We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
paterson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Thisvresort was all I expected.good food and drinks,! Good hospitality and entertainment!! I'd definately go back to this resort

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatersonRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,931
    3,399
    1,749
    816
    634
See reviews for
3,299
4,345
157
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,001)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The to/from with Air ransat was not fun (delays etc) but once we got there the Gran Bahia was a beautiful spot.
Lovely beach good staff, very pleasant except for the front desk who seemed disinterested. The wireless internet was spotty. The red wine was the worst I've ever had, including homemade. It was argentinian, which seems odd because I've paid $2 for fabulous red wine in Argentina.

Excusrsions were expensive but fun. My adult sons had a good time in the various bars around the hotel and on the jet ski.

Room Tip: Higher up seemed nicer. They are also easier to get from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poquoson, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We took a last minute vacation (literally booked within a week of travel) to Jamaica. Stayed at the Gran Bahia and as there were 6 of us, we booked 2 adjoining suites (the hotel is all suites). They were supposed to be adjoining, but were actually about 10-15 rooms apart. This was despite 2 phone calls in advance to notify them that we had small children and needed adjoining rooms. They couldn't fix the problem until 2 days later, when they upgraded our rooms and made them adjoining. It didn't hurt that we bought into their "Privilege Club" since we travel alot and seemed like a reasonable deal. Do upgrade to Golden club, which are higher rooms, free internet, lounge access, it's worth it IMO. Staff are hit and miss (like people in Jamaica in general). Some are super nice, some couldn't care less. When it's busy, you MUST get up and put a towel on your beach or pool chair, otherwise you wont have one. We learned this the first day and afterwards got up early and "reserved". Also, if you do not upgrade to the golden club, you must make your dinner reservations early, otherwise you will get a very late seating, combined with SLOW service, you wont be done eating until 10:30 or 11pm. The resort itself is very nice. Pool is great, beach is ok, but stick to the lagoon on the left, soft sand vs. rocks on the right. Food at the buffet is OK, restaraunts are good. Avoid the Garden Grill--food is subpar, it is anything but a Steak House--meat quality is poor. Mikado is excellent and Don Pablo is excellent, did not try the Italian place. Jerk Chicken outdoors at lunch is very nice too. Dunn's River Falls is a must-do trip also!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor (3 and up). Very limited view on first and second floor. Otherwise the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Poqdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Me and my husband stayed April 11-18 out of the week we had 5 out of 7 days beautiful weather. I was nervous after reading all the horrible reviews but I didn't really find anything to complain about we always found a chair on the beach the water is beautiful way nicer than the pool. We stayed in room 18302 it was very nice towels and fridge were done everyday and a huge balcony. My favorite restaurant was the Japanese show if u can get one it is very cool and good food the grill and don Pablo were also great we didn't have the dolce vita. We ate at the buffet every morning we made our own omelettes I don't understand how people can complain about the buffet like what kind of food do you expect for breakfast. And we also ate at the jerk center everyday for lunch it was soo good too. We brought our bubba mugs with us good when u plan on chillin on the beach all afternoon. We took our own taxi into Ocho rios for 4 hours it was 80$us but it was just us and got to see and learn alot we stopped into margarita ville for lunch it was alright. We also did a captain hook tour now this is a must see it was awesome they put u in a pirate boat do a huge show and u get a steak chicken and if u pay 20$ u get lobster as well. For the most part I would def go back if your into relaxing not a party place. We also went to the spa twice it was amazing :) safe travels and enjoy yourself don't stress about picky negative people

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CReykdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert Alberta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Everything was just a little better than I expected or hoped. The room was new, bedding and toiletries were excellent, cleaning staff were the best I ever had and the overall experience was superb. If possible, get Christine as your cleaner. The turndown service is a nice touch.
Choose from the top two floors in the new section. All rooms overlook both the pool area and the sea. Grounds are pristine and landscaping is imaginative and very well done. There is an abundance of local and exotic plantings and some topiary figures.
In the two weeks we were there we got eight dinners in the themed restaurants and food was terrific. Don Pablo's gets special mention because of the first class food, service and ambiance. Chateaubriand was served at table for one or many guests as were flaming deserts. Presentation
was as good as the best five star restaurants I have enjoyed.
The buffets were very good and the jerk chicken and pork were both plentiful and tasty. Because of the themed restaurants, I never got tired of the buffets, as is usual for all-inclusives. Avoid the lamb as it is more mutton than lamb. Chicken was always reliable but you took your chances with beef or pork. Even the bar wine, included at no extra charge, was very good. There was no need to draw from a good, but small, wine list. Bar drinks were plentiful and well made but a bit watered down which kept some guests sober.
The pools were excellent as was the beach. There were activities as wanted and a steady stream of destination weddings to watch (and sometimes to participate in).
No review could be complete without a comment on the staff. Whether in the buffet, rooms, pools, bars or security, they were terrific with one exception. The staff just outside the lobby on the large veranda area were inconsistent. Some were very good but a few were surley and just looking for tips. The bad ones were very bad but we soon learned who they were and avoided their areas.
Entertainment varied and the best were the Cuban dancers. Avoid the fake Michael Jackson.
In general, expect to tip about $100 per week, with $5 for terrific service in a restaurant and $0 for poor service. Staff get to know you and act according to how you treat them, not just for tips.
This was our second visit to this hotel and it just gets better!

Room Tip: Get the new section, top two floors. Every room overlooks the pool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonthill
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Absolutely gorgeous property, very friendly staff and awesome food in the main diningroom. Only draw back is the food in the a la carte restaurants - not very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorijeanFonthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed there April Break 2012, Three moms & three sons.
Positives:
Resort is beautiful
Beach is LONG and beautiful
Pool is long and huge, lots of areas for either loud & fun, or calm & quiet
Lots of bars throughout the resort, wait to get a drink was minimal
Wait staff were VERY GOOD and friendly
Housekeeping Staff were very friendly and accomodating
Rooms are huge and well done
Entertainment staff was wonderful
Negatives:
Rooms not ready at check in
Check in staff were unaccomodating, not interested in any issues
Resort was oversold which led to room issues with some
NO TOWELS at many times at the pool throughout our stay
NOT enough Bath towels at many times throughout our stay
Wash cloths were hard to come by
VERY HARD to get a dining reservation at one of the nicer dining options
Had to get up before 7 am to put towels down at pool chairs or you would not have one

In general this trip was amazing. Resort is fantastic and check in issues are quickly forgotten once you are in your room. Beach is breathtaking. Towel issues were a nuisance, but we dealt with them. Food is fairly good, large selection at buffets, although as our week went on we did get somewhat sick of it. Jerk Chicken at the snack shack was outstanding. All wait staff were extremely nice, happy and helpful whether you tipped or not. Rooms filled daily with a few beers, soda and 1 large bottle of water. Bathrooms had BOTH a shower and tub and were roomy. Rooms were very pretty and roomy. Views from all three of our rooms were obstructed by palm trees or buildings, however we spent little time in them so it was not an issue.
People of Jamaica were full of culture and history and shared it with a smile.
Took a catamaran on COOL RUNNINGS to DUNN'S RIVER FALLS- Highly recommended!
Entertainment staff was really fun and engaging!!!
Great resort for any ages.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisrochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.0 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
84.7 km away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
56.6 km away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.9 km away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#17 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,208 reviews
54.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
44.3 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing