We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
662
67
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
67
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cave dinner blue hole hot tub rum bar blue dolphin our honeymoon the cliff bird's nest sands bar island outpost butterfly room moon shadow other guests banana pancakes foot jump couples massage private sunset
Filter
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 754 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We just came back from a fabulous 5 night stay at the Caves with our two teenage sons. It was one of our best family vacations ever. The setting is spectacular, beautifully appointed and unique cottages are seemlessly set into the cliffs above beautiful blue waters. The grounds are impeccably kept, and soft jamaican music drifts in the background. There are only 11 cottages, so it is very quiet and private. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage that overlooked the water. Built into the cliffs are private little areas to sunbathe or read, we did a lot of both.. jumping into the water and exploring the caves that lie beneath the resort. The service is unbelievably wonderful, the staff is so friendly and kind. It's an all inclusive resort has delicious home-cooked gourmet jamaican style food that we all loved, especially those banana pancakes and jamaican style hash browns in the morning!. The open bar was great, and you could go and make yourself a cocktail or snack on the homemade banana bread or brownies all day. There was plenty to do or nothing....Paul, one of the staff arranged anything water activity we could think of. We had a spectacular private dinner in one of the caves, with hundreds of candles and fresh flowers and impeccable service. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patty034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Wife & I were at The Caves Feb. 15-20 for a little R&R. We had been reading all the great reviews for this place on trip advisor for the past year. Everything that we read was completely accurate. This place is truly a hidden gem. The resort was at 100% occupancy when we arrived, yet we did not see very many people. This is the type of place that you can spend time reflecting and enjoying yourself without tripping over someone every step of the way. Here is our review of what we found appealing about this resort. The staff really makes the resort, what ever you want; they will go out of their way to accommodate. We were told that this was our home and to help our selves as though we were at home. The bartenders are the best (if you need one); we fixed several of our own drinks. Several things that we recommend; couples massage, private cave dinner (most romantic thing we have ever done), jump from the top cliff. These are just a few of the things that made our trip special. We also recommend booking a private car from the airport. The food was great, rooms were great and most of all the people we met were fantastic. If you are looking for an all inclusive; with the best food & drink, look no further. One warning, if you need excitement (i.e.: pool volleyball, games, ECT.) this is not the place for you; this is a place to unwind and relax with your significant other. Thanks to everyone at The Caves for a wonderful week. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DixieMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Before booking this vacation, I searched high and low for bad reviews on The Caves. I could not find ANY. I now know why! This place is absolute heaven. I have traveled many places and this has been the best vacation to date. My husband and I went for 5 nights to celebrate this past year...we had twins. We wanted to get away to relax and spend time together...this was the perfect place for us! Beautiful resort, amazing food, incredible staff and overall a truly unique experience that will not dissapoint. I was a little scared to book this place because it was so different, but trust me, take the risk...JUMP OFF A CLIFF! The Caves will leaving a lasting splash.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbrownatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2009

If I could spend everyday at The Caves, I would! Simple, the best experience you can imagine, the view unreal. From spa to service, it's the best hotel I have yet to experience!

Stayed: January 2009
3  Thank free-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2009

My friends and I stayed at the Caves in January 2009, and we had a great time overall. Here are just a few pros and cons about the resort that might be helpful for those considering a stay here.

Pros:
- The food is very good overall, particularly the main dishes and soups. Traditional Jamaican dishes were especially good.
- The grounds are well kept and have beautiful views of the surrounding area and water. The sunsets are gorgeous.
- Staff is very friendly and usually goes out of their way to help and ensure you’re happy and enjoying your stay.
- Excellent spa with very good service. View from spa is beautiful.
- Snacks and drinks are plentiful at all times of day. Drinks were particularly good.
- There are excellent spots to cliff dive all over the property – a fun and amazing experience every guest must try. It can be a bit scary at first, but definitely a unique feature of the property.
- The décor of the rooms are cheerful and colorful.
- Although there is no glass on the windows, we had no problems with bugs in our rooms.
- Good snorkeling opportunities in the surrounding waters of the property.
- Security is excellent on the grounds, and we had no problems during our stay.

Cons:
- Desserts overall were not so memorable.
- Showers have low pressure and don’t always provide reliably warm water.
- There is no glass on the cottage windows (only wooden shutters that don’t all close properly). This can interfere with privacy and make it difficult to tune out noises and conversations from outside.
- Rick’s Café, the tourist trap down the street, blasts music across the water and doesn’t stop until 8 pm each day.
- There is no sand beach on the property, but you can take a short taxi ride to the 7-mile beach (which has beautiful white sand, but is extremely touristy and crowded).
- There are no phones or are only poorly working phones in some rooms – a recent lighting strike put some of them out of order. They said they are working on replacing and repairing them soon.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank gupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews