We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catcha Falling Star

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
california
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My best friend and I had a "girls vacation" at Catcha that was something from a fairy tale. Our villa was Star and it's two bedrooms gave us plenty of room, complete with a living room, full kitchen, and a private back patio with its own outdoor shower under the shade of trees - I have never enjoyed showering so much! Every morning we dined on our shaded veranda that wrapped around 2/3 of the villa, with views out to the ocean and the flower garden. Ivan's supplied most of our meals, and they were delicious! I have food allergies, and their staff was more than willing to accommodate me. The food was always fresh and amazing. In fact everyone working there was truly lovely. How many places do you stay at where you can hear staff humming or singing quietly to themselves as they work? Always a friendly greeting with a warm smile. Ivan's also became our favorite hang out at night, as the bar comes alive with fellow Catcha guests, and great music and drinks supplied by bartenders/singers extraordinare Kevin and Ty. Everyone becomes your friend. we spent our days lounging on the poolside cliff or reading in our hammocks, then jumping into the incredibly turquoise warm waters. Catchas staff helped us plan trips to Mayfield Falls, snorkeling, and massages. The expats bar just up the street, LTU pub, was a blast (we were lucky enough to be there for their 70's party!). in all, hardly a day passes when I do not have some flash of our lovely stay at Catcha. Their staff made us feel like queens, and you cannot beat this location for charm and sheer Jamaican beauty. I feel very fortunate to have had this experience.

Room Tip: Star's two bedroom villa is perfect for two couples or friends or even a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akumaldreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    146
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
97
590
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The grounds, views, service, food, beverage, and staff in general were spectacular. The accommodations were a slightly different story. Since I was a solo traveler, I stayed in the little capricorn, which is their budget room on the first floor of the main building. The room was directly adjacent to a workers' storage shed or something; therefore, it was noisy in the morning. I did not mind too much since I was by myself and wake up early, but I could see this a potential problem for a couple or a small family. The room also had a very high ceiling and it looked pretty dusty up there and on the ceiling fan.

In summary, I would definitely return, but would stay in a different room.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenmc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This property is amazing. it is cute, quaint, and has amazing views. It is extremely clean. The staff is very friendly, especially the security guards at the main gate. Ivan's food is good, but the menu is small and does not change. The cliffside lounging areas were awesome and the pool was clean. The outdoor shower rocked my world. The drinks were strong and cheap. The on-site dog was adorable and friendly. The jerk chicken stand directly across they street was delicious, and 3 dives is not too far. The store across the street is good, but we went into Negril and went to the grocery store. Much cheaper, and we paid $5 round trip for a cab.

There is a private driver around, he is great. I cannot remember his name. He drives a lime green car, which is unique color around Negril. Ask the guard his name and request that driver. He was reliable and very friendly.

But a few warnings:
Make sure you stay near the water, not the road. The constant noise of traffic and barking/howling dogs was tiring. We were here on our honeymoon, just coming from an extremely noisy resort. We wanted a few nights of quiet, but out of a total of 15 days in Negril, neither of us slept a full night. We stayed in The Gatehouse, and the road was literally on the other side of the wall from our bed. Everyone has a large, loud gaurd dog, and the narrow road is very busy all of the time. Also, if you stay in The Gatehouse be prepared for the bell to ring and gate to be opened and rattling your fence, a lot. Especially when Ivan's opens. We did not really mind that, but just a warning.

Be prepared for a constant hassle if you walk outside of the gates. Haggles, roadside peddlers, and random thieves. Never, EVER take ANYTHING from anyone. There are people everywhere trying to "give" you things, then make you pay some high amount for it. Then harass you if you decline, or make the mistake of taking whatever crap they want you to buy. There are old men who follow you and contact lay beg , there are creepy men on bikes that follow you around asking for money. The walk to nearby restaurants includes a jaunt past a ganja stinking chicken place where the patrons harass you and try and talk you out of money. It did not seem to be that bad when we were down on the beach. But man, up on those cliffs, you need to stay alert.

The hotel was nice, but the surroundings are not. If you are alert and careful, and get a room away for the road, this place is amazing!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road! Book early, it is small and fills up fast. Word is spreading about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I learned about Catcha Falling Star from a friend. Best way to describe it is "A Piece of Heaven on Earth". Purpose of trip was; a family birthday celebration. The birthday dinner table was so elegant; candles, gold dinner chargers, bows on chairs. The food sumptuous, right to the end; the desert, the flambe, and the service, second to none. Our room, Pisces, oh! so quaint. Highly recommend this resort for family celebrations, a couples get-away, or to hook up with friends, and for business travels. If you're traveling solo, this is the place to stay, the staff makes you feel like you're part of the family.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I recently spent a month at Catcha this year. When we discovered Catcha several years ago, we knew this would be our permanent place for our vacation. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean, the food and drinks at Ivans bar is fantastic. We have stayed at other resorts on the cliffs in the past, but I highly recommend Catcha. The view is to die for. There are hidden places to relax and watch the boats go by. Ricks is only a step away. I cannot say enough good things about this resort. In fact we are going back in April, only for a week this time, but we will return for our month in 2013. Go ahead..give it a try. I am sure you will not regret it!

Room Tip: We always go for the suites since we like to occasionally cook. All of the rooms seem nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dive01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enumclaw, Wa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Words cannot express how wonderful Catcha is...from the entire staff, rooms, view, food and drinks at Ivans, to the beautiful grounds...it is truly a haven for rejuvenation and relaxation. Come, enjoy, you won't leave the same. We shall return.

Room Tip: Gatehouse is a bit noisy...price is great..come prepared with music and travel speakers and sleep wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stay at catcha in january of this year and the room was brilliant, the service from the front dest team and overall everyone that we came across was absolutely great will definately be staying there next year again. Thanks to the view and the staff that made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: The rooms are brillant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KadianthaDiva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
3.0 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.7 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Caves
The Caves
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
10.6 km away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
10.2 km away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Property: Catcha Falling Star
Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing