We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$55
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tensing Pen Resort(Negril)
US$180
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Firefly Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
128
196
149
90
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
196
149
90
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are very basicseven mile beachsmall hotelsecurity guynegril beachalways felt safea great weekreal jamaicabeautiful beachjamaican foodlaid backnight lifegreat triprecommend this resortricks cafeyoshininja
Filter
Updating list...
455 - 460 of 680 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Fun Holiday Beach Resort from January 6th to the 13th. I would go back tomorrow if I could. The beach is beautiful, the hotel is clean, the food is good and the people are wonderful: What more do you need? Dwight, the new manager as of two weeks ago, is a man with a plan. Robert, the cook, is a magician with food basics like cabbage, carrots and chicken. Dwayne, one of the servers, is attentive and easy on the eyes! Tenille, another server, always had a smile for us. Nicole, the hotel receptionist, was gracious and helpful. If you like a small hotel where you can get to know the staff, some of the locals and the other guests, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Get out and enjoy the sun, sand and surf!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizbethH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The low cost for this place says everything about what to expect. Cheap doesn't mean decent, and thats exactly what we got, cheap service; unprofessional management, low budget everything. I am a Jamaican, who lives in the USA; and I've experienced low budget living before, but this place was a disappointment. It is acceptable for someone who doesn't care much about the basics and just needs a low cost place to stay.

Starting with check in and the unprofessional owners' son (I forgot his name, Indian looking stupid cocky bwoy) who checked us in and gave us a disgusting room where the air conditioner didn't even work. I paid for "ocean view" and he thought he was funny pointing to the ocean from the rare door entrance which faced trees. front balcony faced inside of property. THERE IS NO OCEAN VIEW!!!! UNLESS YOU STAND ON FRONT BALCONY AND HANG OVER, which you still can't see ocean clearly. He was arrogant and unprofessional. Every request, he turned down and tried to justify....such a loser!!! No idea of what good customer service is.

So after pleading, we were finally given a room with wet paint (odorous) but at least it had a working air conditioner. You have to pay for a beach towel and everything is an extra cost; which wasn't explained initially. Ordered jerk chicken and it was undercooked, when we sent it back; they burnt it and it was so dry. (how do you undercook jerk chicken in Jamaica??? doesn't make any sense). Thank God we didn't get the all inclusive package because it wasn't worth it; alot of flies were around the food (buffet style) and the drink specials were small 8 oz plastic cups.

The pool is nasty; alot of moss attached to side of pool wall and floating bugs and leaves in pool. I was disgusted to even stick my foot in the water. One housekeeper only cleaned well if we tipped her. My husband asked her nicely about why she only cleaned well one day and not the others and she said "I hook you up, if you hook me up" (means tip her and she'll work).

The sheets on the bed had dried blood stain; pipe in bathroom shower leaked plenty; room door was a single cheap lock (insecure) not even a dead bolt lock. A Few mosquitos in room; sand flies all over beach biting during the daytime; free ice means a dirty plastic pitcher and a big block of ice that is broken up in the kitchen with an ice pik. Beds were hard, uncomfortable and blankets were thin and itched.

worst part is unidentified security at night that walks out of the bushes and surprised us, not even stating who he was, no form of identification on him and nosy as hell. Then the lights on the resort is shut off at night, so if you go out late; the place is pitch black comming back in. Hagglers continuously approach and don't accept "no" for an answer, at least the daytime security guard got rid of them when they lingered too long.

Beautiful Negril beach, Negril is great but this place will only work if you're someone who don't care about comfort and any sense of decency. Its lower than low budget. What helped us was being able to eat at other locations on the beach and also traveling downtown and stocking our fridge with drinks and liquor which was much cheaper. Taxi are directly out front and easy to get into downtown (short 10 mins drive), not close enough to walk. Jungle night club 5 mins. walk across street and very "American".

Room Tip: THERE ARE NO OCEAN VIEW ROOMS ON THIS PROPERTY. Save your money and select other room option. Better to only purchase room and not all inclusive option, there are plenty food places on beach to eat with more variety. Great location for Club Jungle (5mins walk across street). Easy access to Taxi directly outside property and 10 mins drive to downtown. Mama Flo's restaurant is great food and Alfreds has good music and entertainment.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tameka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed here for a week at new year and were pleasantly surprised. As has been stated before this is a 2 to 3 star property, and for the price was a great value. This was about my 30th. trip to Jamaica and have stayed many other hotels in Negril. The draught Redstrip was always cold and never had to wait long, There were frozen pina coladas and strawberry daquiris and that kept the kids happy. The rooms are very basic, but clean and we had warm to hot water and clean towels everyday. My plan was to eat breakfast and lunch here and dinners out, but the kids preferred to stay for the buffet. The pool was a great travelling with kids and was always clean. The only complaint is the pool has a wood deck and there are many nails sticking up looking for toes.(a hammer and nail punch would fix this)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank poolguywindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We can start by saying this place would be gold mine with the proper management. Went with a group of people with a variety of budgets. Check in was a mess, Management complained stating we were told to bring cash and one in our group had to provide the email stating cash/credit upon arrival for the remaining 50%, It was in extremely poor taste that they were arguing on how it should be handled, but ultimately we got rooms. Upon check in we tried to pull the drapes back and they just fell down with no way to fix them (it was never fixed). The rooms were kept as clean as possible daily. Towels were very limited and were really hard to obtain, most days it was 3 or 4 trips to office to get them (don't even ask for wash clothes). The food was good most days, variety most of the time. We could always find something every day to eat and Robert the grill man makes a fantastic jerk chicken, but management only allowed him to cook a few a day. Most of the staff were friendly, but really had their hands tied when it came to drinks/food etc. They were only allowed to have one 2 liter of soda and one bag of ice at a time with a full house. There was not a day that they did not run out of ice/soda and even RUM???? The poor bartenders spent more time running to the store room to get more ice/soda etc than they do serving drinks. Every day we were there it was a constant complaint from the management, the bartenders were serving too much rum/ice/soda/juice, it was aweful for us, I can only imagine what the poor bartenders must go through! New years eve the bar closed at 10 with the understanding that the cash bar would open. For hours management stood around arguing on how it was to be handled, so it just NEVER opened and we went next door and had a great time at Aqua. Really if your looking for a "no problem" vacation this is NOT the place. It was uncomfortable to get drinks knowing they were constantly watching and calculating each ice cube, more over you had to have sympathy for the bartenders knowing they were going to get in trouble for serving you too much. All and all we had a great vacation, but if your thinking your going to get all inclusive YOUR NOT! The location is wonderful, its a great part of the strip, but really if your going in to have a nice hassle free vacation, this is not the place. With new management and a little maintenance this place would be ideal! But until then spend the extra hundred and stay someplace else.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PAMSTLOUIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Like others we read plenty of reviews before booking. We are very seasoned traveler's and this being our 3rd trip to Negril in 6 month's I think we can be share our experience with a little knowledge.
First and foremost we have to say we booked this hotel for the price & location, being the Christmas & New years holiday season prices are at there highest. We went in with pretty low expectations.

THE GOOD....
Location,Very good, pretty much in the middle of 7 mile beach (one of the nicest beaches in the Caribbean) nice beach front your room is only a stones throw away.
Bar service, well I only drink beer(tip,bring your own mug as the glasses are very small), it was always cold, limited selection of spirits, my wife tried almost everything they had to offer and always found something to wet her whistle..yes they did run out of certain mix and spirits on occasion. We thought the bartenter's were great, always smiling and they pretty much had my beer poured when they saw me coming. We did tip $ on a regular basis, a couple of bucks everyday went along way, I must say in the entire week, maybe it was timing but we didn't witness any other guests tipping. So we couldn't order a Margaritta or a glass of wine but I really don't think we went there with that expectation..on another note, why they have a swim-up bar is questionable as it isn't included in the AI & is cash only? It was empty the whole week, go figure.
Maid service...they really do the best with what they have to work with & they are really friendly, we did leave a little something everyday. Even had flower petals left on the bed, towel animals..nice touch. thanx Jennifer.
THE FAIR...
Food, pretty much buffet for breakfast,lunch,Dinner. We came thinkin we would eat breakfast a couple of lunches & go out to dinner most evenings. The selection is limited, breakfast was OK, once they didn't have scambled eggs & we requested that & they made to order, coffee was luke warm a couple of days, lunch, jerk chicken on the beach was good, although not available everyday? (watch for the bones though)kind of thought burgers & dogs would be BBQ'd but not the case..so although not promoted there is a menu you can order off, they really don't seem to happy if you do, so we order something around 11:00 one morning and after close to an hour we are told it won't be ready until the buffet is served..in another hour. Dinner, only ate once, average at best. Tip..if you going to use the resort for all your meals, find out when they start and be ready to eat close to that time or you may miss out.Lot's of good places to eat out within walkin distance if you like to explore like us. Patties from (Norman) on the beach are the best!

THE NOT SO GOOD....
well if you have read alot of the previous reviews about the rooms you will know they are really basic, that is true.heard people complain about the hard beds, we accually liked them. Although the room is surfaced cleaned Ok, somethings do need some TLC...leaking faucet, shower curtain was filthy,dresser drawers broken,ripped curtains,marks all over the walls, hot water was always not available. All we really wanted anyway was a place to lay our heads,a coat of paint would do wonders for this place and some really basic maintenance.

One evening a neighbouring property had the music pounding throughout most of the early morning (no it wasen't new years) Hey I love to party too, but that loud all night.just saying

We did have storm one evening and the resorts beach took a pounding..large waves,downed sun shades, garbage..fair enough, that's mother nature, funny thing the resort made no effort to move the sun shades out of the way and to clean up the beach to make it guest friendly again..even 36 hours later? I could have made that beach look great in couple of hours, but the had resort staff standing around doing nothing?

IN CLOSING....yes we had a good vacation, met some great people, we think we basically got what we paid for, it is one of least expensive resort hotels right on 7 miles beach. Would we stay here again, no, however we met people that loved it, so everyone has a different experience, we just shared what ours was. So if you want a 4-5 star stay at one, if you want a 2-3 star on a budget this just may work for you.If you do read enough reviews you will have a pretty good idea as what you may or may not expect from Fun Holiday, if you do go and you have re-seached enough, don't go and complain all week..we didn't ,you are getting what you pay for! make realistic expectations and you should have a good vacation wherever you go. Happy Holidays. Ya Mon

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CaseyMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews