We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel not Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fun Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #67 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Motel/Resort very dated: still use keys, rooms are clean but old stained sheets, old blanket, thin ugly curtains, but beds are clean & comfy. Shower didn't work half the time but maybe because drought?, very basic, clean towels and facecloth (2), and 2 soaps..that is it, no door handle for patio door. You have to use the curtain to wedge the door close. There is a flat screen tv with lots of chanels. Chairs on patio half broken and not very confortable. Reception area closes around 11pm. I am not sure even if the security guard is at the gate 24 hrs! The outside needs paint and TLC. The pool was dirty..we did not use it. The restaurant/bar need to fix the problem with the hornets! The food was ok, not too much variety. Vegetables like carrots, corn , maybe patatoe wedges or mashed would have been nice for supper. The entertainment, band on beach with jetk chicken super very good, pool side supper with dj was also good. Personal preference...are the little bands and dj...the bingo & trivia not for me. Sound system is bad. We had to reserve shade 7am. Chairs not too confortable. Steps going to beach is an accident waiting to happen. Now, that being said, the staff is exceptional! We were greated with wet hot towels and a nice fruit drink. The security guy brought our luggage up, the bartenders, yoshi, shaggy (all of them), waitresses, security guy Anthony, Country the DJ all super helful and sweet. I gave this review a two star because of the beautiful!!! Beach and nice staff. I still felt safe at this resort. This resort could be so great with some updates. I will not be returning to this resort but if you go ... Tips; bring blanket (heat pump keeps room cold), beach towel, mug, dry shampoo, shampoo,conditionner, small alarm clock, no high heels, simple dressing like casual maxi or mini or shorts, men shorts and tshirts are fine, neck or wrist key chain , meds like advil, gravol, Imodium, benadrill, plasters (I bring these even at a 5 star resort) there is a store 3 minutes walk away and it is safe to walk there, safe is $4 a day, fridge is $5 or $4 a day. Have the right change to buy from vendors on beach as they will give you back Jamaican $( $1us aprx .07cents). Free raggea concerts on beach near by. Margarettaville 10 min walk to right but very pricey, prices does not incl. taxes & gratuity (18% add to price) one plate 5 shrimps & fries & one Pepsi $30 us. We paid $2625 for two for this trip from New Brunswick. We still enjoyed our stay with friends.

Room Tip: 40 rooms they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

Staff are excellent. Food is good. Beach is amazing. Clean room. Nothing fancy. Was quiet around 9pm. If you are looking to be spoiled and pampered this is not the place for you. If you are looking for an economical place to stay with good food, clean room, and nice beach, then this is the place for you. A hint: get up very early to reserve your nice shady place on the beach, otherwise you will be chasing the shade all day.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jamaicatrip2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Mom & I travelled to Fun Holiday Beach Resort during March Break, Sunday to Sunday to be exact.. The moment we stepped off the bus, it was just a beginning of an Negril Adventure at its finest. We knew we were not expecting 5 Stars.. but Let me share with you our FIVE STAR TREATMENT at the Down To Earth, Cozy, Safe, Friends & You Know it FUN!!!
Down To Earth: We experienced so much RESPECT from such an Amazing Team, everyone works together from Steve to Patrick to Country to Princess Fiona...
Cozy: Our rooms were basic, met our needs and had full control of AC, Enjoyed sitting at the porch where new neighbours would stop for a chat..
Safe: With Patrick, Willie working .. we never had worries... no worries, Patrick & WIllie took great care of us throughout our whole stay.. even the cab, transportation... always felt safe
Friends : We easily made Friends at our Home Away from Home, yes, we shared the karaoke stage with Mr & Mrs Barry, played Bingo & won three in a row, Trivia Night Jokes with Country, Friendships Bloom..
FUN: Laughter, Dancing ( Dancing Classes) , Singing, and of course the Beach, LOVED Every Minute..
Thank You & Much Respect from Lady Duce & Mother Duce :)

Room Tip: " Ground Floors Rooms are the Best to Socialize"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duces2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Do you want fun, food, and relaxation? Do you want it at a low price? Go here. This place was cheap but good. Clean. This is not a FIVE star. Expect basic amenities. Nevertheless, you will have tasty local cuisine, fresh fruit, and quick and easy access to the most incredible beach in the world. The Negril beach is tranquil. What a gem!!!

Room Tip: We booked our hotel package separately from our flight. Much cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CanFamily1371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We arrived at Fun Holiday It was amazing! Once settled in to our rooms everything was great. Gary our bartender makes the best pina coladas on the beach. Toya, and Tanisha made sure our young diabetic had the milk and snacks he needed between meals they made us feel like family. Country our entertainer and mc was truly amazing! every day and evening were even filled. A talented-fun-

Room Tip: all rooms have tv and ac little patio and comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lucindaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Booked our stay for the seconded time because of the great time we had last year! This resort is a diamond in the rough. Is Jamaica a place for family maybe not ! So don't bring your kids or go stay at a big 5 star hotel and stay on the resort. We stayed March 12-19 2017

We had another great week at what feels like a home away from home. The staff and services made us feel so welcome and helped to make some great memories again this year! We appreciated the changes and improvement efforts that we saw from last year to this year. Knowing what to expect, we were never disappointed. The room was basic and clean. The housekeeping was excellent and very trustworthy. We were never concerned for our stuff. It was nice to see that the safe was no longer on the floor. We especially appreciated the efforts from the reservation staff to ensure that we had the same room as last year, as per our request. The food was good and even the non adventurous could find something to eat, even if it was a la carte French fries. The servers and chefs were always accommodating and Steve and his staff really make sure that the guests are having a positive experience. The bar staff, especially Gary and Yoshie, made everyday a pleasure to come get our drinks and always made sure to make your drink as you wanted and as an ad bonus this year the staff would come to us with drinks on the beach, great service It was great that they remembered us from our last visit and our interactions continued as if we had never left! The entertainment is amusing to say the least. Country is a character that you will never forget. He too, remembered us from last time and we just continued on with all the shenanigans as if we were family members at a reunion. We had a blast all week long being entertained and being part of the entertainment, making sure that all those around us we having fun too! The guards, day and night, Mackenzie at the gate, Patrick and Willie on the beach, were wonderful and again we never even thought about being worried about our safety. It was a great week! We already miss the beach and ocean, and of course the great people that we have met and consider family! Not for People who think 5 star standards. bring your own towels. Go up to the store buy a bottle or 2 of your favourite alcohol for after 10:00 pm when the bar closes or becomes a cash Bar ! The party on the beach is fun too or go to the jungle Bar across the street till 4 am $20 bucks gets you in and all you can drink great value. Be sure to TIP WELL The staff work very hard to make sure you feel safe and enjoy your stay! P.S the beach is close clean and beautiful (thanks Chris) take the time to get to know the staff they are awesome .

Special note to the staff Thanks for the memories and we are already looking to book for next year!

Barry and Karyn (aka Mr and Mrs Barry)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Rooms are clean and basic. Air conditioning works well. There is a pool and resort is right on the beach. They have security 24/7. Short walk from many great bars and restaurants. I would def stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.8 km away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#37 of 80 in Negril
969 reviews
0.8 km away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#45 of 80 in Negril
216 reviews
1.3 km away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#50 of 80 in Negril
283 reviews
1.2 km away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.7 km away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#39 of 80 in Negril
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fun Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Holiday Beach Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $77 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fun Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Mile Negril beach resort hotel with pool, hot tub, watersports, jet skis, live reggae 2 nights a week, other parties and events! Beach and pool bars, seaside seafood and Jamaican specialties restaurant, room service, internet connection, cable TV, air conditioning - check out our internet specials! For the best value on the Negril beach check out Fun Holiday Beach Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fun Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fun Holiday Beach Hotel Negril
Fun Holiday Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing