapper and mahi, every single day) and perhaps some choices of simpler preparations. We did go to Three Dives once for the jerk grilled lobster, which was wonderful. Were we to return -- which we think we will -- we'd explore more some of the other restaurants in Negril.

It's also a puzzle to me that a place with such a healthy "spa" vibe would not have a fitness center, especially as there is no place to walk on property! That is, you are on the cliffs -- there is no beach. So unless you do yoga (offered every morning) there is literally no exercise short of swimming/snorkeling. Even a small space with a treadmill, a few ellipticals, some weights and mats would be welcomed. It seems the clientele is fitness conscious and I can't imagine in 2012 a resort of this caliber not providing some exercise options.

Lastly, some recommendations for the rooms. Please, if you advertise yourself as a spa (and guests are frequently walking to and from the spa cabanas for treatments) and especially because the stone patios are not completely sheltered from other's looking in on you, you should provide bathrobes in the rooms! Even Marriots provide bathrobes. I really felt this omission. Yes, it's wonderful to take an 'outdoor' shower in the stone bathroom at the end of the day, but then what a drag to have to get dressed instead of just slipping on a robe to sit out and watch the sun go down from our patio. Also, I'd recommend some better lighting and also better seating in the rooms, especially because of your strong recommendation to secure the mosquito netting around the bed at dusk. Once the bed is 'sealed off' there is nowhere comfortable to sit in the rooms save for two very uncomfortable wooden chairs that are next to a small table that was never used for anything except the RH 'guide' and menus. Net-net while I love the rusticity and authenticity of these octagonal villas I do believe with some brainstorming you can optimize the comfort of what is there.

All that said: five stars. For beauty, for vibe, for naturalness, and for value. We will return but we would like management to consider some of the points we raised.

Room Tip: #3 and #10 are the best villas -- most open view, and private patio with umbrella in addition to cha...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank doppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

What a beautiful setting. Spent two nights there. Had been on the beach for three days prior. Totally different experience. The water view is breathtaking. Accommodations were very nice. We stayed in a "premium " villa. Private, excellent view and water access. Loved the platforms for a spontaneous jump into the water. Was not crowded, easy to get into the restaurant and bar. Food was very good.

Room Tip: Would suggest villas 10 or 18
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Playgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.5 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
242 reviews
137.1 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
854 reviews
1.2 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,014 reviews
58.7 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#3 Spa Hotel in Negril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#4 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $141 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Rockhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing