We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaica 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I were caught up in the overbooking problem that Royal Decameron has.
We were assured by Nolitours that this would not happen. We had booked in early October.
The manager Estephane tried to move us but we refused to "upgrade" to the Fun Club. The first night we stayed in a suite by the front gate. The second day we were moved to the Garden View huts. It was not the one that we booked but there was nothing wrong with it. Upon check in my wife and I along with 4 people from Winnipeg had to sit in the "side room" as we were told by the assistant manager that they had no rooms. We demanded to see the Manager Estephane. This waiting took up about 2 hrs.
Estephane's lack of people skills makes me wonder why he is the Senior Manager. We also communicated our displeasure to the General Manager who said he would check and get back to us. He was not aware of the overbooking problem that they have had for months. We are still waiting for his answer and an apoligy. The Winnipeg family received free rum, massages and a trip to Dunn River Falls. We received a free wall safe. A double standard we think.
Other than check in we had a great holiday and will not go back unless we are guaranteed what we booked and paid for. The Jamaician Staff are very professional, courteous and efficient. This is the cleanest Resort that we have experienced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tourista47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,938 - 1,944 of 3,917 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

I will definately be returning to the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean this hotel was brilliant, the staff are so friendly and work so hard to make sure your stay is perfect.
The waiters always made sure our glasses were filled with water at meal times and the food was always piping hot. We took our 1 year old daughter with us and the staff were amazing with her and she loved all the attention. The grounds are kept spotlessly clean and the maids are amazing and clean your room everyday and they even worked around our daughters nap time for us.
If you book a cottage and want to definately get one then i would contact the hotel in advance to make sure thats what you are going to get as they do like to overbook unfortunately but that is the only bad point i can make about the hotel. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday then look no further you will not be dissapointed. I will definately be returning in the near future, we only returned on Friday and i miss the place already.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at the RDC from 23rd Feb - 8th Mar and could not fault the place it was just perfect. We had our 1 year old daughter with us so after a 10 hour flight and a 1 hour coach ride from the airport to the hotel we were very tired. Upon arrival at the hotel we were checked in straight away a given a very refreshing fruit punch. We were then showed to our garden cottage (room 103) which was fantastic.
A big thankyou goes out to the guest relation team Cyrille and Sean who were so friendly and so good with our daughter. Another thankyou goes out to our maid June who we fell in love with, so friendly!
I read a lot of bad reports before we went about the French invaision, but they really didnt bother us, they were all friendly.
The beaches are imaculate, clean every morning and night, always sun beds available, gardens again imaculate always being cleaned. Food was lovely, something for everyone.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone as it provided us with the best holiday ever.

Will be going back next year!!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet location ask for garden cottage a few rows back from the sea, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Back to Jamaica after a 20 yrs when had a bad experience. Now I will go back again, all the staff were so joyful , fun & friendly to be around. They should really invest in a quality beef product as the beef they served was always very tough, so I avoided it all together. the rest of the buffet was excellent. My son, Buju talked me into coming back and I will. All Your staff is awesome, they even came to say good bye when we were leaving.

Room Tip: Cottages give you greater privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank june221942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We had several communications both with our tour operator and with Dianne Fairchild at the resort before our holiday. We were assured we would get what we had paid for which was a garden cottage. Upon arrival (very late-1am)we were taken to a courtyard room. We were so tired and frustrated we just tried to get some sleep. We woke early to go to the reception desk to get our cottage, but were given the same excuse and asked if we were interested in the new sister resort Fun Caribbean. We ended up transferring just because we only had a week and did not want to have to fight over this. The staff and Sean D. handled this as professionally as can be expected, but the owners of this resort should be ashamed of themselves for doing this to people. It is not right!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SaskNewbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Well what can I say, I have not enjoyed a holiday as much as this one and I have been to many places.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff singing, cheering and handing out cocktails.

Check in was quick and easy even though it was busy and everything was explained to us that we needed to know. A porter took us to our room. We stayed in the courtyard and I must say I loved it there. Nice and quiet, rooms were lovely and clean and the gardens around it looked after very well. The rooms are a very good size with a big bed, fridge and flat screen t.v.

The food is excellent, there is something there for everyone. It was my birthday while we was over and they decorated the table and made me a big cake. The waiters were brilliant, always asking if we wanted more drinks, topping up our water and even clearing our empty plates promptly.

The entertainment crew were brilliant too, if we didn't want to join in they accepted that but they were all very friendly and took the time to come and speak to us each day.

All of the staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us.

All in all the whole place is very, very clean, all the staff are friendly, helpful and very genuine nice people.

There were a lot of French people there and they did put on a lot of entertainment for the French but all the French staff took time to talk to everybody, not just the French.

All in all, the best holiday I have ever had and I am already looking to book for next year!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed here Feb 18th 2012 for two great weeks, previously stayed here Dec 2010, for 25th wedding anniversary. Contacted Natoya Bailey (an angel) at reservations two weeks prior. Explained that there were six of us and wanted to be in the same area, and we got what we wanted. This resort has undergone a few upgrades since the last trip, in the dining area, very nice, and the cottage had new bedding,pillows, storage shelving and TV, also very nice. We got the exact room as last time, #38 near the quiet pool.

We checked out the sister resort "R.D. Fun Caribbean", but it wasn't our style. We prefer the low rise individual style cottages, like RDCC or Sunset at the Palms in Negril which are very similar in nature. Except Sunset At the Palms cost double the price.

We had such a good time, none of us wanted to leave. The entire staff were friendly and very accommodating. We were treated like family, from check in to check out. I could start naming people off, but there are too many to name. I'll just say, Buju says "Wha-gwaan" to all the staff.

The French didn't bother us, we just read some valuable advise on how to avoid the French stampedes at the buffet or Jetty bar from some very wise Tripadvisor reviewers, and all went very well.

The food was good, the drinks were plentiful and the beaches were clean. We all hope to go back again, this time for 3 weeks.

Room Tip: No worries, any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PoppaBuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
4.9 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
2.7 km away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
65.9 km away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
0 km away
Little Savoy
Little Savoy
#5 of 7 in Runaway Bay
9 reviews
1.3 km away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $213 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing