We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
128
197
150
90
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
197
150
90
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are very basicseven mile beachsmall hotelsecurity guynegril beachalways felt safea great weekreal jamaicabeautiful beachjamaican foodlaid backnight lifegreat triprecommend this resortricks cafeyoshininja
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 682 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Well let me start with saying Jamaica is beautiful, and so are the people there. Very freindly, and nice (although mostly for tips ofcourse but expected).

Fun Holiday is a dump. Ill start with saying we were on a all inclusive stay there. All inclusive is a strong word for this place... The bartenders are shady, running out of rum everyday. Although surprisingly a 10 dollar bill and they found some more... The food is jamaica is very good, but not at the resort. In 7 days the had bacon bacon twice. The meat for breakfast was a pink died hot dog thing or canned vienna sausages... gross. Not to mention the didnt serve breakfast till 830 or later, dinner at 230 or later and supper not till 8! The entire place shutdown at 10... not a soul around except a lonley security guard... We ate out most nights, fairly cheap to do so, and way worth it as the food was such a let down in the resort...

This is the kinda hotel you stay at when everything else is booked, even then only one night and you sleep in your clothes... Very poor food, poor service, poor quality pool and "warm tub" not hot tub... The place is run down, and has poor managment. I would definatley not recomend here to anyone, much nicer hotels to spend your vacation in.

Room Tip: Had freinds staying in the rooms on the sunny side of the resort... they seemed a little cleaner and bit more updated
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank K_S_D_S_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Having looked at many reviews for this place, fully knowing what I was getting myself into, I was still disappointed.

Upon arrival, no room was ready, no lunch was available, and no red stripe to be had from the “all inclusive” bar (fly infested) menu which clearly had red stripe beer on it.

Room had no toilet paper, no towels, not a glass to be found, no ash tray, no remote for the T.V. no battery for the clock that was sitting under the T.V. no fridge that had been requested, no king size bed that had been requested, I could go on....

The all inclusive buffet was horribly disgusting... Can you guess how many ways they can cook up breakfast hot dogs????

Janet at the beach hut is a super nice lady.... Tony at the same hut can fix you up with what ever you need, i.e. a drive, water sports, etc.

The beach and sun were “formidable”.... Paid the evening security guard to fix me up with a few beach chairs in my best spot each morning. A few bucks goes a long way...

Would I return, maybe, for the beach, sun and location... Would I get the all inclusive, NOT... So many vendors going up and down the beach... Fruit in the a.m. Fresh veggies you can buy for fresh salad and sandwiches... Junk food up and down the beach during the day... Out for dinner... .

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor....
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paloots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We had read reviews prior to leaving (we got back early this morning, Jan. 28,2012) and I had been thinking while we were there how to write a review. We arrived to a very basic (though roomy) very clean room.
We had a few annoying glitches when we arrived - no remote for either the TV or A/C (which use them, unlike North American A/Cond.) But these got straightened out. By the way, these air conditioners work really well, and are virtually silent. We found the beds on the firm side, but comfortable.
We had stayed in several large all-inclusives before (including a Barcello), so this small place - about 44 rooms - took a bit of adjusting to. We found the food to be just fine. It is like a buffet at a small banquet - not the huge variety at large all-inclusives. Want to eat out? Fun Holiday is virtually in the middle of 7-mile beach (by the way, spectacularly beautiful, with little change in tide), and a walk either way down the beach yields dozens of places to eat.
Variety of drinks at the bar is limited, and there is no water sports equipment, but boats are handy for a few dollars to go snorkelling at the nearby reef (not to mention parasailing). And the pool and hot tub are excellent (though most swim in the ocean).
You get to know the staff, and they you. They are extremely friendly and helpful. We almost felt like family. Treat them well (tips are not solicited but much appreciated). Their pay is low, and - to put it delicately - the owner does not appreciate how valuable they are to the operation.
Being a small place, you also get to know many other people staying there.
We had a marvellous time, and are considering returning next year (as are several other couples we met).
A few tips:
1) English is their first language. 2) The American and Jamaican Dollar can both be used (about $85 Jamaican to $1 American). 3) Bargaining is done respectfully - and the first price offered will be close to the selling price. Vendors are generally not pushy.
4) Hire a taxi for a day (about $120-$150) and go to YS Falls and Pelican Bar (do the Falls first). 5) Go to Rick's Cafe to see the cliff diving. If you take a taxi watch the cliff diving then go next door - to the south just past the vacant lot- and have a quiet drink at a small restaurant there. Ricks is a real tourist trap.
Finally, we always felt safe moving around the area.
Go with an open mind and reasonable expectations, and you will really enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: A note about the rooms. The coastline is north-south at this point, and the rooms face each other parallel to the shore. Consequently, the rooms (and porches) on one side all face the sun all day, and the other side is in shade. If you want to be in the shade, ask for a room in block "A" or "B". In the sun, block "D" or "E". The only exceptions are the 4 rooms at the beach end of Block D, which face west towards the ocean. The lower rooms (I think) are D109 and D110. We had one of the upper rooms, which are D20 and D21. These two rooms have a nice view over the pool to the ocean. The surcharge for our room is $35 a night if booked in advance - $50 otherwise. These 4 rooms also (go figure) have kitchenettes. For us the extra for our room was well worth it].
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donalda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I travelled to Jamaica, with my family, for a 12 day adventure beginning January 9, 2012. My parents had previously stayed at the Fun Holiday Beach Resort and as such, they contact them prior to our trip to discuss pricing and availability.
When we arrived at FHB (my first time there), we were greeted by Miss Nicole, with whom my mother had been conversing. Everything was as discussed (price, rental of fridge & in-room safe.) We were staying for 7 nights before departing for 2 nights and returning to FHB for an additional 3 nights.
We were assisted to our rooms with our luggage. Upon entering the room and getting settled, we found there were a few small ants in the bathroom (many more in the second room) - but nothing to make it a bad stay! The beds were relatively comfortable in the first room (D24), but quite hard in the second room (B207). The A/C in D24 was loud - almost like a helicopter ... not great for sleeping, but it worked great! The A/C in B207 was good all around.
We ate 1 meal at the on-site restaurant (we were not all-inclusive) and we were both pleased and disappointed. The 2 for 1 lobster was good, but the jerk chicken left much to be desired. We ordered 2 for 1 daq's and found you must ask for rum to be added.
The beach was kept clean and the beach chairs were set out every morning. The beach security guard was very friendly and helpful. She even remembered that we were looking for the Jerk Pork fellow who walks the beach and was able to stop him for us.
It was all-in-all a very good location. I would go back, for sure.

Room Tip: The left side of the site (facing the water) is a great side as the balconies are shaded in the morning, whereas the right side is directly in the sun - and hot! If the A/C doesn't seem to work, make sure the setting isn't on "fan only".
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Slanderson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2012

First they cancelled our airport transfer for no apparent reason, so we were stuck at the airport upon arrival to Jamaica. Then, when we finally got a ride to the hotel, they informed us upon check in that they did not have a room for us!!!!! They said they were putting us up in a "5 star resort". The resort they put us in was nicer than Fun Holiday, but in no way even close to what they said it would be. Not to mention that it was all the way at the end of the beach, and we picked Fun Holiday partly because of it's location. They did offer us 2 free breakfasts and 2 free dinners for our trouble, but when we went to have the 1st free breakfast, they barely had any food left and were so rude we never went back for our remaining free meals. I stayed here about 4 years ago and had a totally different experience. They must have changed owners/management becuase 4 years ago the property was in much better shape and the staff was extremely nice. I'll never book here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MURS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews