We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,483)
Filter reviews
12,483 results
Traveller rating
4,576
3,904
2,110
1,037
856
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,576
3,904
2,110
1,037
856
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jerk chicken gold club don pablo the grill a la carte restaurants time share dolce vita karaoke bar beach snack bar main buffet nude beach air transat japanese restaurant orchid buffet air canada towel hut face cloths
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 12,483 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2018

This is the first time I have ever left a trip advisor rule but feel it is necessary as so many leave unfair ones.
Firstly before you arrive , when ordering your currency order £100 worth of 1 dollar notes.
Check in
A little slow but that’s more if you have children as you have paperwork to fill in for them.
Rooms
Clean and spacious . The minibar is well stocked and the coffee is fantastic. Everyday we left a dollar on the pillow , 1 in the minibar with our requests.
We always had a clean well stocked room.
Dining
Make your a la Carte reservations ASAP. The buffet offers something for everyone but we personally preferred to eat in the outside extension of the buffet where we could get freshly cooked steak, lobster mussels and shrimps.
If you tip the staff they will treat you so well. Basically the staff rely on tips to pay fior their transport home. Their basic wage would not even cover their trip to work . Please Remember that everybody deserves respect whether they are the cleaner or the managing director .
The snack bar dies have great jerk chicken too:
Pools
The hottest time fir us was between 8am and 10am (no breeze)and this is often when they are cleaning the pools and you are not allowed in: but it is worth it because the pools are spotless and kept that way throughout the day:
The pool bar , the staff work so hard but you don’t have to wait fir long fir your drink.
Beach
If you walk all the way round to the left there is a lovely beach with bar and toilets to hand. The only reason why I haven’t given 5 stars is because I felt that the snorkelling was very restricted and nothing too exciting to see, also the use if the pedalo or paddle boards is pretty boring as very restrictive where you can go .
Entertainment
Firstly the team work so hard. My only criticism was that during our first week the teenage games of water volleyball and water polo were dominated by adults which meant my teenagers were nervous about joining in, however Kung Fu the teenage rep sorted it the second week and my children had a great time.
They also put on great beach parties but my children weren’t fussed. Again the shows in the village we cannot comment on as we preferred to sit and play cards with a fantastic waiter /rest service (don’t forget to tip).
Trips
We did the relax and chill trip to Negril abd Riks cafe. Don’t do unless you like 4 hr journeys. But do the dunnes falls, bamboo beach club and tubing trip: brilliant value fir money and such good fun.
We are going to go back next year so saved other trips fir that visit.
My husband abd son booked a deep sea fishing trip but it was not good but they may have been unlucky.
I hope I have covered everything

Stayed: July 2018
16  Thank ajs807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to improve the quality service at our hotel.

I am happy to know that you chose us for your stay, while on vacation at our beautiful resort. However, it is a pity that we have not exceeded your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years.

Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the head of the relevant departments, so they can take the necessary corrective and preventive actions. We appreciate the comments and suggestions of each and everyone of our guests, we see them as opportunities to continue working towards improving our product, quality and services.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future to experience our new services.

Best Regards,

Stephan Ashley
Online Reputation Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Our review of this hotel is below, but nothing can make up for the fact that we felt very uncomfortable at breakfast (both buffet and steak house), lunch at the snack bar and evening meal at the buffet. We never knew if the staff were going to totally ignore us, be rude to us, roll their eyes if you asked for anything e.g. a second drink or treat us like second class customers.
Room -
Very good a few minor issues, but resolved very quickly.
Cleaned well daily and no issue with filling up the mini bar.
Air conditioning worked great.
Suggestion: Put instructions as to how to use the safe in each room, rather than having to go back to the reception and have to ask.
Beach/Pool -
The beach is nice especially as far to the left as you can go and just before the nude beach.
Be aware that you need beach/coral shoes though, as there are loads of stones around,
If you are a parent please watch your young children as a 4 year old boy drowned during our first week. The hotel do not help either with the poor lifeguard situation currently in place throughout the resort.
Entertainment -
What they had on was ok but it is on a 7 day circle, so if you are here for a fortnight be prepared to see the same synchronised swimming show, steel band, etc... twice.
Bars -
The bartender at the sunset bar was great (ask where this is as very nice and not advertised anywhere), but to all the other bartenders it was like you were being a nuisance by asking for a drink.
Drinks were ok and no issues.
Also why stop using plastic straws, but then continue to use hundreds of plastic cups due to lack of glass glasses?
Food -
The a la cart restaurant's were all very good, but make sure that you tell them you want your steak medium, etc... clearly or it will come rare.
The main buffet restaurant was poor, with large queues to get in and constantly running out of glasses, milk, extra cutlery.... Expect luke warm food if you don't stand as a food station. Overall it was like badly run school canteen.
Staff -
We found the reception staff excellent and had no issues with them.
The room cleaner was excellent.
It stops there though, as the restaurant and bar staff were just very poor over customer service, it was as if they didn't want to be there and you were just a nuisance. We have been to AI's in both Europe and other Caribbean countries and have never seen such poor customer service.
A full retrain of the these staff is badly needed.
Excursions -
We used a local firm called Yardie Tours, who were excellent and provided a private service instead of a full coach, at a price far cheaper.
Overall -
Would we return to Jamaica yes, would we return to the GBP no way.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SiJo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to improve the quality service at our hotel.

I am happy to know that you chose us for your stay, while on vacation at our beautiful resort. However, it is a pity that we have not exceeded your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years.

Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the head of the relevant departments, so they can take the necessary corrective and preventive actions. We appreciate the comments and suggestions of each and everyone of our guests, we see them as opportunities to continue working towards improving our product, quality and services.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future to experience our new services.

Best Regards,

Stephan Ashley
Online Reputation Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

The place is beautiful but the managment of the place is redicioules. They gave us an occupied room twice and made it look like it wasnt even their fault and didn’t even compensate for the inconvenience and all the waiting. The food is ok but the restaurants are never available, always full. The beach is beautiful but it has lots of sharp rocks and you can easily get hurt. Some of the staff are lazy and pretty rude. At first we were extremly dissapointed with the checking in and the way it was handled but we made the best out of it and had a pretty good time. But I wouldn’t come back again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Fal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to improve the quality service at our hotel.

I am happy to know that you chose us for your stay, while on vacation at our beautiful resort. However, it is a pity that we have not exceeded your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years.

Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the head of the relevant departments, so they can take the necessary corrective and preventive actions. We appreciate the comments and suggestions of each and everyone of our guests, we see them as opportunities to continue working towards improving our product, quality and services.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future to experience our new services.

Best Regards,

Stephan Ashley
Online Reputation Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Great hotel overall, but what sets this one apart from the rest is the lengths at which staff went out to ensure our stay was exceptional. I lost my iPhone early during our stay, but hotel security staff was able to track it down and personally hand-deliver it back to me unscathed, within four hours of reporting it to security. A special thank you to Quwayne Dyer and Oniel Ford for not giving up and personally hand delivering my phone back to me. Another huge thank you to Jahaval and Jonas at the kids club for making the last couple days so special for our children. The kids wish they had attended the club sooner. And a final thank you to Tonya for the wonderful job tending to our room for the week. Overall fantastic time at the Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Cyrus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests.

May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island.


Kind Regards,

Stephan Ashley
Online Reputation Coordinator
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Loved, loved this resort!! Food was great, people were great, the resort was excellent, so was the weather. Would definitely go back there . We really enjoyed the nightly entertainment on the main floor. The beaches and the water crafts were so much fun!! We did a couple of the tours offered by the resort and loved it all.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank gsophias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests.

May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island.


Kind Regards,

Stephan Ashley
Online Reputation Coordinator
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews