We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no-go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunflower Beach Resort Villas
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We decided not to stay. Hard to find, no friendly entrance (it was blocked so hard to find our way to reception) and price at Booking.com was different than price we were supposed to pay when we arrived (due to taxes).

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank Taravim-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2015

Location, could not find resort, had to ask at Decameron for directions. No sign posting on main road. Friendly reception staff, but first impression of place in need of mondernisation (the decor of reception started whilst i was there). Stayed in villa Rm#2. Clean, comfy, fresh towels daily, no complaints about cleaning. The POOL- wouldn't put a dead fish in it, full of algi, no one used it. Wifi only available at reception area where the mosquitoes eat you alive. TV, very poor cable signals, outdated equipment. Security- cant say there was any, but i felt very safe always, even when i was out quite late and returning alone.
Restaurant, I don't think there was one. There was a bar which was closed most of the time as the owners were away. They returned for the last few days of my stay, but didn't appear friendly at all. They opened the bar, but i preferred to go out on the high street, better company and prices. This place is OK for short stay, there's no luxury it's very very basic and cheap and close to amenities. If you love cats there's no shortage of them, keep your door closed unless you want a stray visitor. Best to travel with companion as can get quite lonely otherwise.
Overall the staff are friendly, in villa Rm #1 the resident Sheila has lived there for over 12 years, she's quite a useful source of information on who's who.

Room Tip: no idea, only stayed in villa 2 overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dorrett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

The reception area is in need of repair and a lick of paint part of the roof had gaping holes the furniture needs to be replaced. The Villa itself although spacious needs decorating and soft furnishings need to be replac it looks like people live there permanently in one bathroom the sink was almost hanging off the wall there's no pool you have to cross the road to another complex to use theirs and it was in bad condition and Wifi only available8! Reception area

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nevita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The worst the service, linens pool everything was bad The pool was so green you couldn't swim in it The beds were hard. It was not good. When you called and asked for help with the pool ect it seemed that they just didn't care.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelingirl5453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This was our first trip to Jamaica (2008), and we arrived late at night, so we didn't have a chance to look around. However, when morning came!!!!!! We were heart broken!!!!This place did not look anything like the pics. The "beach" was ruins, there was a junk yard behind the building, and I think we were the only ones there. (Me and 4 other ladies) There was bugs and cats everywhere, there was nothing to do, and my sister couldn't stop crying. We spent 2 days there with no lugguage. Then they agreed to send us to Ocho Rios (The Sandcastle) where our luggage was waiting for us. After we settled in, we had a good time. We've been back to Jamaica 5 times, and each year it gets better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sweetie322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is not a resort but more comparable to a motel with a pool. My room included a kitchenette which was a nice feature. The rooms were average but you get what you pay for. Parking was extremely limited. The worst aspect was the difficulty I encountered in trying to locate the "resort". There is no sign from the main road. I phoned the resort and the desk person gave me directions that dependened upon my observing a few landmarks from the direction I was coming to the motel. However these landmarks were not visible from the direction I was arriving. I had to call a second time to get more detailed instructions. I "guessed" that the road I turned into was the road I needed but again there were no signs for the motel. I proceeded down a tree-lined street and I noticed a building practically hidden from view. Thiswas the hotel with a sign on the building hidden behind the trees. This was the most difficult place to find of all the many hotels I stayed at during my trip. I stayed at some places off the beatened path but they were easier to locate. This is a low budget accommodation and the rooms are what you would expect to pay for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anolis2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I don't think I need to add to the bad reviews above, they were my own experience as well. I should have suspected something when the lady at the front desk ask me to read the fine print that said "no refund".

See photos of bed and towel stains. I will be reporting this place to the Ministry of Health and also the Jamaica Tourist Board.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Centinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Runaway Bay hotels
1 km away
Piper's Cove Resort
Piper's Cove Resort
#7 of 14 in Runaway Bay
127 reviews
0.6 km away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Runaway Bay
82 reviews
2.4 km away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
1.1 km away
Silver Creek Resort
Silver Creek Resort
#10 of 14 in Runaway Bay
13 reviews
1.9 km away
Club Ambiance
Club Ambiance
#12 of 14 in Runaway Bay
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Beach Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Beach Resort Villas

Address: PO Box 150, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $78 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunflower Beach Resort Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunflower Beach Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Beach Resort Villas Hotel Runaway Bay
Sunflower Beach Hotel
Sunflower Beach Resort Villas Jamaica/Runaway Bay, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing