We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Negril Escape Resort & Spa(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Sweet Home Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Westender Inn(Negril)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Firefly Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
T-bird on the Cliffs(Negril)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$917
US$501
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cliff Hotel(Negril)
US$1,129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,965)
Filter reviews
2,965 results
Traveller rating
2,102
627
146
65
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,102
627
146
65
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotus leafchef's tablecrossing guardbeach grilllotus restaurantcoffee barshort walk across the streettree house styleday bedjerk chickenjohn waynetree frogsa la carte restaurantpiano manbloody baysmall resortour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 2,965 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2016

You think from the pictures that Sunset will be pretty, but the photos can"t possibly prepare you for the rich, lush paradise that awaits you. There isn't just a worker or two to groom the grounds, but an entire crew that manicures the grounds all day, everyday. It's beauty surpassed my expectations.
The people, all relaxed, all kind, all seeming to enjoy their employment. Having spoken with the food manager, I found out that the majority of employed staff had been there 10 plus years, which has to say something about their feelings about their jobs.

Room Tip: some rooms have glass windows,others don"t, must request screens or glass
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank twinmellons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2017


Thanks twinmellons for choosing Sunset at the Palms Resort for your vacation experience, as well as for sharing your Tripadvisor review. Thanks for your recognition of our lush paradise; "It's beauty surpassed my expectations" as well as about staff; as being all relaxed, all kind, all seeming to enjoy their employment.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2016

Well, I just finished writing a very lengthy review and, because I skipped an important step, am having to start again. This miiight not be as long, but I, still, hope to convey how most enjoyable our stay at Sunset At The Palms was.

We were there from the 10th until the 17th of December and are from St. Louis, Mo. The best way, I believe, to say it is what the title of my review states. This was hands down, bar NONE, the best vacation experience we've had. We're usually rather active vacationers. Up early and getting out to see and do what there is to see and do. This time, though, after a year the continues to be hectic, we wanted to just really relax and enjoy each other and the surroundings. They who work the resort try very hard every day to make sure that relaxation and enjoyment is exactly what happens. People, they succeed.

In terms of the resort, there is truth in advertising as it looks exACTly as pictured. And, the grounds and all that are on it are cared for continually. The pictures, still, don't do it all justice as what really impresses is the total experience of it all. I note in reviews that this varies by person, but we LOVED the food and I want Karla and Sharon to know that I MISS MY CALLALOO!! And, as I've mentioned those two fine women...

I also want to make a recommendation that, in this case, was handled by the resort concierge, Loleta. She arranged cab transportation from Sangster, Int'l which I'd highly recommend. If you've never been to Negril, even under the best of circumstances, it is going to take an hour plus to arrive at the resort. A shuttle is cheaper but makes stops along the way. Loleta recommended Benji who took great care of us and we utilized his services coming to and leaving the resort. Yeah, that leaving the resort aspect....

We did not, ourselves included, run into anyone who was happy that their time at Sunset At The Palms was ending. I'm still not happy about it. We, also, have been looking for a place to which we could return repeatedly, and believe we have found it. Our full intention is that, if it is God's will, we will return in the coming year. It REALLY is, overall, THAT good.

To ALL of the employees at Sunset At the Palms, everyone of you has my love and respect and may you all have many blessings and much happiness in the coming year. We are already thinking about our return and sharing blessings with you.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Blackman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2016

Thanks Blackman9 for choosing Sunset at the Palms Resort for your vacation experience, as well as for sharing your beautiful Tripadvisor review. It was indeed a pleasure hosting your stay and we are very much delighted to hear of your feedback; "This was hands down, bar NONE, the best vacation experience we've had." We are also very much appreciative of your kind compliments about the team; "They who work the resort try very hard every day to make sure that relaxation and enjoyment is exactly what happens". Our goal is to provide the best possible service and amenities to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2016

fantastic stay Dec 17th to 22nd..The booking of specialty restaurants was done before we arrived thru email with resort staff no issues.. Fast track thru customs on the way in was great no line ups-- again arranged and confirmed before leaving thru email with resort..very prompt replies..

overall my only complaint was the inconsistent room restocking.. 1st and second day towels and mini bar refills.. turn down service all went great.. 3rd day room not cleaned and no towels till after 330 pm no bar refill.. 4th day was like she just dumped new towels, made the bed and left.. we did tip everyday..
The rooms and the resort are very clean and no issue with bugs, ants etc.

Chefs table was kinda fun but started late.. wasn't bad but not great..you don't have a choice of food but they will accommodate if needed..the setting is nice in court yard with overhead lights.. service good with bottled wine at a premium if wanted.

2nd restaurant (forget the name was very slow.). food good with a nice selection..

buffet always had a very good selection and themed nights .. breakfast usual omelette station made to order and normal pancakes, waffles etc...

Always had lunch down at the beach .. burgers, chicken, salads all good..

Beach bar service with flags.. great idea but after couple hours can never find anyone.. good to get up and walk to bar anyway..again inconsistent ..

crossing the road always had help.. just wait for the okay from the guard.. cars and buses are faster then they appear in fact I think they speed up when people are on the road...

overall very nice place in a beautiful setting.. love the tree frogs at night and the gardens are very well kept..

would give a 5 star rating if the rooms and beach service were always outstanding , but it wasn't and resort was not full..

would come back had a great week in bloody bay

Room Tip: the 400 section was perfect
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank muddyjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2016


Thank you so very much muddyjeep. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share review on your recent experience at Sunset at the Palms Resort. . We always appreciate feedback from our valued Guests and would like to sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations in certain areas of our service delivery. Be assured that we take your review very seriously; as direct feedback from our much appreciated guests allow us the opportunity to review and refine our product. Thanks for your favorable comments; "overall very nice place in a beautiful setting.. love the tree frogs at night and the gardens are very well kept" Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity.

We trust you will give us another opportunity to host your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2016 via mobile

Oh! How I miss Sunset at the Palms! How I miss Negril and how I miss Jamaica!!
Unfortunately we don't get to go this year. A new baby, too much on our hands - but we can't wait for next year!
This hotel is beautiful, so much better than all the rest of the resorts in Negril. The main thing that makes this place stand out is the hotel staff. They are more like friends of yours. Like so many places- it's the management that sets the tone. Having a strong woman managing the resort - Ms. Sharon Powell - makes all the difference!
We stayed there in 2012, and again at the end of 2015. This place is keeping its high standards
Way to go! Hope to see you guys again next winter

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AleXfendeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016


Thank you so very much AleXfendeR. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share beautiful "Heaven on earth!!" review on your recent vacation experience at Sunset at the Palms Resort. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and patronage over the years. Thank you for recognizing our staff; they are truly the ones who create fond memories for our much valued guests and make each visit special. Our goal is to provide the best possible service and amenities to all of our guests and their satisfaction is our reward.

Looking forward to once again host your stay here at Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2016

What is not to say about this place, My wife and I stay there Dec 2nd - 11th 2016.
Resort is quiet and relaxing, food was awesome with many choices.
Each night is a different theme with lots to pick from.
Breakfast is fantastic also.
I can't say enough about the staff, they truly take great care of you,
Mr. B, (Silford)
Vanessa,
Nepal,
Clevon,
along with many many others .....
Beach and beach bar is great, its less than a 2 minute walk, and keep in mind, larger resorts, some you have to take a shuttle to the beach... so this was not a problem.
Beach is clean, and the water is wet, drinks are cold, and the beach BBQ is Hot...
We are planning on returning in 2019 with a group of 20+ and looking forward to seeing some friendly faces....

Thanks for the Memorable Stay !!

Tim & Janet !

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2016


Thanks Tim L. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share beautiful "Truly Heaven" review about your recent experience at Sunset at the Palms Resort. Thanks for your very kind words of compliments about our food and beverage offerings, as well as the hospitality from our staff and for highlighting Team Members who made your stay quite memorable. Our ultimate goal is to create an experience of a lifetime for all of our much appreciated Guests.

Thanks again for your review and we hope you will continue to choose Sunset at the Palms Resort, each time you plan a vacation in Negril, Jamaica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews