We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
324
58
17
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
58
17
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mille fleurs bird watching eco hotel frenchman's cove homemade jams gourmet food recommend hotel rio grande eco friendly breakfast and dinner gardens are beautiful perch local guide shrimp every evening reach falls blue mountain coffee
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 430 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2018

Mockingbird Hill is a wonderful little hotel in on a hill, in the midst of green, lush vegetation, overlooking the bay. It's a perfect getaway for people who don't like noise and crowds. This is a little gem of a hotel with a totally stress-free and relaxing atmosphere in the midst of nature, but with a high-class restaurant and perfect service.

When arriving, the managers - Barbara and Shireen - greet you personally, and this very personal and warm attitude towards guests continues throughout the stay. Managers and staff suggest ideas for outings, and all trips to beaches or to Kingston are organised quickly and professionally. I went for a rafting tour on Rio Grande - a wonderful experience!

The rooms are simple, but stylish, with fresh exotic flowers on the table. Everything is extremely clean. Big beds and very comfy mattresses - I slept wonderfully. There are hammocks on the balcony for a nap in the afternoon or for reading and relaxing. The only sounds are birds.
Wi-fi works well throughout the hotel. There is no television in the room - the idea is to switch off and enjoy nature, which I did...

In particular, I loved the large, well-kept garden with huge trees, little hidaway huts and many exotic flowers - you walk along the paths, listen to the birds, and enjoy the vista of the sea and the bay. And have a dip in the pool afterwards!

The service is very friendly, helpful and professional. Special wishes are quickly dealt with. All organisational issues - like the pick-up from the airport etc. - worked out very smoothly, and always with a smile.

And last but not least, the "Mille Fleurs" restaurant offers first-class food.
Breakfast is very generous, with freshly baked bread every morning, tropical fruits and homemade jams, amongst other things.
At mid-day and night, the restaurant serves excellent food, "fusion cuisine" with a Caribbean twist. There is always a choice of meat, seafood or vegetarian. The desserts and home-baked cakes are wonderful, like the flour-free chocolate cake. Most of the ingredients are local and organic. Don't miss the lobster in coconut sauce and the papaya granita! It is not cheap, but worth every penny. Guests from other hotels come to "Mille Fleurs" restaurant to enjoy its superb dishes.

In the evening, it was a special treat to have a cocktail on the terrace. Watching the sun go down with a "sun-downer" like a rum punch in your hand is a truly Caribbean experience!

I have been to Mockingbird Hill twice and can't wait to go again. No better retreat to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have a wonderful view.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank journalist_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

It is so wonderful and very kind of you to take the time to share your experiences in such detail. The best part of our job is knowing that we can help so many individuals to enjoy a wonderful experience and give them amazing memories… We are so grateful to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and it means a lot to know that you plan to return.

We enjoyed our chats and look forward to welcoming you back. We will certainly toast to happy times and wish you well till you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

My friend and I visited other hotels in the area but I'm glad that we got to stay here. I was delighted to read all about the way in which the hotel pioneered the 'eco-hotel' status and read their help guide for ages, it was fascinating!
Owner Shireen was very attentive, checking that we had an activity for the day and knew how to get around. They were very happy to book us taxis back and forth. You will need to do this if you don't have a car like we did.
The gardens were a joy to explore (they seemed never-ending!) and when it rains here (which is a lot), it's a pleasure because you feel cosied up in the hotel whilst still feeling connected to nature.
The hotel is very quiet and calm as there are so few guests however it's worth noting that should there be any noise, you do hear it due to the slatted walls (for genius ventilation). For more privacy, I believe there are more private rooms. This is definitely a great place for anyone looking for some peace and quiet with an appreciation for plants!
Lastly, you must try dinner here as it's excellent (book ahead on the day). We had coconut curry lobster and the home-made breakfast of fruit and bread and cakes is delicious.
Thanks so much for our great experience.

Room Tip: Higher up serves the best views over the canopy but check for noise levels
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinythoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

as ever I go for the hillside getaway and the as close to all natural, organic, low carbon foot print food as possible... and still these people turn out epicurean standards! Prices are Kingston prices and this is a feat ' in the bush' .... natural/organic/ etc in Kingston would not be affordable at these standards! House wines way better than most hotels and a recent humble crab cake was a revelation...best I've ever had...you can't really price "amazing" I often wonder what star the famous Mich would give this place ..hm...still largely a best kept secret though with numerous international awards Virgin etc...if you want a secluded surprise ... this is it..and it's mins away from a knock out beach... I walk the hill for excercise at night with the fireflies...but this is Jamaica... have your wits about you :)

Room Tip: above ground level with balcony
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank forestgreenNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

We choose the hotel to do our wedding with 1 room for us and 2 others for our witnesses.
It couldn't have been better.
It is a nice, beautiful, intimist and quiet hotel with a small amount of rooms.
The rooms, the view, the garden, the pool, the food and the restaurant are amazing.
And the staff was very nice, professional and attentive.
We were also impressed by the restaurant and had a delicious wedding dinner.

The hotel is easy to find and is located in one of the best places in Jamaica, near some of the most beautiful beaches of the island and many other attractions, with not too much tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Camille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Thank you ! It was a pleasure for us to gift you with unforgettable memories of your special day.
We wish you all the very best for your future and hope to welcome you back for one of your anniversaries soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

A lovely places to stay to be able to hear bird song and the frogs in the evening view the stars . The restaurant offers nice food with a small selection of dishes well made using local ingredients .
The bar service was rather limited .every cocktail I order they did not seem to have the ingredients to go in it . A pleasant stay was had by us

Room Tip: All the rooms are a little different we did not have a terrace and that was fine
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hilaryarnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

It was a pleasure welcoming you back again for the 3rd time! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself however surprised that you have raised the fact of that juices not being available as a point of critique - both these juices just happen to be used in a number of the tropical cocktails we make. We apologised to you personally about the fact that due to a combination of unusual climatic conditions (which many countries are experiencing worldwide) the crops had been affected and the fruit was in short supply. We use fresh products not only for purposes of quality and taste but also environmental concern in order to avoid and reduce solid waste. As a returning guest, we would have hoped that you support our sustainability principles and understand that as a result one sometimes has to become creative to find alternatives, which we did by making the cocktails with grapefruit juice rather than making some not so good compromises - and in fact, you told us that you actually liked the cocktails better because they were not as sweet with the grapefruit juice as they would have been with the orange juice.
We understand that guests coming from the first world countries sometimes don’t recognise the direct connection between weather and availability of local supplies because nowadays they are used to being able to purchase any items be it strawberries or avocados or whatever throughout the year because the supermarkets source from all over the world. We however focus on sourcing locally and when a storm or hurricane destroys the banana fields for example, we have to wait until the plants have grown back again before we can serve bananas. In the same manner, when we have very stormy wet weather as we did this winter, it even gets difficult to get fresh fish as the local fishermen can’t go out to sea as often in their little boats.
Due to the small scale of much of the island’s farming local products are often also more expensive than imported produce. It is however important for us to know where our food is coming from, to support the local economy and provide the freshest and most flavourful to our guests. This hopefully explains some of the factors contributing to the price levels in Jamaica. Food prices are generally much higher here than in the United States, Europe or the United Kingdom. Within the Caribbean region, you will certainly know that the prices in Jamaica are in the mid-range with the prices on other islands often being even higher. The fact that so much has to be imported and levied with high duties etc. is also a contributing cost factor. Within Jamaica, prices in Port Antonio are often higher than in Kingston because of the added transportation costs from Kingston to the smaller towns.
Finally in terms of our health, we much rather spend more on local and as far as possible, organic food than buying the imported, mass produced, chemical laden, often GMO’d cheaper fresh food products.
You gave us such a lovely compliment while you were here - as a chef for private events, you said, that you felt so inspired with the selection of dishes offered and that you were going back home with new ideas. Coming from a chef, we really appreciate that. It is such a pity that you chose not to share that in your review and instead just picked on on the 2 products that were not in supply due to reasons beyond our control.
Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back yet again and tease your taste buds with more of our creative cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews