We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice overall for 7 Mile beach...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Ranked #24 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We recently spent 8 nights oceanside at Charela as we couldn't get into our first choice Hotel of Idle Awhile located next door. Charela is a good choice to stay on Negril's 7 mile beach. I will grade the Charela experience that we had accordingly:

Front Desk- Efficient and business like, but nary a smile or a welcome to Jamaica. Bellman was very good and quick with our bags up to the room. The front desk ladies are professional but how about a smile occasionally ? Grade B

Room- Clean but a little dated. TV, although it was a flat screen was not that easy to switch stations and there was no channel guide so you had to explore. Choice of channels were good with S. Florida and NYC news and ESPN etc. Also no room voice mail and the lighting was just two small bedroom lamps. The bathroom was basic with a newly glaxed tub. AC and fan worked well. Bed was firm and the room did have a mini fridge to keep your items cold. The balcony was great to sit on during the evenings and listen to the water. Grade B

Beach- Lovely. Lots of palms for shade and area to spread out in to. The beach is set back from the waters edge and the beach attendant keeps unwanted vendors off of the property. The beach attendant ("Clive") reserved chairs for guests that tip him. As such, the first morning that I was on the beach at 7 AM I made the grave mistake of wandering on to a chair with towels folded on it and was abruptly told that the seats are reserved and that I would have to move. When I asked why beach chairs are being reserved for guests that won't show up for hours I was told in these exact words "Because that's the way it is." I then stated that beach chairs should be provided on a first come, first served basis. I was then told, also in these exact words, "Take it as you want." Well, I take this as tip me and you'll get a prime beach spot or settle for whats left. Very disconcerting and not to mention unfair to early rising guests. "Clive" did not acknowledge our presence the remainder of the vacation. I found Clive to be unprofessional, opportunistic and very unfriendly. Management needs to address this chair reserving "enterprise" that Clive is running. Grades- Beach gets an A, Clive gets a C- only because he did keep unwanted vendors off the property.

Safety- Good. There was 24 hour security which included two large German Shepards in the evening. You can feel fairly safe on this resort without any worries. Albeit, if you're a female and you venture off the property alone without your husband, boyfriend, brother etc, be prepared to be harassed by vendors who tend to get very aggressive and target women for harassment. It seems that women (both locals and tourists) don't get treated very well in Negril or Jamaica in particular. Ladies, walk/stay with a male at all times if you dont want to be constantly harassed. Grade- B

Restaurant- Although we did not eat at the restaurant it was very popular and the food and choices looked great. The serving ladies were delightful and had a big smile and a pleasant greeting all the time when we passed by. A

Overall, I would recommend this resort although the vibe at Idle Awhile located next door was friendly and welcoming. We did eat breakfast at IA which was good but expensive. Try Buddy's beach bar a few doors up instead. Cheaper eats and good quality for breakfast. Also, Best in the West Jerk Chicken Shack/Bar located across the street was excellent ! Be careful crossing the road as traffic stays on the left and the drivers speed and drive erratically. From the airport, we used the hotel's recommended cabbie which was Wayne Mitchell. Wayne was polite, on time and informative- I would highly recommend Wayne for your transportation needs to the airport or any tours you might choose.

Room Tip: If you can swing the price, ocean front is a great place to stay on this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CTRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

Just returned from two weeks at Charela Inn, with no doubt the best property on these seven miles of beach in Negril. Not enough space to give this fantastic property the praise it deserves. From the superior staff at reception to resaurant, bar, beach staff and house keeping personnel all of whom are beyond description. Having their own bakery on site only enhances the dining experience. No need to seek out other venue's to dine.Charela has it all.

Room Tip: Second floor beach front rooms have beautiful views of the sea from the decks. They also have famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

What do we like? EVERYTHING!!! Not our first time here..3rd? 4th? and this time we took 9 total. 2 new Negril travelers...and they loved it. They hotel staff helped to make my mother's 85th birthday her most memorable...2 night in a row. The staff is fantastic....you just need to take a little time to talk and get to know them...Rooms were terrific and beach front....the beach was always beautiful and Clive takes care of everyone...and he is a great friend..The combination of Jamaican and french cooking were wonderful. Warm, friendly, helpful(2 fantastic birthday cakes for our mom) relaxed, and so much more...Thanks to the Grizzle family and staff....from Sandy and the WV & Cape Cod Crew

Room Tip: Beach front upstairs or down are worth the extra money...loved them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wvredsoxFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Ok, my girlfriend and I took our vacation to Negril from Oct 5 - 11th. We stayed at a nearby hotel. One night as we were walking back to our hotel along the beach we stopped at Charela for some drinks and desert. It was a spur of the moment thing, but the restuarant was right on the beach and looked nice. Our waitress was nice, but while we were eating our desert we saw a rat the size of a small dog run halfway across the top of a decorative rock wall.....then it stopped and stayed there for 10-15 minutes. Then a second one came out. Completely killed the mood and I ffelt disgusted!!! I alerted the waitress and they sent someone over to brush them away. Ok, I know we are in the tropics and on an island, but given the situation I think the least the manager could have done was comp us for the couple of drinks or the desert. So: BIG RATS + unsympathetic staff = bad review. Try harder Charela restuarant manager, because there are hundreds of restuarants and hotels in Negril that customers can go to instead!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SBtravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We actually stayed up the beach at another hotel but ate breakfast & dinner at the Charela almost every day of our stay. Good local ingredients with a french twist. Really good coffee, best way to start the day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank stonehouse_paia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We just got back from a 1 week stay at the Charela Inn, in Negril and I have to tell you it was one of our nicest vacations to date. Without a doubt, the Charela has one of the nicest beaches on Negril’s 7 Mile Beach. Most hotels on the strip have some sort of beach offering but nothing like this. Well maintained, secure, and probably one of the best unobstructed views of the horizon allowing you to view some of the most beautiful sunsets you’ll ever see without having to deal with the busloads of tourists they pack in to Rick’s every night… Every night the sunset is your own private show at the Charela.

We opted for the MAP Food Plan, which gave us Breakfast & Dinner, DRINKS WERE NOT INCLUDED, which was no problem. The 1st thing we do when we arrive is always hit the supermarket in town and pick up Snacks, Soda, Beer, Vodka, etc., saves a lot of money that way. Anyway, the food at the place was excellent, probably the best I’ve had in all our 8 trips to Jamaica. Every night we were treated to a 5 course meal, choices were Steak, Lobster, Lamb Chops, Jamaican Pork Loin, Jamaican Chicken, Shrimp & Garlic Sauce, Numerous Fish dishes, etc. The daily soup & appetizer offerings were delicious and perfect companions to the nightly meal and I especially liked the salad dressing on the salad. NO fighting over buffet lines here, you just sit back and relax enjoying The Charela’s oceanfront restaurant. All the food is “High End” and prepared fresh to order off its extensive menu of gourmet offerings. It may take a few minutes, but it’s worth the wait…. There’s a reason people from other hotels on the strip come and dine at The Charela… its good!

Breakfasts consisted of Fresh Juice, Fresh fruit, eggs, bacon or sausage, toast and coffee, you could also order off the regular menu should you have wanted something else, I ordered French Toast on one of the days. I ate so well on this trip I had a hard time fitting into my clothes….
Saturday Night they have a Jamaican Folklore Show, the 1st half of the show features Jamaican Folk Music, interesting to say the least, the 2nd half features 2 of the most talented West Indi Drummers I’ve ever seen, man did they blow us away with the beats they carried… If you’re into this sort of stuff like we are, it’s a show not to be missed.

Thursday Night was a Jazz night, here they fell short. The music was dated, a little too old for our taste and the trumpet player was off a lot of the time… We left after our dessert.

The Rooms were very clean but a little dated, but no problems. We had a “Seaview Room” with king sized bed, A/C, mini refrig and a patio with seating facing the ocean. The staff was excellent; we even exchanged contact info with many of the staff to stay in touch with. We were made to feel like family and would definitely go back. Since we had no issues with anything at the place we had none of those “vacation arguments”, which I’m sure all couples can relate to, caused when things go wrong, so we were really able to enjoy a nice vacation.

The hotel is just across the street from a gift shop, a Jerk Chicken Stand and a Patti Hut, so lunch snacks were always a quick zip & back. We walked the beach and took advantage of the various lunch specials at other hotels, Patti Vendors as well as purchasing fresh fruit from the fruit lady on the beach.

We Highly Recommend The Cherela Inn !
The Staff…
Front Desk: Yental & Nadine
Restaurant: Anisa, Bridget, Debbie, Nicole
Bar: Delroy (He’s A Good Man) – Bartender Extraordinaire
Beach / Towels: Clive (King of The Beach!), Rubin (Switches shifts with Clive), Steven (Afternoons & Nights)
If we left anyone out we apologize, everyone at The Cherela was a pleasure to deal with and a true asset to the facility. We can’t wait to see you all again…

Room Tip: Get a room with the view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NJSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed at Charela Inn for 4days, 3night all inclusive (breakfast, lunch and dinner). It was 11 of us and the staff went out to make a long table so that all of us can dine together. The food was great, the children enjoyed the meals as well. Lots of food and good portions. The only thing is that drinks were not included, that's separate. Sometime we just had tap water which is safe and tasted good.

This hotel is right on the beach. I woke up one morning very early to walk the beach and was surpised that most of the hotels wasn't that appealing from the beach like Charela is. It's the best hotel on the beach. Great having breakfast and watching the kids swim. The kids also loved the pool.

Our rooms were cleaned daily. The staff were very nice.

Room Tip: I booked my stay through familygetaway.com, it was a very cheap deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lady_gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.6 km away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.2 km away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
665 reviews
1.6 km away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#28 of 80 in Negril
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
522 reviews
0.1 km away
Idle Awhile The Beach
Idle Awhile The Beach
#25 of 80 in Negril
390 reviews
0.1 km away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#22 of 80 in Negril
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charela Inn / Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 3033, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Negril
#15 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $163 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charela Inn / Le Vendome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charela Inn the discreet charm of peace & tranquility, good company and fine food. Nothing more ... Nothing less. CHARELA INN resort sits elegantly on the famous Negril Beach, by the Caribbean Sea. Its fifty rooms and beach stretches 250 feet in width and 150 feet in depth of pure white sand sprinkled with coconut trees to afford natural shade to our guests. Beyond the sand lies a lawn and two large patios to dine "Al fresco" or simply sip cocktails while watching the sunset. All 47 rooms are built around an inner court yard in an Hacienda style with a round fresh water swimming pool in the centre of the yard, and a lush tropical garden with hibiscus, night jasmine, bougainvilleas etc. As well as many birds including our national doctor bird. The feeling is one of being far from the crowds -- yet a few steps away from the world of water sports and many attractions on the seven mile beach. All buildings are of two floors. Each room has either a private patio or a private balcony. All public access at Charela Inn are designed to accommodate the physically impaired, along with three dedicated ground floor rooms. Charela Inn is renowned for the friendliness and caring of its long standing staff, many being with the resort for over 15 years. Charel's longstanding repeat guests of many nationalities brings with them a true feeling of friendship and are cherished by both management and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Charela Inn / Le Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charela Inn / Le Vendome Hotel Negril
Charela Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing