We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight Of Our Honeymoon!”
Review of Booby Cay Island

Booby Cay Island
Ranked #12 of 58 things to do in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brown Deer, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highlight Of Our Honeymoon!”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

With two other couples from our resort, we took a glass bottom water taxi for lobster lunch at Booby Cay. We chose our own live lobster ($20 for small $25 for large, we went with a large and shared it), held it and then they cooked it over an open air fire with garlic butter sauce. We ate with our hands which was a fun experience. While we waited for our lobster we explored the island a little bit. There are a TON of hermit crabs who live here. When we came back we had one of the most delicious meals I've ever had. The large lobster really did feed both of us. We chatted about Negril and Jamaica with the father and son cook duo. We did a little bit of swimming off the shore and just enjoyed the great day. Bring at least a 6 pack of Red Stripe, they will go down easily when you are that relaxed. My only advice is bring sandals you can get wet and walk in. The shoreline is quite rocky and I did cut my foot. It is a gorgeous and unique way to look at Negril.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank mlanderson16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    124
    54
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must do in Negril !!”
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

This was a awesome experience. We took
Captain Clarke Glassboat tours by Bourbon Beach. Very reasonably priced. Got to snorkel and eat freshly caught lobster from the locals on the island which is additional money. Lobster was delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sassybelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lobster Lunch..”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We took the Snorkeling Princess with Captain Johnny and his first mate Garnel to Booby Cay Island after snorkeling at the reef. We enjoyed a lobster lunch (grilled fresh on the island) with toasted bread and rum punch. We also enjoyed almonds from the trees on the island. It was fun to hang out and enjoy lunch on a deserted island..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissyo547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Lobster”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

A trip out to the island is a good time. The lobster cooked over the campfire is excellent as well as the views of seven mile beach while enroute. You can find some great shells around the island if your into that.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kevin Porter”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

While staying at Breezes in Negril I heard about the lobster man on the island not far from our resort. I found a local to take us to the island and was very honored to meet Kevin and his Dad who spend their days on the island preparing lobsters that they pull out of the sea. They were very hospitable and I found the experience to be one of my favorite of the vacation. You can have your resort call Kevin and his father will pick you up on his skiff and take you to and from the island. Kevin is also a professional soccer player, I will be rooting for his success!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolJoyce11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Booby Cay Island also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Booby Cay Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing