We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas/New Year’s family vacation ”

Runaway Bay Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 18 things to do in Runaway Bay
Attraction details
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

We are avid golfers (parents and kids, ages 12 and 9) and only want a resort where the golf was on property or easily accessible. Runaway Bay was the perfect solution. Great staff at the resort and golf course. You could leave your bag at the golf course and walk or be shuttled by golf cart (3 mins to the course). Our caddies, for 5 days of golf, were amazing with the parents and kids. We walked the course every day, had lunch at the restaurant and even took a free morning lesson with the resident golf instructor. The course is well maintained and it was a nice walk. Not much visual appeal or views but considering the convenience and staff it was a great treat!!!!

1  Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley C, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Hello Melanie B, we loved hosting your family! Happy that you all had a great time.

See you soon hopefully :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"green fees"
in 12 reviews
"tee times"
in 6 reviews
"great caddy"
in 5 reviews
"steak"
in 5 reviews
"beer cart"
in 4 reviews
"caddie fee"
in 4 reviews
"fairways and greens"
in 3 reviews
"jewel resort"
in 4 reviews
"read some reviews"
in 2 reviews
"played rounds"
in 2 reviews
"red stripe"
in 5 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 3 reviews
"caddies"
in 94 reviews
"ball"
in 21 reviews
"par"
in 11 reviews
"tip"
in 20 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 198 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

I played one round of golf, that was “included”. The greens were in poor shape. You had to pay for a caddy, and a golf cart. So, in total, I spent $100 to golf a bad golf course.

Thank Ramhamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley C, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Hello Ramhamil, sorry to hear you had such a rough time.


Regrads,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

Great place to golf with very fun and friendly caddies. If you've never golfed in Jamaica the grass is very course and thick as the same with the greens. But don't get me wrong this course is very nice!!! Caddies know the greens inside and out and sure watch your ball on every shot and will locate it for you before you do lmao.

2  Thank CanadianGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley C, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Hello CanadianGreat, I totally agree with you, our caddies are fun and frieldnly!

Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Our caddie, Ken, was really the only reason this received more than 2 stars. He was excellent, funny, and even cracked a Heineken during the middle of our round! He knew the course very well and exceeded our expectations. I live in Minnesota, so my wife and I only get to play 3-4 months of golf a year. I was expecting a bit more out of a course which can stay open year round. There were multiple large patches of dead grass throughout the course and many of the flag sticks won't stay upright due to the conditions. On a couple of holes, you can see the sea, which was nice. This was probably one of the worst-conditioned courses I've played this year, but the free green fees (for Jewel resort guests) made up for our disappointments.

If you are bored/sick of beach time and are an avid golfer, go ahead and play a round. Otherwise I would recommend not wasting your time here.

Thank Bielmeier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley C, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Hello Bielmeier, thanks for your review. Ken is a great caddy, very witty.

Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2017

Have golfed this course dozens of times and continue going back. The caddies are the best we have encountered in Jamaica. The course is flat and long. The greens are well kept. Ask for Victor, Frank or Tishana, they are the best and make the golf experience very enjoyable.

Thank wendygI2222WN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley C, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Hello Wendygl2222WN, happy to hear you had great experiences with Victor, Frank and Trishanna. I will ensure to share your comments with them

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Runaway Bay Golf Club also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Runaway Bay Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing