We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing”
Review of Geejam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Geejam
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Geejam in mid-February. We were very excited about our trip, but didn't exactly know what to expect as we had heard mixed reviews of Jamaica. Our worries were very quickly washed away. Geejam is an absolute gem. The resort is beautiful with well appointed and comfortable rooms in a lush jungle setting just steps away from the beach. We stayed in Sanwood for several nights (we absolutely loved Banksy's art in the villa) and Mento for one night, which provided for two wonderful and unique experiences. The service was attentive, friendly and simply outstanding - it's all about service at Geejam. The food at the Bushbar was absolutely incredible (I highly recommend the Curry Shrimp and Mento Stew!). We were fortunate enough to see the Jolly Boys perform live at the Bushbar...the old guys are awesome!... and meet one of the owners of the resort, Steve Beaver. Talk about a cool character...Steve chatted with all of the guests and personally made sure that everyone's needs were met.

Geejam beach is very private with white sand and 7 different shades of blue waters. We also enjoyed Frenchman's Cove, the Blue Lagoon and Winnifred Beach, all of which are beautiful and very close to Geejam. Geejam also organized a rafting trip down the Rio Grande, which may have been the highlight of the trip.

To sum it up, we had an amazing time, we will be returning in the not-too-distant future and we highly recommend that others check out Geejam.

Nick

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    20
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
295
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vessem
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We where at Geejam in februari, and we had a great time. The rooms are really tremendous. the restaurant serves great food, the staff is top of the bill, and the beach is wonderfull. The only dissapointment is the island outpost/geejam reservation office. They forgot to told us that a taxi from Kinston to Geejam is complimentary whit a 5 night stay. So we rented a car, cost $ 340,00! We also had a discussion about the bill, it was 5 am when we checked out, and the staff could not decide, they promissed us the office would contact us afterwards. I send several mails to remind them, but they never respond. At the end we stay whit a wretched felling about our stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagerbeaverhk, Co-owner at Geejam, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Here's a copy of our responses that have been emailed to Edwin:

Hello Edwin,

Firstly, let me thank you for all the positive feedback on your stay with us.

As we want all of our guests to leave Geejam feeling they've experienced something unique, I share your sense of frustration that Island Outpost's Central reservations dept. failed to inform you about our current complimentary transfer policy for guests staying 5 nights or more. Equally frustrating is the fact that we never received any of those 'reminder' emails that you mentioned.

I understand that you had arrived a day later than planned, and had requested a refund for that day, which, in spite of our refund policy, we would have been more than happy to have given you, had we not had such a small window of less than 24hrs to resell the room – this is one of the issues of being a 'private hotel' with only 7 rooms to begin with.

I think it only fair to mention that the discrepancy with the bill was, in fact, an error in your favour, to the tune of $352. However, instead of us pursuing this amount, and along with offering you our sincerest apologies, we've decided to consume it, because of the issues above. We were also amenable to you staying in Ska at the Rocksteady rate, as it had been initially quoted to you in error by Central Reservations. This represented an additional saving of $1020.

I'm happy to note that you were able to dispose of the hire car, and we were able to run you back to Kingston, on a complimentary basis.

Mistakes do happen – as we've seen here, and when things go wrong, we always try to tackle them in a positive way.

Should you have both enjoyed your stay with us sufficiently to warrant a return, we will ensure that there are no further mix-ups, and would welcome you back as part of our fast growing contingent of returning guests.

1love
Steve
Co-owner


And IO's letter of apology:

23rd March 2012


Dear Mr. Soetens,


Thank you for choosing Island Outpost and Geejam for your recent vacation destination in February 2012. We sincerely appreciate your business, as we know there were many choices that were available to you when selecting where to spend your travel dollars.


We write this letter to acknowledge that your stay with us was not without incident. Our reservations agent did neglect to inform you of the promotion entitling you to a complimentary airport transfer for your 5-night stay at Gee Jam. There was also an error on your bill upon checkout, which though fortunately erred significantly in your favor, was nonetheless regrettable. Island Outpost would like to apologize profusely for the inconvenience caused by these failings on our part.

With regard to your missed flight which resulted in you checking-in a day late, Island Outpost maintains a strict cancellation policy due the intimate scale of our collection of properties, and therefore could not refund you for a cancellation on such short notice.
We would however like to offer you a resort credit of $150 towards your next stay at any Island Outpost property of your choosing. This offer will remain valid until October 31st, 2013 and can be redeemed upon reservations made directly with our office.

Again, we regret any inconvenience caused by the abovementioned events. Should we have the opportunity to host you once again in the future, we shall certainly do our utmost to ensure that your experience is memorable, enjoyable and incident-free.


One Love,
Tammy Kong
Reservations Manager
Island Outpost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I have traveled around the world many times over the last 50 years. Geejam, where my husband took me on our recent honeymoon, is a unique place. We stayed in Ska, one of three deluxe cabins, nestled in the rain forest with a stunning view of the Caribbean sea.
We felt like we were practically all alone, as there were only two other families at this boutique resort. Geejam only accommodates 14 people at a time and has a staff of around 40 to attend to your every need. Iola, in charge of guest services, could be reached at any time over the cell phone that they provide to every guest upon their arrival. She arranged a number of wonderful adventures for us: a day at Reach Falls, one of the most beautiful places on earth, a rafting trip along the Rio Grande, an afternoon at the nearby beach of Frenchman's Cove, and a two hour boat ride to the Blue Lagoon and Winnifred Beach.
Steve, the attentive co-owner of Geejam, arranged for us to go horseback riding. We rode bare back in the sea, a truly memorable experience. No need to rent a car, one of the drivers at Geejam will take you anywhere you want. No need to go out for meals. The Bushbar serves delicious Jamaican and international fare prepared by Nigel, the proud chef who loves to share his recipes with you. Adrene, who served us at the restaurant is the sweetest, most charming hostess we have ever encountered. My advice: don't wait any longer and book either a cabin, the suite or the villa at Geejam. I promise that you will not regret it.

Room Tip: We loved Ska, the deluxe cabin where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalibuGisele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

From the moment I booked my reservation the staff at Geejam helped me to plan the most romantic engagement weekend possible, and even managed to re-plan everything perfectly when we missed our flight. Having stayed at some of the elite hotels in the US on business, I was pleasantly surprised that the service and friendliness provided by the Geejam staff surpassed my wildest imaginations. The absolute beauty of the property, Port Antonio, and the totally unique excursions made our short trip the most well rested and enjoyable trip I've had. We will certainly be heading back in the future.

Room Tip: Each bungalow has views of the ocean. The waves sound so close I didn't need a sound machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORWICH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have just returned from a memorable 6 night stay at Geejam. We chose the Ska cabin, which was nestled into the hill and surrounded by palm leaves, banana plants and bamboos. The view from the deck was incredible and it also contained a hot tub. The staff are charming and offer a first class service - nothing was too much trouble. John and Steve the owners are both generous and hospitable hosts. The popular Bushbar served fresh, tasty and imaginative food and Jason and Teddie mixed up a mean cocktail. There is also plenty to do. Spend an hour in the small but adequate gym, walk to some excellent beaches. Raft up the Rio Grande and have lunch at Belinda's on the bank of the river. Hang out at Frenchmans Cove and watch the world go by. Chill out at Winifreds Beach and have a beer with Otis or a sandwich at Cynthia's. Take a guided tour of the highly successful music studio. Geejam comes highly recommended and we would love to return very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lmadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

That's the saying on Geejam's t-shirts, and if you are looking for a traditional golf, pool, and tennis type resort, you will be disappointed. But we weren't, and my husband and I loved it! Geejam is a very private, beautiful hideaway in which guests stay in individual cabins on the side of a hill 10 minutes by car outside the town of Port Antonio. We flew into Kingston and were met at the airport by a Geejam driver, who skillfully negotiated the 3 hour drive across the mountains to the hotel. Be aware if you get motion sick, the drive may be difficult, as the roads are poor with many curves but does show you what Jamaica is really like and the scenery was spectacular. Geejam has only a few cabins, which means very few guests, and part of the time we were there, it seemed the place was exclusively ours. We stayed in Rocksteady, which was comfortable, modern and well appointed but small with very limited space for clothes and luggage by American standards- no real drawers, but we managed with the few open bins and a small closet. (You can see the pictures posted on the website) There are snacks and drinks that are complementary to start. The view was incredible and we loved sitting out on our private balcony, where you can relax and also eat.
The staff, whom you reach by a cellphone they give you with some free calling minutes to the US, were very attentive and generally very helpful. We ate many mornings and evenings in the Bush Bar. The food was very good, although the staff could get overwhelmed and occasionally forgot a request if more than 2 of the 6 or so tables were filled; again, could be disappointing but we felt like part of a big family and it was part of the charm. We went several places by car and really enjoyed getting to know Bentley, the driver. We walked to Frenchman's Cove but didn't swim there. The Geejam beach is beautiful and very private but the water is shallow as there is a reef off shore - Steve, one of the owners and a swimmer, told us how to get around it, but we didn't have the opportunity to try. Being the only people on the beach in this very private and beautiful setting more than made up for any downside. And there is wireless everywhere, even the beach! There is a small pool that is available to other guests if no one is staying in that residence. One day it rained and we "stayed in," watching some of the thousands of movies available on the Apple TV set in our room. We also appreciated how fair the charges were - Geejam is expensive but very fair - they don't gouge and they don't nickle and dime you to death. We also felt safe the whole time we were there.
Geejam is a gem and Port Antonio is not much of a tourist destination. We appreciated that, but if you are looking for a big pool, miles of beach associated with the hotel and gift shops that sell sarongs, this isn't the place. If you want a very private, low key, beautiful hideaway to rest and relax, and see a little of the real Jamaica in all of its beauty while being treated like a friend, you'll be happy here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stampwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

As a marketing sales person, very rarely is one stuck for words to describe an experience !
BUT, words can not do justice to time we spent at GeeJam !

Having travelled from Australia,it was with a little trepidation,we ventured into the unknown
to attend our Best friends Wedding, we had no idea the luxury and hospitality that awaited us.

Yes , the trip from Kingston by road is a little torturous, , especially after a long flight, but forget it, what awaits you is mindblowing, the welcome, the service, the facilities, it goes on.
there is a lot that has been written about the resort the private beach, the rooms, the Bar the restaurant and how fabulous they are....we condone that 100%!

Steve, and his team are the perfect hosts, forever obliging to sort your every need,and make you feel totally at home. I could not think of a better place to go for that private couple holiday , or as we did attend the most amazing wedding, staged and hosted by the Geejam team.

Thanks guys and girls, we will be back !!
fantastic wedding

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
207.0 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
75.8 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,281 reviews
206.2 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
77.3 km away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
1.4 km away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
227 reviews
172.5 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Property: Geejam
Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio
Geejam Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing