We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get you drinks early”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We arrived the around 10pm or so. had a very nice room, it was on the 7th floor looking over the ocean! BEAUTIFUL! We went down stairs to the bar in the lobby. The bartender told us they just did last call, before 11pm i think it was a thursday. We had time for one drink, We when outside to find a place to drink..NO WHERE!! There were a lot of bars but they all close around 11.. We asked a police man walking around if there were any places around there.. he told us this one place that ended up being closed. We stayed there for a week and had a blast.. there are some great places to eat around there.. I suggest Latin Star! GREAT FOOD.. the bar across the street was pretty amazing as well, as long as it was open.. The hotel offered so much to do! We went horse back riding, hiking in the rain forrest. (which was the coolest thing ever, not a hard walk at all and you get to go swimming under the waterfall), zip lining, Biobay tour (which was awful, it took 3 hours go get there, and 3 hours back, not worth the money). Both my girlfriend and I won $100 at the casino, which is always exciting, Drinks at the hotel are expencive ($10 pre mojito)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,031 - 5,037 of 6,532 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Where do we begin - they canceled my reservation and then when I called back they told me there were no more JR suites available and that they could put me in a smaller room for the same price an dthat I should call back in a few days to see if they could put me back into a Suite. When I called back they were able to put me back into a JR Suite but at $125 mroe per night then I had before. We were travelign with another family and we booked both rooms at the same time and my friend had none of these problems. I was then told by the local resrvation rep that I could get this adjusted when we arrived.

Upon arrival I was of course told there was nothign that could be done with the rate and that this was because "I canceled" my original reservation and then rebooked 2 weeks later at the higher rate but that he would do me a favor and give me $50 F&B credit per night to make me feel better. My wife blew a gasket and then he offered to put us in a larger JR Suite however as we are in the process of moving our bags he then tells me "sorry we already sold that suite to another guest so you have to stay in the smaller room" . . . are you kidding me ?!?!?

The following day as we all returned from the beach and started to shower for dinner the hot water is turned off and then all water is turned off - this is at 4pm on a Saturday ! ! When we call the desk to complain we ar told that they are doing "routine maintenance" and that they will give me another $100 F&B credit to compensate. This is after my son is standing around with shampoo in his hair for 20 minutes

Later that night when we return from dinner we are then greeted with an ant infestation in our 21st floor room. They send exterminators and spray however the following morning we yet again have thousands of ants all over the mini bar area and bathroom. Sorry - folks no further comps or credits but we can move you across the hall

Then at the end when we go to check out the F&B credits are half of what we were promised and I have to fight again to get what was promised

Not to mention the "resort fee" is not a flat fee but is a % of the room rate so when I was paying a higher rate than my friend and a higher rate than I was originally booked at they then collected a resort fee of almost $75 per night

BTW - the breakfast buffet is tired and greasy and the pool has more trees providing shade than most I have ever seen, not a great place to sun bath as there is pretty much very little opportunity to get sun in a very small and cramped pool area

On the bright side - just about every server, house keeper, bartender and hotel staff memebr was extremely friendly and did a pretty good job (with the exception of the Front desk MGR who in my opinion should have been comping at least one night off my bill)

Room Tip: Ask for a Jr Suite or Corner room - other wise the rooms are way to small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights before our Caribbean cruise (as did quite a few other folks). It served our purposes very well. It is right on the beach, has two large, well-maintained pools to relax and enjoy a beverage or two, and is in easy walking distance of several very nice restaurants. Our room was in good condition and very clean. The lobby can be, as others have commented, very noisy in the evening when the bar takes over with loud music and lights. In the day, it has a much more relaxed atmosphere. We had no problem getting good service at the front desk or getting a taxi to our ship on Sunday.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed here a week ago. Arrived late because of a nightmare delay by US Air. All of the frustration was wiped out when we arrived at the Marriot and were upgraded. The place is awesome. It is clean, in a wonderful spot on the water and the staff is very attentive. It is within an easy taxi ride to Old San Juan or to the cruise ships. Stay there and you will see for yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedelbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a part-business, part-pleasure trip to Puerto Rico. It is located in the Condado area, just closer to Ocean Park than other hotels. The staff was great and the desk clerk was able to offer us a room with an ocean view from the side. We were surprised to find that we actually had a great view from our room location and that we could oversee the pool area as well. It provided wonderful picture opportunities and we were able to enjoy sitting out on the balcony looking out the ocean by day and the lovely city lights by night. The rooms are comfortable, well furnished and clean, although just a bit small. They have a casino located in the lobby which provided some fun in the evening as well as live music in the lobby at night as well. They had a live band playing different types of latin music each night, such as salsa, bachata, tango and merengue and we were able to enjoy a few drinks and dancing, as well as watching other dance. The hotel is close to many restaurants and a short ride from Old San Juan. We found a couple of more "local" places to eat, where the prices were reasonable and the food good. The hotel has a breakfast buffet that we tried on our last morning there and it was actually pretty good, although expensive,but its a Marriott, right??

This was a lovely stay and I would return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the building have a good view of the ocean and the lights in San Juan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We really enjoyed the hotel and the beach. also, the food in the hotel and within walking distance of this hotel is amazing. we got a cornerwuite with two ocean view balconies. we had a very nice 4 night stay. we cant wait to go back. the only downside is the casino. it is tiny, lacks good games, and the people who worked in the casino were rude.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I will say this about Marriott Hotels, I generally can't fault the hotel if my stay isn't exactly what I was looking for. Example, Marriott San Juan. I'm not going to give a hotel a bad review because the lobby was loud or the hotel was large. The building has been built. It's not the staff or management's fault if a hotel doesn't "wow" you, after all, I'm the one who booked it. The service was great. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable. That said, I don't think I'd go out of my way to stay in this hotel again because it wasn't what we look for when we travel. It was in a busy urban area, the beach was packed and the casino was loud. Again, things I can't fault the hotel for. We wrote more about our stay on our blog: www.worldfamilytravellers.blogspot.com

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank utahfamilytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.7 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2 km away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
857 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
4.7 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $311 - $778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan, find the spectacular San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino. Our resort in San Juan, Puerto Rico sits in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars. The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club. Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge. Come and enjoy the comfort and atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing