We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tropical Lagoon Resort(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San San Tropez Villa-Hotel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jamaican Colors(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Moon San Villa(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Palace Hotel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Huts(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Trident Hotel(Port Antonio)
US$663
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geejam(Port Antonio)
US$626
US$558
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
34
37
20
18
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
37
20
18
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrenchman's covebeach weddingthe main houseview of the oceanblue lagoonboston bayparadisehurricanecelebritiesrocks
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 133 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2018

Where do I begin...The rooms were very dated and filthy, stains everywhere, dirty windows covered with dead bugs and a greasy film. No TV, no WiFi, no phones. The villa smelled awful like a mixture of sewage and mildew. everything was rusted. I am pretty sure that nothing has been updated since the 60s (mid-century modern is nice but this was not that, this was just very old and dated like my grandmother's old guest house all the way in the back that no one has used since '68) For breakfast, my daughter cracked one of her boiled eggs open and it was rotten (the smell was horrendous and left stench on her hands) they were literally serving very thin scraps of food to people (boiled eggs, sliced fruit, bread and butter, bun and cheese) it was kind of sad because it was almost as if the establishment cannot afford to provide it at all. I feel bad because the employees seemed so nice, including the people at the beach bar. It's such a shame that this place that was once so lovely is going down the tubes. At least they should start by cleaning the rooms! The beach was the only positive to this property.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room, you would e better off sleeping on the beach
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monicacmarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2017

No hot water, no TV, no phone and a long walk to the office especially at night in the rain, resort roads are very rough...this resort should not be accepting guests at any price! We booked for 2 nights and payment in full was collected at check in, we left after the first night and no manager has reached out even though they have our mobile number and email.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank jrl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

This was supposed to be a fun vaction with my friends, its hard to get around without a vehicle as path ways are long and dark at nights. Rooms are very stained, rusted and bug infested.
At breakfast it was a fight to get food as soon as stuff came out everyone rushed to grab something.
The best part of this resort was the beach.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank timfenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2017

I love Fenchman's cove. I have been going there since I was a child and it pains me to see it die like this. If you want to experience a different Jamaica than all-inclusive, party Mobay life, then I recommend going to Portland (It's what Montego Bay used to be 40 years ago before all the development.)

Frenchman's cove has beautiful grounds and is a treat for nature lovers. As others have said, the buildings are not at the standard it used to be (hurricanes, age, lack of upkeep) but you can appreciate it if you enjoy the idea of knowing that you are sleeping at a place once stayed at by the biggest celebrities in the world and even British royals during its heyday.

This was a family trip. Problems we faced were: The door locks are a bit stiff, the hot water can be extremely hot or not there at all, bugs/mosquitoes, the bathtubs and toilets have shoddy repair jobs, the front desk system is still largely paper-based and my credit card was charged twice (the second was immediately canceled but I was charged a small fee for that), the shower did not work at all in 2 of 3 cottages we were in so we all had to take turns using the shower in 1 cottage, I was given the wrong key and couldn't get in the room and had to drive all the way back to the front desk twice.

All in all, we enjoyed ourselves. The beach is one of the best in the world, we had a good technology-free time playing dominoes and just talking to each other and taking walks at sunrise and sunset.

With all the problems I mentioned, they were more annoyances than anything else. The staff were friendly, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the views from the cottage were amazing. Wi-FI was a bit spotty but it's there if you need to contact your family.

Because Portland is the Jamaica I know and love, I will always go back to Frenchman's Cove and I will always recommend it, problems and all.

Room Tip: Cottages further away from the main area overlooking or close to the cliffs are best.
Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2017

At its height in the 1960s, the 18 villa vacation property at Frenchmen's Cove must have been superb. Alas, poor maintenance and the odd hurricane have damaged some of the buildings, even closing a few of them. What remains, however, is a resort with spacious cottages and great vistas offered to the public at a fraction of what they would command if these villas were decently looked after. So, if you can overlook lots of little things like doors that don't close, locks that don't work, sparsely-furnished kitchens, etc., this may be the ideal retreat.
The beach at Frenchmen's Cove is superb - small, protected from the open sea, served by a pleasant restaurant offering decent food at reasonable prices.
The location is good, not far from Port Antonio or Boston Bay, close to the Blue Lagoon, just across the street from a decent Italian restaurant and just down the street from the fabulous Woody's burgers (much more than a burger shop).
The breakfast is decent without being spectacular. The staff is friendly and helpful (things get repaired when you ask for them to do so - otherwise, not). The wifi works in the main building and some of the villas, although not in ours - too far away.
Best of all, the Port Antonio area is a different type of Jamaican tourism, bearing little resemblance to the mass all-inclusives of the Montego Bay area. You can sign up for tours (although you might have to book these separately from the accommodation) and get out and about, or lounge around the area. Despite their drawbacks, the villas are clean and the properties and gardens are well cared for. It's even ideal birding territory.
Enjoy this resort while the prices are low.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews