We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our wedding was here in 2010” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our wedding was here in 2010”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I completely forgot to write a review while everything was fresh in my head. The place was excellent. We were upgraded to the room with free room service and a view of the sea. Our wedding took place in the gazebo on beach. The photographer was ok, but no complaints here since I didn't have to stress over choosing many services. For the reception, the DJ played just about all the songs we requested. Only I would do is request that the DJ play the songs after dinner. It's hard when he's playing your song and you have food I your mouth. I had my make and hair done at the salon on the resort and she did a great job. Either way, dancing barefoot in the sand with your loved ones is a feeling that you will never forget. Doing a destination wedding was one of the best decisions we have ever made, and truly one of the happiest moment...so far. For the most part, the food was great. I don't remember the name of the restaurants, so I can't recommend a specific one. If you have single friends attending your wedding and they don't want to stay at this couple resort, they can stay at the sandals resort next to it. Four of my friends booked a room there. If you are planning a wedding here, feel free to ask me any questions.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akira_n_Jubei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,166
    1,095
    388
    167
    118
See reviews for
195
3,795
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Sandals Negril is located on the beach, and I mean ON the beach in Negril. Its nice, very expensive but it does have some great qualities.
My wife and I scuba dive alot, usually in the carribean but we never dove in Jamaica, so with a family wedding planned in Jamaica, we thought it would be fun to try diving there as well.
After checking out several resorts we decided on Sandals Negril, an AI, with 2-dives/ day included as well. The boats looked good, we knew we were getting ‘guided’ dives, but with little to no current we figured we would be able to enjoy the bottom time.
What Sandals don’t tell you in the website is that if you don’t have AOW or better you must do 20 minutes in the pool, then are restricted to the second dive of the day for your first outing, their shallow dive (22 feet!) before being allowed to do the 2 dives/day. It doesn’t matter if you were diving ™he week before, how many dives you have, no exceptions.
We are AOW so we could forego the pool soaking, but we ended up losing 2 days worth of dives trying to schedule this all out.
The Boats are fine, very clean, very thorough briefing by the captain then off we go.
The dives sites are right out front, so a few minutes and we’re there; no real dive breaking, only follow us, 40 minutes max, 3 minutes safety stop then all on the boat.
The first few dives were interesting, we saw no big fish at all, lots of small stuff though, and we could take pictures, so long as the DM’s were fishing, and not only for Lionfish.....
On the dives where the DMs were not fishing however, it was ‘ follow me, keep up’, on our last dive (5th dive on a 7 day trip) it was a marathon distance dive, everyone was 20 feet +/- above the reef and finning like there was no tomorrow. I took 7 pics at the beginning of the dive, realised that the DM had no intention of slowing down , even a little to allow us to take a few pics, so as we regained the group ( we did fall back a ways but always had the group in view) the DM scolded us for being too far, turned around, lit his afterburners and off we flew to some point I imagine we had to attain.... so needless to say I didn’t get my eighth picture either.
Once back at the resort for our SI, the DM again came over to chastise us for not staying in formation. That did it for us.
So if you want to spend a ton of money to not really (unfortunately) enjoy the surprisingly nice reefs in Negril, Sandals is it. If you like to take underwater pictures, not so much.
I guess it proves the old adage: you get what you pay for. Being AI, the dive people seemed a little less motivated to accommodate the divers, they only seem to want to do their cookie cutter diving, I guess its OK for some, just not for us.
The Resort on the other hand was very nice, the rooms are OK, getting a little dated but well kept, the restaurants were all very good, the Italian and Japanese stood out as being excellent. Breakfast and dinner were at the buffet restaurant, great selection, very clean, no complaints.
I sent the resort a detailed report as to our experience and the « box reply » we got back just confirmed to me that they don’t really care that we had a problem, lets just say that Sandals will be off our list of destinations, as far as dive vacationing goes, and probably in general as well.

Room Tip: The 'premium' rooms are the poorest rooms, look to upgrade or you may only have a window to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Where's the beach? Stayed here about 10 years ago and Negril beach is one of best we have ever stayed. Now because of numerous storms much of the beach is gone and we were forced to share our space with people we don't know. The only decent beach is where the "butler service" rooms are located. The butler's come out at 7am and reserve all the best louge chairs at the water's edge. Even though we paid $3,000.00 for 6 days for a beach front room we still felt like second class guests. The water here is beautiful. Calm and blue/green. The water sports are fine, and the service is still very good. The food has become average as compared to the first time we were here. The crowd was a bit roudy at times; but not too distracting, and our room was very quiet at night. Still like the Sandles; but next time we will try another Sandles.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are steps from the beach. Very convenient. The Butler's service rooms are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lenlo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our 6th trip to Sandals Negril and we can't wait to go back. We scuba dive and even though the reef has been damaged by previous storms, it is still beautiful and full of life. We saw dolphins, sharks, turtles, groupers, eels and a large variety of smaller fish. The resort is small, but that's why we like it. We have many friends among the staff and it's like visiting family. Delroy greeted us on arrival, Warren made sure that our room was satisfactory, Alicia setup out scuba diving, Donovan (beach grille) made his special sandwich for us. Josh, Wayne, Emron, Philip, Kimar, Breaker, Captain Cory, Captain Hook, Alicia and Michelle made our dive trips very memorable. Robert (bartender at the main bar) would have my favorite drink ready for me as soon as he saw me. Willie was nice enough to let my wife and I win at volleyball (he also has a great voice). Warren, Jolene, Gayeon (another beautiful voice) and Russell from the Soon Come Back desk are the best. Evan is the new head chef and is doing a wonderful job with the food. It would take me days to list everyone at Sandals Negril that have made this resort one of our favorite places to visit.

Room Tip: The road is relatively close, so if road noise is a problem for you get a beachfront or ocean view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tproven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I'm giving this five stars due to mainly the service we received from our butlers, and compared to the other resorts we saw on this stretch of Seven Mile beach, this is the nicest. I highly recommend you get an upgraded room. Very clean room. Bed was large and so comfy with great large pillows! Large shower and whitlpool tub. Fridge is not always re stocked each day as they say. Sometimes we had to contact our butlers to bring more water or wine. Having the butler service is the way to go. Our butlers Tavia and Dwayne were awesome, simply the best! They did a wonderful job. They can get you into any of the restaurants anytime you like and will get you one of the best tables available. They always want to make sure you are happy and always provide little surprises each day and night that make the stay just that more special and romantic. And somehow they just seem know when to appear and when to leave you be! We cannot say enough about them. I would not stay here without the butler service otherwise service you do get here is hit and miss. At times we felt totally ignored when trying to get drinks at the bar or the beach cafe. I know we were on Jamaican time but 20 min without even an aknowledgement is too long. Having the butler service eliminates this.

Downside: Not all staff were friendly, some were rude and short. One evening at the piano bar we watched all the bartenders pretty much take the night off. One spent his time in the mens restroom on his cell phone all night, the other sat at the bar with his head hung down like he was drunk too! There were never towels in the restroom by the piano bar, hand dryer in mens restroom always broke. Bartender on cell phone in the mens restrooms response to being asked when will these dryers be fixed...I don't know he replied. Bar snacks were stale, popcorn was a day old or more. Don't understand why Appleton Rum is not served there??? Not all alcohol was top shelf, but drinks were still very good. Night life was active at times, and dead on other nights. If you want to party this is probably not the place for you. Also, photographers will pester you alot, that gets annoying and expensive. Also the constant sales pitch to return gets very tiring.

Upside, really a fantastic vacation, and we really did enjoy staying there despite some annoying things, we were very sad to leave. It's a very nice resort, beach is beautiful, water is so clear and warm. It rains most afternoons so plan your out door activities for the morning. Do the booze cruise on Thursday to Ricks Cafe and Margarittaville, it's so much fun and worth it. But take note, you will have to swim from the boat to Ricks Cafe. If you can't swim or are not a good swimmer it may not be good for you as the water is very choppy and you do have to swim aways to get to the cafe. Cliff divers will ask for money constantly there! Also Glass Bottom boat tour is fun too and free. Innertube ride is also free and fun! Spa was wonderful, great couples massages. Food is also very good. Menu does not change, only a few restaurants to eat at but food was very good. Pizza was sooo good!

Very romantic resort, lots of couples and love and happiness all around! Once again thank you to Tavia and Dwayne!

Room Tip: We stayed in a honeymoon suite with butler service and I truly feel this is the way to go here. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Terricat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

We were recently at Sandals for our friend's wedding and we had the most fun ever! I have never been to all-inclusive resort, so I wasn't sure what to expect, however Sandals did not disappoint.

We stayed in a standard room that didn't have a view which was just fine, considering we spent most of our time on the beach. We only had a chance to eat the Sundowner restaurant, which was delicious and the food we had at the rehersal and reception dinner was even better.

Everywhere we looked people appeared to be having lots of fun, including the staff! We have to give a special thank you to Algero who looked after our friends and I when we rented a private cabana at the other end of the resort. He was such a nice guy and ready to help with what ever we wanted - it was certainly worth every penny we paid for it. Hope to see you again one day.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank CR2493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our second trip to Sandal Negril, and we loved it as much as the first time and maybe a little more so. We were greeted friendly and as returned guests. Staff was more than accommodating and went out of their way to make sure all our needs were met. We saw many upgrades since our last trip in 2009 and we saw many familiar faces. The new friends we met treated us a family. Giesel at the front desk was very good to us and made sure all our questions and concerns were met. Singin Sandra at the Front Lobby bar was pure joy to be around. She has got to be the best bartender in the world!! Eddison in the Bayside Restaurant area was one of the new friends and he was very pleasant and made sure to say "Hello" to us whenever we bumped into him. A very pleasant gentleman. We were so happy to see some old friends, Denato the butler, lovely lovely man, Chris the bartender, knows his stuff and Big Pappa who ran the snorkeling cruises, nice nice man and we had a great time. We did miss our Mackie though, but fortunately we bumped into him with a stroll on the beach and he is now working at Beaches. Sandals Negril lost a real entertainer when Mackie went to Beaches down the way. Hero our tour guide to Rick's Cafe was there, and we met an artist by the name of Andrew. He is also a very pleasant person and did us up two pieces of art in the week we were there and his talents should be complimented. The changes we saw at Negril were all for the better, the entertainment has improved tremendously and Bravo for a job well done. We met the young lady running the shows, but sorry I do not know her name, but she works very hard at what she does. The pool games were plentiful and fun and good times were had by all. All the new seating areas that have been added were lovely, no excuse for NOT relaxing with all those couches around. We are planning our next trip already, we will be back, and were sad to leave. Our room was upgraded from Deluxe to Premium which was a lovely surprise and being repeat guests we were "Sandalized" which was a lovely cocktail party and dinner with all repeat guests. We met so many people that have been there time after time after time. Now we can be considered the same. Do not have any doubts to visit Sandals Negril, it is a "heaven" and "paradise".

Room Tip: We stayed at the quiet end, which was far from the entertainment section - Piano Bar- highly recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank supplement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
6.4 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
2.3 km away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.6 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.6 km away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,988 reviews
44.6 km away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#10 Spa Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing