We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT ESCAPE”
Review of Geejam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Geejam
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT ESCAPE”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed 4 days at Geejam and had an amazing time. Friendly staff, amazing setting and great food. The perfect hideaway to relieve stress and recharge...

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    20
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
289
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Do you need a luxurious, peaceful interlude - a chance to chill out while your brain resets and you're ready to re-enter the fray! I know where you should go - it's an enclosed, secluded, tropical haven called Geejam - on the side of the coastal hills of northeastern Jamaica, in Portland Parish, close to Port Antonio. An odd name, you say? Well, I learned where it came from, but you'll have to go there yourself to find out...!!!
The property spreads up from its own beach, and consists of about half a dozen villas, named after various types of Jamaican music, such as Mento & Rock Steady. The owners are in the music business, too, and there's a professional recording studio on the property, so you might see some well-known faces. They're usually sated with attention, so a nod & a grin will suffice.
Each villa is different, yet self-contained, nestled amid tropical vegetation, and extremely comfortable - like a cocoon, into which you can crawl and be pampered - and there's Wi-fi all over the place - in case you just can't let go!
One villa has its own pool, but hammocks and hot-tubs abound, and they're all connected to the main building, with its restaurant, bush bar and open air pool table, by paths and wooden walkways. You can meander along, or choose to sit, or lie back, on judiciously placed sofas, and gaze at the birds, flowers or ever-changing sky; at certain times of the year you'll be refreshed by a brief warm shower.
The staff are attentive, but discreet, the food is excellent, and the drinks imaginative. But don't fear that you'll become bloated & out of condition, because you HAVE to experience the beach - and that requires exercise! As you'd imagine, it's all downhill along paths & down steps, past guava and ackee trees, with sightings of hummingbirds - across a quiet road and you're confronted by enticing, fragmented views of an enclosed bay. Geejam has its own power boat, and the usual water sports, but you can just stretch out in a hammock or on a soft, colourful mattress under a thatched roof, if you wish. Then the healthy part, a leisurely climb back up the hill - but no hurry - there's lots to see on the way.
I could go on, but that's enough - you need to go and find out for yourself!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My wife and I spent my birthday weekend at Geejam in November 2011. This is an excellent small and very cool boutique hotel set upon a hill in a tropical rain forest overlooking the blue water of Jamaica's north-east coast. Planning and coordination was superb, starting with the arrangements the hotel made for us for local transport and activities weeks before we arrived, the execution of which was flawless. The staff are courteous and genuinely friendly people. Each member, even the behind-the-scenes ones who don't need to interact with guests, make a point of introducing themselves by name and remembering yours. The food at the hotel's restaurant/stage/bar, Bush Bar, was really quite good and far exceeded my expectations. Be sure to have the Jamaican breakfast! Our private villa ("Mento") was spacious, well appointed and spotless. Amenities included Apple TV with plenty of good music selections, a fridge stocked with complimentary Red Stripe lager and mini bar items, a balcony with a hot tub and a super comfy double lounger from which you can see out over the tree tops to the sea. The hotel’s house band, the Jolly Boys, really must be seen. Theirs is an amazing story, sound and performance. This was our first trip to the Port Antonio area, which has a distinct, relaxed feel compared to the rest of the country, and outstanding natural beauty. Highly recommend is the leisurely rafting tour down the Rio Grande river through seemingly unspoilt tropical forest, which the hotel can arrange. Also consider having the hotel arrange private air service from Kingston (instead of taxi), which cuts the transit time from 2 hours to roughly 20 minutes in the air and another 25 in a taxi. It’s a bit more expensive, but was money well spent on our quick visit. Thanks Geejam, we’ll be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkennci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Port Antonio is our favorite destination in Jamaica, it's beautiful and authentic!
Geejam is a really nice boutique hotel, beautifully located in a rich forest.
We had a really nice meal and great cocktails at the bush bar, the view is fantastic,
don't miss the sunset!
The private beach is a great place for snorkeling.
We met the hotel manager who was very kind and helpful, we definitely recommend to stay at the hotel or to have a nice meal at the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
295 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Firstly, I recommend a visit to this corner of Jamaica. It's far less commercialised than the majority of the island, the vegetation is luxurious and incredible lush and it retains a low-key atmosphere.

We went to Geejam's thanks to the overwhelmingly positive reviews on Tripadvisor - and having been there, I see what the fuss is about. It's a special hotel in a special location.

We were picked up at The Jamaica Inn near Ocho Rios and driven in a SUV by a very courteous, friendly and intersting guy who had worked in construction in New York and had moved back to Jamaica. This set the tojne for the visit - the staff are very sweet natured and genuine, which is not always the case in The Caribbean.

The hotel is simply a marvel of civil engineering, with it's location up on the hill surrounded by tropical trees (some are so big they are breath-taking) - the standard of the building materials and the quality of the finish is remarkable for such a remote location.

The view is something you will never tire of looking at.

The rooms (we had "Rock Steady") had very cool furnishings and technology in the room (iPod dock and Apple TV for example). The bathroom was very cool with a view out to the sea through the trees - the whole place feels very "sexy" (and as Nigel in Spinal Tap once said "what's wrong with beiong sexy?", although I digress.....)

The communal bar/restaurant/pool table area is great with a quite frankly excellent urban/R 'n' B selection on iTunes always playing some great sounds at all times of the day.

The food in the restaurant is above average for Jamaica, but has a correspondingly high price point. Breakfast was good and always served by a smiling lady who was always ready to help.

Not all dishes hit the spot, the burger was "off" for all four days we were there (could no one have gone shopping?), wine was expensive as you would expect and the lunches were typically better than dinner (simpler, less "try-hard" and overall just better).

A few quibbles.....

1. The covers on the outdoor sofa were either wet (it rains in sharp bursts a lot) or missing - they need a better system to protect the cushions whilst also making they're actually there.

2. Rhianna was shooting a video nearby ("Man-down" I believe) and the owner went table to table telling everyone in a "psst, don't tell anyone, but....." - which we were like "whatever". In the end the crew popped in for breakfast at 6am on one day. If I was a celebrity, I would be concerned at the lack of discretion and I thought this was a sort of covert, guerilla-marketing way to get people to talk about who sometimes stays at Geejam...oops, it works - here I am writing about it!

3. Whilst the beach club across the road if immaculate, a swimming platform that extended across the reef allowing you to dive in and swim in open water would have been nice. The bay is mind-blowing - real James Bond r 'n' r location from the Fleming novels (although Goldeneye is a few hours away).

4. They got the bill wrong, but it was rectified with a phone call or two back to The UK - not ideal.

Overall, special and with improvement - simply stunning. Overall pricepouint is a little too high, but with work it will justify it.

Magic.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagerbeaverhk, Owner at Geejam, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Coops999,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Geejam, along with your many positive comments about the property.

I do want to respond to some of your observations, to give you an even greater understanding about how we operate:

1. Hamburgers – I’m genuinely sorry that they were not available while you were here. Our policy is to offer an item on our menu, only when all the ingredients that go into making a particular dish, are available. Unfortunately, the mince that's needed for our special recipe was out of stock at our suppliers in Kingston. Let us know when you are coming back, and I will personally ensure that we have the perfect burger ready for you!

2. Our in-house music studio caters to a wide variety of recording artists – and we are always sensitive to balancing their needs with the other guests. All the other guests that you mentioned, who were there during your stay, were, in fact, part of the artist’s entourage.

3. And you are 100% correct, depending upon the time of year and time of day, we often get brief rain showers, one of the reasons why Port Antonio is so green and lush. However, we will work harder at getting the cushions off & on, and dried more quickly – it’s just that on some days the weather conditions change so quickly, they catch us by surprise.

4. We are probably slightly more expensive than a large chain type hotel, as we are an extremely intimate and private property – just 7 rooms at present. With a head-count of close to 40 staff - all highly trained and highly motivated - it gives us an unusual 'staff to guest' ratio, and I believe we go to extremes to ensure perfect guest satisfaction. Running an operation the way we do, IS extremely costly, but having said that, we do all we can to ensure that our rates also reflect great value for the services and experience we deliver. And some good news – from next year, we will be expanding our base of operations, giving us far greater economies of scale, in both rooms and food & beverage, which will be reflected in our pricing.

Thanks again for your special words of praise - they are very much appreciated.
1love,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed for second time. Port Antonio is best place in Jamaica.

Total relaxation, secluded, deserted private beach. Treated like rockstars. Jamaica at it's best.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolrunnings_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here(August) and all I can say is amazing!!!!!
When the big gates open you drive into a hidden gem! If your looking for a hotel with privacy and amazing views of the ocean, this place is for YOU... Oh did I mention the private beach!!!?? The staff was great!!!! The food was great!! The drinks were great!! We will be back and hopefully we can rent the entire resort with our family and friends!!! One of the owners (Steve) was their the week we stayed and he was awesome, very friendly and inviting!! Thanks Steve!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
207.0 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
75.8 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
77.3 km away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
206.2 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
1.4 km away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
172.5 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Property: Geejam
Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio
Geejam Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing