We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
San San Tropez Villa-Hotel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon San Villa(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jamaican Colors(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Huts(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jamaica Palace Hotel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zion Country Beach Cabins(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trident Hotel(Port Antonio)
US$480
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geejam(Port Antonio)
US$575
US$558
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
322
57
15
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
57
15
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmille fleursblue mountainshotel mockingbirdchocolate teaeco hotelbird watchhomemade jamsdaily changing menufrenchman's covegourmet fooddeluxe roomrecommend hotelrio grandeeco friendlysmall hotelbreakfast and dinnergardens are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 425 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2018

Mockingbird Hill is a wonderful little hotel in on a hill, in the midst of green, lush vegetation, overlooking the bay. It's a perfect getaway for people who don't like noise and crowds. This is a little gem of a hotel with a totally stress-free and relaxing atmosphere in the midst of nature, but with a high-class restaurant and perfect service.

When arriving, the managers - Barbara and Shireen - greet you personally, and this very personal and warm attitude towards guests continues throughout the stay. Managers and staff suggest ideas for outings, and all trips to beaches or to Kingston are organised quickly and professionally. I went for a rafting tour on Rio Grande - a wonderful experience!

The rooms are simple, but stylish, with fresh exotic flowers on the table. Everything is extremely clean. Big beds and very comfy mattresses - I slept wonderfully. There are hammocks on the balcony for a nap in the afternoon or for reading and relaxing. The only sounds are birds.
Wi-fi works well throughout the hotel. There is no television in the room - the idea is to switch off and enjoy nature, which I did...

In particular, I loved the large, well-kept garden with huge trees, little hidaway huts and many exotic flowers - you walk along the paths, listen to the birds, and enjoy the vista of the sea and the bay. And have a dip in the pool afterwards!

The service is very friendly, helpful and professional. Special wishes are quickly dealt with. All organisational issues - like the pick-up from the airport etc. - worked out very smoothly, and always with a smile.

And last but not least, the "Mille Fleurs" restaurant offers first-class food.
Breakfast is very generous, with freshly baked bread every morning, tropical fruits and homemade jams, amongst other things.
At mid-day and night, the restaurant serves excellent food, "fusion cuisine" with a Caribbean twist. There is always a choice of meat, seafood or vegetarian. The desserts and home-baked cakes are wonderful, like the flour-free chocolate cake. Most of the ingredients are local and organic. Don't miss the lobster in coconut sauce and the papaya granita! It is not cheap, but worth every penny. Guests from other hotels come to "Mille Fleurs" restaurant to enjoy its superb dishes.

In the evening, it was a special treat to have a cocktail on the terrace. Watching the sun go down with a "sun-downer" like a rum punch in your hand is a truly Caribbean experience!

I have been to Mockingbird Hill twice and can't wait to go again. No better retreat to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have a wonderful view.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank journalist_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

It is so wonderful and very kind of you to take the time to share your experiences in such detail. The best part of our job is knowing that we can help so many individuals to enjoy a wonderful experience and give them amazing memories… We are so grateful to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and it means a lot to know that you plan to return.

We enjoyed our chats and look forward to welcoming you back. We will certainly toast to happy times and wish you well till you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

My friend and I visited other hotels in the area but I'm glad that we got to stay here. I was delighted to read all about the way in which the hotel pioneered the 'eco-hotel' status and read their help guide for ages, it was fascinating!
Owner Shireen was very attentive, checking that we had an activity for the day and knew how to get around. They were very happy to book us taxis back and forth. You will need to do this if you don't have a car like we did.
The gardens were a joy to explore (they seemed never-ending!) and when it rains here (which is a lot), it's a pleasure because you feel cosied up in the hotel whilst still feeling connected to nature.
The hotel is very quiet and calm as there are so few guests however it's worth noting that should there be any noise, you do hear it due to the slatted walls (for genius ventilation). For more privacy, I believe there are more private rooms. This is definitely a great place for anyone looking for some peace and quiet with an appreciation for plants!
Lastly, you must try dinner here as it's excellent (book ahead on the day). We had coconut curry lobster and the home-made breakfast of fruit and bread and cakes is delicious.
Thanks so much for our great experience.

Room Tip: Higher up serves the best views over the canopy but check for noise levels
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinythoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had an amazing weekend here. It was first recommend by his mother, who promised we’d enjoy every last bit of it and she wasn’t lying. Room #9 was indeed a great one with the overview of the ocean. The service was also excellent having interacted personally with one of the owners and her staff, including a trainee. They do have a very distinct choices of Caribbean cuisine that we did not fail to try - loved it! We are already planning our second stay! Don’t forget the bread & freshly squeezed orange juice!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Akiera G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Thank you! It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy a Happy Easter weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

as ever I go for the hillside getaway and the as close to all natural, organic, low carbon foot print food as possible... and still these people turn out epicurean standards! Prices are Kingston prices and this is a feat ' in the bush' .... natural/organic/ etc in Kingston would not be affordable at these standards! House wines way better than most hotels and a recent humble crab cake was a revelation...best I've ever had...you can't really price "amazing" I often wonder what star the famous Mich would give this place ..hm...still largely a best kept secret though with numerous international awards Virgin etc...if you want a secluded surprise ... this is it..and it's mins away from a knock out beach... I walk the hill for excercise at night with the fireflies...but this is Jamaica... have your wits about you :)

Room Tip: above ground level with balcony
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank forestgreenNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

We choose the hotel to do our wedding with 1 room for us and 2 others for our witnesses.
It couldn't have been better.
It is a nice, beautiful, intimist and quiet hotel with a small amount of rooms.
The rooms, the view, the garden, the pool, the food and the restaurant are amazing.
And the staff was very nice, professional and attentive.
We were also impressed by the restaurant and had a delicious wedding dinner.

The hotel is easy to find and is located in one of the best places in Jamaica, near some of the most beautiful beaches of the island and many other attractions, with not too much tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Camille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Thank you ! It was a pleasure for us to gift you with unforgettable memories of your special day.
We wish you all the very best for your future and hope to welcome you back for one of your anniversaries soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews