We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Deal, Great Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gardenia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gardenia Resort
Ranked #78 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Deal, Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2007

Daniel Village was amazing. I had come to this site previous to going so I had my doubts. Once I woke up in the morning I coudln't have asked for more. Our room was clean, decent sized, bug free. The air conditioner worked.
The service was great, everyone knew our names, always willing to go the extra mile for us. The first couple of night we ordered off the menu, everything was great. The really good food came when we got into the buffet, conch, spaghetti, papaya, and other delicious foods everynight.
The pool was clean and refreshing. There weren't a lot of people there at the time, so it was very private for us, which we enjoyed. They were very accomadating the whole trip. If I go back to Negril, I'm definitely staying here again. Its off the beaten path, and if you like it that way its your best bet.
Its not a Sandals so don't expect all those luxuries, but the state "we're the best three star hotel in Negril" and I couldn't agree more.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bighunkalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    24
    12
    12
    19
See reviews for
8
18
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2007

Daniel Beach Village is well-maintained and very green. It's like living in a botanical garden. I get a real family setting type feeling and the staff is friendly and warm. They could use a few extra staff here and there during the busier periods.,

It's a great bargain for those who plan to do a little traveling around the Island and need a spot to unwind in between.

I would recommend it for nature lover's and folks looking a prime location at a bargain.

Happy travels.

  • Liked — Botonical garden-like setting
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Endeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

I stayed at Daniel Beach for spring break 2007, and it was a great experience. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room was comfy, AC worked great, and we even got american chanels on TV. I read complaints from people and i have no clue what they were talking about. I had a great experience. Only problem was the water pressure was low, and if you took a showa when alot of other ppl were taking one the hot water ran out quikly. I think that was more of an island problem than a hotel problem though. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful to us the entire time. They helped us when we got locked out of our room and were all around nice the entire time. There was 24 hour security, and they were also very helpful and friendly. Bottom line, Daniel beach was a great hotel, and a great location. I would recomend it any day. I would especially recommend it for spring breakers. I had a blast and will definately be there in 2008. Oh yea.. just laugh and joke with the cab drivers outside, you can get them to take you where you need to go for about 100 JA. Dont pay anymore.

  • Liked — It was directly across the street from the beach.
  • Disliked — The water pressure was bad. And they only gave us towels, No face clothes.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimplez610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, mass
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2007

Daniel Village gives you a touch of the Jamaican Jungle. Furnished with coconut trees and colorful bushes, this quaint and cozy hotel has no distractions (room phones, televisions, alarm clocks, but they do have air conditioners) so you can truly relax and enjoy your vacation. I highly recommend the all inclusive package because the free drinks are strong, and the food is EXCELLENT!! The staff is amazing (helpful, and friendly). The pool is nicely located in front of the bar. We stayed a week and were sad to leave.

Helpful?
1 Thank iamthetruth28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2007

Love it. Perfect place to stay in Jamaica. Staff is friendly and the rooms are nice. REal Jamaica feel.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank yamonlovesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2006

My stay at Daniel's was fabulous. The staff was very hospitable and accomodating. The rooms were clean, spacious and relaxing. The grounds was well kept and secure. The security guard was friendly and informative.

  • Liked — The clean, spacious room
  • Disliked — No entertainment on the grounds
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sherooco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2006

We love Daniel Beach! We have been going there for about 5 years. Sophia and the rest of the staff are the nicest people I've ever met. Prices are great, some of the rooms have kitchens and some don't. Water pressure is a little low but that happens all over the island. They also have 2 ocean front rooms that are 15 feet from the shore. They come with kitchen, bathroom, dining area and numerous beds. We have rented that the last 2 times we were down there and worked perfect!!!!! Watch the sunset from your patio! Security is not an issue. We have never had a problem at this resort. Will be back again February of 2007.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bseeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.7 km away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#73 of 84 in Negril
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 km away
The Golden Sunset Hotel
The Golden Sunset Hotel
#70 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.4 km away
Villa La Cage
Villa La Cage
#75 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.9 km away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#51 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.9 km away
Bourbon Beach Hotel
Bourbon Beach Hotel
#46 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardenia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardenia Resort

Property: The Gardenia Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Daniel Village Resort)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gardenia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gardenia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniel Village Hotel Negril
Daniel Village Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing