We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably romantic with outstanding service”
Review of Geejam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Geejam
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

From the moment I booked my reservation the staff at Geejam helped me to plan the most romantic engagement weekend possible, and even managed to re-plan everything perfectly when we missed our flight. Having stayed at some of the elite hotels in the US on business, I was pleasantly surprised that the service and friendliness provided by the Geejam staff surpassed my wildest imaginations. The absolute beauty of the property, Port Antonio, and the totally unique excursions made our short trip the most well rested and enjoyable trip I've had. We will certainly be heading back in the future.

Room Tip: Each bungalow has views of the ocean. The waves sound so close I didn't need a sound machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have just returned from a memorable 6 night stay at Geejam. We chose the Ska cabin, which was nestled into the hill and surrounded by palm leaves, banana plants and bamboos. The view from the deck was incredible and it also contained a hot tub. The staff are charming and offer a first class service - nothing was too much trouble. John and Steve the owners are both generous and hospitable hosts. The popular Bushbar served fresh, tasty and imaginative food and Jason and Teddie mixed up a mean cocktail. There is also plenty to do. Spend an hour in the small but adequate gym, walk to some excellent beaches. Raft up the Rio Grande and have lunch at Belinda's on the bank of the river. Hang out at Frenchmans Cove and watch the world go by. Chill out at Winifreds Beach and have a beer with Otis or a sandwich at Cynthia's. Take a guided tour of the highly successful music studio. Geejam comes highly recommended and we would love to return very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lmadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

That's the saying on Geejam's t-shirts, and if you are looking for a traditional golf, pool, and tennis type resort, you will be disappointed. But we weren't, and my husband and I loved it! Geejam is a very private, beautiful hideaway in which guests stay in individual cabins on the side of a hill 10 minutes by car outside the town of Port Antonio. We flew into Kingston and were met at the airport by a Geejam driver, who skillfully negotiated the 3 hour drive across the mountains to the hotel. Be aware if you get motion sick, the drive may be difficult, as the roads are poor with many curves but does show you what Jamaica is really like and the scenery was spectacular. Geejam has only a few cabins, which means very few guests, and part of the time we were there, it seemed the place was exclusively ours. We stayed in Rocksteady, which was comfortable, modern and well appointed but small with very limited space for clothes and luggage by American standards- no real drawers, but we managed with the few open bins and a small closet. (You can see the pictures posted on the website) There are snacks and drinks that are complementary to start. The view was incredible and we loved sitting out on our private balcony, where you can relax and also eat.
The staff, whom you reach by a cellphone they give you with some free calling minutes to the US, were very attentive and generally very helpful. We ate many mornings and evenings in the Bush Bar. The food was very good, although the staff could get overwhelmed and occasionally forgot a request if more than 2 of the 6 or so tables were filled; again, could be disappointing but we felt like part of a big family and it was part of the charm. We went several places by car and really enjoyed getting to know Bentley, the driver. We walked to Frenchman's Cove but didn't swim there. The Geejam beach is beautiful and very private but the water is shallow as there is a reef off shore - Steve, one of the owners and a swimmer, told us how to get around it, but we didn't have the opportunity to try. Being the only people on the beach in this very private and beautiful setting more than made up for any downside. And there is wireless everywhere, even the beach! There is a small pool that is available to other guests if no one is staying in that residence. One day it rained and we "stayed in," watching some of the thousands of movies available on the Apple TV set in our room. We also appreciated how fair the charges were - Geejam is expensive but very fair - they don't gouge and they don't nickle and dime you to death. We also felt safe the whole time we were there.
Geejam is a gem and Port Antonio is not much of a tourist destination. We appreciated that, but if you are looking for a big pool, miles of beach associated with the hotel and gift shops that sell sarongs, this isn't the place. If you want a very private, low key, beautiful hideaway to rest and relax, and see a little of the real Jamaica in all of its beauty while being treated like a friend, you'll be happy here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stampwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

As a marketing sales person, very rarely is one stuck for words to describe an experience !
BUT, words can not do justice to time we spent at GeeJam !

Having travelled from Australia,it was with a little trepidation,we ventured into the unknown
to attend our Best friends Wedding, we had no idea the luxury and hospitality that awaited us.

Yes , the trip from Kingston by road is a little torturous, , especially after a long flight, but forget it, what awaits you is mindblowing, the welcome, the service, the facilities, it goes on.
there is a lot that has been written about the resort the private beach, the rooms, the Bar the restaurant and how fabulous they are....we condone that 100%!

Steve, and his team are the perfect hosts, forever obliging to sort your every need,and make you feel totally at home. I could not think of a better place to go for that private couple holiday , or as we did attend the most amazing wedding, staged and hosted by the Geejam team.

Thanks guys and girls, we will be back !!
fantastic wedding

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My husband and I spent 4 amazing nights at Geejam and it was absolutely fantastic. The staff and Steve made us feel at home the entire time we were there. Although we traveled to several beaches in the area, Geejam's private beach was our favorite. The water at the beach was a perfect temperature and the beach beds were great to lay out on. We also spent a lot of time at our very comfortable bungalow relaxing on our private deck with an amazing view of the ocean. When we did venture out of Geejam to explore Port Antonio, the drivers had great suggestions on where to go and were always available for pick up and drop offs. The food at Geejam was also amazing - our favorite was the Jamaican breakfast - Salt fish and Ackee. My husband and I do a lot of traveling and our trip to Jamaica was one of our best - mostly due to our stay at Geejam.

Jenny - NYC

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennytny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed 4 days at Geejam and had an amazing time. Friendly staff, amazing setting and great food. The perfect hideaway to relieve stress and recharge...

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Do you need a luxurious, peaceful interlude - a chance to chill out while your brain resets and you're ready to re-enter the fray! I know where you should go - it's an enclosed, secluded, tropical haven called Geejam - on the side of the coastal hills of northeastern Jamaica, in Portland Parish, close to Port Antonio. An odd name, you say? Well, I learned where it came from, but you'll have to go there yourself to find out...!!!
The property spreads up from its own beach, and consists of about half a dozen villas, named after various types of Jamaican music, such as Mento & Rock Steady. The owners are in the music business, too, and there's a professional recording studio on the property, so you might see some well-known faces. They're usually sated with attention, so a nod & a grin will suffice.
Each villa is different, yet self-contained, nestled amid tropical vegetation, and extremely comfortable - like a cocoon, into which you can crawl and be pampered - and there's Wi-fi all over the place - in case you just can't let go!
One villa has its own pool, but hammocks and hot-tubs abound, and they're all connected to the main building, with its restaurant, bush bar and open air pool table, by paths and wooden walkways. You can meander along, or choose to sit, or lie back, on judiciously placed sofas, and gaze at the birds, flowers or ever-changing sky; at certain times of the year you'll be refreshed by a brief warm shower.
The staff are attentive, but discreet, the food is excellent, and the drinks imaginative. But don't fear that you'll become bloated & out of condition, because you HAVE to experience the beach - and that requires exercise! As you'd imagine, it's all downhill along paths & down steps, past guava and ackee trees, with sightings of hummingbirds - across a quiet road and you're confronted by enticing, fragmented views of an enclosed bay. Geejam has its own power boat, and the usual water sports, but you can just stretch out in a hammock or on a soft, colourful mattress under a thatched roof, if you wish. Then the healthy part, a leisurely climb back up the hill - but no hurry - there's lots to see on the way.
I could go on, but that's enough - you need to go and find out for yourself!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
207 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
206.2 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
75.8 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
243 reviews
77.3 km away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
160.3 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: $639 - $2,481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio
Geejam Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing