We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,931)
Filter reviews
6,931 results
Traveller rating
3,668
2,324
592
215
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,668
2,324
592
215
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla vistacoral loungeacross the streetocean frontcorner roomswim up barpool areachairs and umbrellasresort feeoceanfront roomtour deskbeach staffthe beach is nicecity viewan umbrellagreat resortpartial ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
6,294 - 6,299 of 6,931 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for just one night (March 14) prior to a cruise departure. I agree with prior reviews warning that the pool at this hotel is very small, and is positioned such that there is virtually no sun to be had. Also, the beach for this hotel is at a very rought rocky part of the area for some reason. In fact, we tried to walk down to the beach at around 6:30 pm and the gate was locked!! We walked further down the beach towards the new Renaissance and beyond, and the beach was much wider, nicer and waves not so rough. Note: there were some major "opening" problems with the Renaissance noted on recent reviews, but if they get those worked out, that hotel is stunning. The Marriott rooms are very nice, newly renovated. We got a standard room and had no complaints. We could not check into our room until 4 pm , however-- this seemed to be a standard response to everyone trying to check in the day we arrived. They gave out beepers ours did not work, because when I checked back at the front desk just before 4 pm, they said, oh, we beeped you. They also had my cell phone, and no one called. My husband is a platinum Marriott rewards member, and they acted like they could have cared less. We also checked our luggage with the bellman, and when we handed over our stubs to get them when our room was ready, he gave us someone else's luggage! They also told us our platinum arrival gift had been delivered to our room - never arrived. The hotel was sold out supposedly the night we were there, but let's hope this is not their standard level of service. Luckily, we stayed here for points, otherwise I would have been a little upset to have paid almost $400 per night (the quoted room rate if not booking for points)

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edsatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT-DOM-PR, San Juan DOM at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2008

Dear Guest;
We really apologize for all the inconvenience you had during your stay at our hotel. As a management team we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. We hope to see you back some other time and that you have an unforgettable vacation with us.
Sincerely;
San Juan DOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2008

Very clean and friendly hotel in the middle of the upscale Condado district. Conveniently located near Old San Juan; you must visit El Morro. You can take a bus for just 75 cents each way [busses run inconsistently], or a cab if you prefer. Cheap rental car place called Charlie's across the street is recommended versus the onsite Hertz rental. We drove to the rain forest and Luquillo beach [very close to one another]. Highly recommend for a day trip. Near Hotel there is good selection of shopping and restaurants. If you can't be without your Starbucks, there is one across the street, and a big Walgreens just blocks away for anything you may have forgotten. However I thought the hotel coffee was superior to any Starbucks. Hotel has a casino, or you can go to others nearby. HOTEL staff was VERY polite and helpful at every turn. They really want to please you.

The lobby gets quite loud at night because everything is in the lobby area. Food in Condado area is very expensive. Mini frig in room is good for keeping water bottles , juice, snacks, etc... Plenty of convenience store options nearby to stock up on these. Restaurant selection in the neighborhood is good, though we did not have any outstanding meals at any of them. La Concha down the street has good tapas, but again expensive. We had our 2 kids with us, because it was spring break. My younger one had fun, my pre-teen was a bit bored. Nothing really for teens to do at hotel. Pool is small for a hotel of this size -- no deep water for diving, and no swim lanes if that is important to you. 2 Shallow connected pools and water slide make it a good pool environment for families that have YOUNG kids [under 10]. Swim up bar is convenient for lunch. Beware on the weekends [especially holiday/school breaks]-- this place gets swamped with people, making it hard to get pool/beach chairs. They have a club membership for locals to join and use the facilities, and when we arrived Easter weekend, it was a ZOO! Ocean is very rough, so recommend taking day trips to calmer beaches like Luquillo or Isla Verde, particularly if you have kids and/or like longer beach walks. My kids had a blast at Luquillo, and they have lifeguards there as well as bathrooms, food, parking etc... NOTE: Most beaches in PR are public, and many including the hotel do not have lifeguards. There are some unsightly graffitied buildings adjacent to the hotel beach area, and lots of police around for some reason, so if a serene gorgeous tranquil beach is a high priority, this is not the beach for you. I recommend this hotel for people who will venture out, rent a car and take advantage of all the things that the island has to offer -- there is a lot to see and do! However if you are coming for an extended stay and want a place with lots of things to do on the premises and are NOT willing to venture out, then this hotel is limited in its amenities/activities. Also, there is a decent health club [enjoyed using it], complete with staff, and an adjoining spa [didn't use; heard it was okay]. You can keep up with your workout while on vacation. I noticed that many people are out jogging and walking for fitness on the Condado, probably due to its flat terrain. Seemed to be a popular place for business travelers to stay due to convenient location near business districts, and airport. It may seem that I didn't like the hotel, but I did. I just wish that it was less crowded when we arrived on the weekend; during the week it was noticeably less crowded making for a more enjoyable experience. Perhaps during a NON-school break week it would be more relaxing. The weather was beautiful and spring is great in PR, because it is warm without being overly hot. Summer in Puerto Rico can be extremely uncomfortable due to the very strong sun and high temps. No matter what time of year you travel to PR, bring lots of sunblock, and some aloe in case you get burned. Also, hat/visor and sunglasses are a MUST. Have fun and, Welcome to the island of enchantment!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WENEEDAVACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT-DOM-PR, San Juan DOM at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2008

Dear Guest;

We read your review and were extremely happy to know that you had a very good time during your stay at our hotel. It is wonderful feedback to know that our associates were very friendly to you and we will share your review with them. Thanks for visiting the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino and we are looking forward to having you at our hotel on your next vacation.

Sincerely;
San Juan DOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2008

The hotel itself is since - although it is dated and shows the wear both inside and out. (The interior of the room has been updated - but not the building itself). Not sure if we picked a bad week to travel (the week after Easter Sunday), but the place was packed with kids. Not that we are anti-children, but we are anti-loud screaming and over crowded pools. The hotel is right between two properties that are completely run down and looks as if they have just been bombed out. Not at all what we were expecting from the photos on the Marriott web-site. You can only walk the beach in one direction due to rocks going the other way. There are only two restaurants in the hotel and one of them is only open for dinner. By comparison, we stayed at the Casa Magna Marriott in Cancun last year and were expecting the same type of resort this time. Boy were we wrong - the two are nothing alike and neither are the neighborhoods. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere to stay (maybe the Ritz) or choose another destination altogether!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT-DOM-PR, San Juan DOM at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2008

Dear Guest;
We read your review and noticed that you weren’t happy with the surrounding areas of the hotel; many buildings are in the process of being renovated. The Easter Week is a more familiar week and families tend to travel with their children; we invite you to come back in another time of the year so you can enjoy the pool, beach, and other services we offer. Thanks a lot for your feedback. We hope to see you soon!
Sincerely;
San Juan DOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the San Juan Marriott. We have 2 teenage girls and promised them a few days at the beach. We had full sun each day and came home very tan. We got an umbrella on the beach each day and tipped the chair guy - we did not get charged for the umbrella.

Check-in: Our room was not ready when we arrived (3:30 p.m.), but they ended up upgrading us to an oceanview room, and that was worth the wait! It was fabulous to keep the door open & fall asleep to the waves every night. We also got $100 off the room for the delay. Get a room on one of the top floors!

Disliked: If you want to sit by the pool, you will either be in the shade or need to move your location throughout the day. Full sun area was only on the beach during our stay.

Staff: They were helpful to us on nearly every occasion. The only snag was the concierge area...the hotel was sold out during our stay so if you wanted their help for dinner, you would probably have to wait. The bellmen, front desk, housekeeping, etc. were very responsive.

Food: We only ate at the La Vista once, upon arrival when our room wasn't ready. Pricy but decent. The rest of the time, we either went to Old San Juan for dinner or walked to the numerous places along Ashford Street, and enjoyed our meals every time.

Tip: Stock up on beverages or grocery items across the street at Walgreen's...

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT-DOM-PR, San Juan DOM at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2008

Dear Guest;

We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation at our hotel. It is a great pleasure to know that you had a great time with your family and that you also had the time to enjoy our beach, the sun, the rooms, etc. We are looking forward to having you again at our hotel on your next visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Sincerely;
San Juan DOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2008

Still here on March 28th. All the reviews I read on this website have been spot on. The rooms here are decorated nicely and seem to be "newly renovated". I would definitely give the rooms a 10. I am sitting here with my laptop writing, with the balcony door open and I can hear the ocean waves hitting the shore. I am here with my wife and 6 teenage kids. We have been sleeping with the balcony door open and the beds are so comfortable! We are on the third floor in the "tower" overlooking the beach. This is a PERFECT room and location. We have 314 and 315. There is a shorter adjacent building called the "cabanas", I don't know much about it, but I can tell you that this room and location is awesome. If you are coming here to relax on the beach it is perfect, if you are a pool person I might think twice. The pool is ok, but not one of the better ones. My family has no interest in hanging by the pool here. This is not a "trendy" or modern hotel either. It is a cross between a business hotel and a family hotel. The casino is right in the lobby and there is a nice bar there as well. The staff here is great. Everyone here is helpful and nice. Ashford avenue (the street the hotel is on) is a great street to walk up and down. There are great restaurants up and down. Last night we ate at a place 2 blocks down on the left side. I can't remember the name of it but it had a green awning and we ate under it. It was phenomenal! A little pricey, but expected. The service is slow around here, but I expected that. This isn't NYCity. All in all, I would definitely recomend this hotel and area; we are having a blast.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jadevai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT-DOM-PR, San Juan DOM at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2008

Dear Guest;
It is very good to know that your family and you had a great time at our hotel the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino. We are very happy to read the feedback you wrote about the hotel and about the excellent time you had here. It will be a pleasure to have you back with us on your future vacation or business trips.
Sincerely;
San Juan DOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews