We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ya' Man!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Ranked #2 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Ya' Man!”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The best would be to travel back right now, instead of writing lovely bubbles of memory. But hey, ya Man! Zioncountry in the heart of Port Antonio - far away of all-inclusive tourist castles - with a nice root down humanity by all the peoples, personal and friends of the guesthouse.

After all it was such a worthful expierence - not just the paradise around with all these wonderful beaches and waterfalls, which you can reach easy with the road taxis - also the friendly people all around the area. So you can choose between just enjoying & relaxing at zion country directly at a beautiful ocean bay, dancin' your head-off at the soundsystem weekend parties or travelling around the place and find some of mother worlds hidden treasures of untouched nature.

The owner Free-I will welcome you with open arms. He helps and shows everything you need to know. So give him a shout when you meet him by Kati & Danny from Berlin, Germany.

Also take care of his buddies Owen, Tamara and Victor. Drink some rum on us and have a good one in Jamaica!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    38
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
90
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Very friendly staff (Free-I, Owen and Tamar you rule!), wonderful view from your cabin.
It's a peaceful and quiet place to stay, away from tourists places.
If you wanna see the real Jamaica, you should stay at Zion and enjoy the trip to the Blue Mountains...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie041983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We had a great stay at Zion Country for a long weekend in November. Free-I and Owen were excellent hosts and made us feel at home. The property was beautiful--on a hillside overlooking a cove, with beautiful landscaping and handwritten labels on a lot of the plants and trees. The resident dogs and cat made it feel cozy too. We stayed in the room attached to the main house, which has a private bath. It was very spacious, and like the rest of the property, simple and clean. The immediate neighborhood of Zion Country has a couple of small businesses (restaurants and bodegas), but we spent a lot of time driving up and down the coast, visiting different beaches and restaurants from Port Antonio down to Long Bay and Manchioneal. It's a beautiful drive and there is lots to see. Every business owner we spoke to knew Free-I and Zion Country, and I think it gained us some points with them. Two of the most memorable things we did in Jamaica--Reach Falls (a must) and a sound system party in Manchioneal--were things Free-I and Owen helped introduce us to (setting us up with a guide to Reach Falls and flagging us down as we drove past the sound system). We left already talking about our next trip, and highly recommend Zion Country.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmarie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2011

If you're not looking for an all-inclusive holiday or if you do not want to remain behind big hotel walls in Jamaica, but get in touch with the country and the people, stay in a stylish place, and experience a holiday that goes to your heart, you should not miss Zion Country.
The east side of Jamaica is very beautiful and much more quiet than the area of Montego Bay or Negril. There are a lot of nice beaches in the area to visit and walking up the river bed of Reach Falls with Rasta Renny is like being in Paradise. After a day of great impressions you come home and Owen, the best cook in the world, spoils you with a fantastic dinner and a big smile! Thanks to Free-I, the owner, for the intense conversations in the evening, his many useful advices and the time he gave to us to make this a special holiday for us.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Friederike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I visited JA for the first time 8/11 and didn't do any advance planning other than to reserve a couple of days at Zion Country. Zion Country was the ideal location for relaxation, exploration of the natural world and all-round enjoyment! I ended up spending the entire week at Zion Country. Owen, Tamar and Free-I are great, helpful people who want to help provide you a great vacation. The beauty of the region is spectacular.

Room Tip: The main rooms are cabins in a wonderfully landscaped garden. You can't go wrong. There are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SrVago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huissen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at Zion Country for one week in the beginning of August.
The east of Jamaica is very beautiful and if you intend to go there Zion Country is the guesthouse to stay!
It has a beautiful garden and if you walk down the stairs the sea is there for you to enjoy!
There are cabins at sea level, but we stayed in a room connected to the main buiding, which has a nice private bathroom and toilet.
The guesthouse is situated in nice calm surroundings, and Reach Falls is a must see, ask for the tour with local guide Renny!!!!
Free-I the owner is very nice and helpful. He takes good care of his garden, the guesthouse and his guests. He is very helpful in pointing you the way around and willing to help with anything you want to know. We were there during national holidays, and thanks to Free-I and Owen (such a wonderful, kind cook) we were able to celebrate Emancipation Day at Winnifred Beach with the locals, good food and good music. And we celebrated Independance Day in nearby Long Bay, which was a once-in-a-lifetime experience!
Go to Zion Country if you want to discover the real Jamaica!!!! We know we will be back!!!
Thank you Free-I, Owen and Tamar!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Zion Country Cabins captures the theme of dedication to the Jamaician people and the landscape.
Having had to rebuild and begin again could have been daunting, but Free I overcame the hurdles to create a place for a peaceful respite. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, found an old wind surfing board and paddled around like kids reverting back to childhood pleasures. Owen took us on walking trip down his memory lane toward a local tournament where we met many wonderful, welcoming, and joyful Jamaicians. It was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kippy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
21.0 km away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
471 reviews
5.0 km away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
120 reviews
21.2 km away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
19.3 km away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
162 reviews
16.4 km away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 27 in Port Antonio
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Country Beach Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Country Beach Cabins

Property: Zion Country Beach Cabins
Address: Muirton Pen P.A. | Portland, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion Country is a cozy bed and breakfast in the east of Jamaica.Perfect place to relax, laid back style, personal touch and it's The place to taste the Jamaican life style.Very often we get visit from manatees, year round. We offer a lot of trips in the surrounded area from waterfalls to beaches and Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zion Country Beach Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Country Beach Cabins Hotel Port Antonio
Zion Country Beach Cabins Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing